Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,183件の評価
742件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH
2017年6月22日

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

AP
2020年8月11日

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 301 - 325 / 728 レビュー

by Mayada S E

2019年9月1日

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

by fred

2017年9月17日

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

by Etienne T

2016年11月10日

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

by Marko S

2020年8月21日

Really great course, it can be seen that professor really puts in great effort and repeats key concepts throught course so you never go astray of main ideas. Thank you.

by Patrick M

2017年7月2日

Very good introduction to the topic without going too far in depth into the calculations. This has inspired me to take more advance physic courses to continue to learn.

by Adina H

2019年2月4日

This was an extremely interesting course. Thank you for offering it. You really made it understandable while still maintaining the wonder of such "weird" phenomenon.

by Soham C

2020年7月6日

Best Astronomy Course Ever. I love Standford and would even like to choose Standford University for my higher education and research. I highly recommend this course !

by karen o

2017年2月14日

though i have read lots of popular physics before, nothing ever explained lorentz contraction and time dliation like dr lagerstrom! really helpful new understanding.

by Abrish G

2020年10月10日

Provided a very beautiful insight into non-intuitive concepts and the struggle to understand the marvelous structure of reality was indeed an ennobling experience!

by Silvia E F

2020年6月18日

Me ha servido mucho.

He comprendido de que se trata cuando hablamos de Relatividad Especial

De como llegamos a las paradojas y como salimos de ellas

Gracias Profesor

by Vishal P

2017年3月31日

IT WAS A WONDERFUL COURSE. THANKS TO CALIFORNIA UNIVERSITY AND THE PROFESSOR DR. LARRY LAGERSTROM FOR DELIVERING THE COURSE IN A VERY SYSTEMATIC AND JOYFUL MANNER.

by Yan A

2020年6月27日

A wonderful course that will enable literally anyone, even without any sort of mathematical background to grasp the idea behind the Special Theory of Relativity.

by Trivedi D P

2019年7月8日

This course is excellent. I want to know and learn about Einstein's special theory of relativety. This course tech me everything about it. Sir Thank you so much.

by Ilias T

2017年4月28日

Great course!

Mr. Lagerstrom thank you very much for giving us your insight about Special Theory of relativity and more generally for your learning initiative !

by Kunal L

2018年1月16日

A great course for beginners. While it does not cover a large number of topics, the ones it does, it tries to do slowly, thoroughly and with clarity of thought.

by Venkataraman K

2016年12月29日

Very methodical & lucid way of explaining the concepts. Understanding of Special Theory of Relativity made relatively easy, pun intended! Thank you Professor...

by Nisnat C

2019年8月31日

It was a great experience to learn such fascinating things in such a beautiful way, I believe it increased my eagerness even more towards this beautiful topic.

by Sivasankaran

2017年6月23日

Fully Packed with knowledge !!. Best Course for First year students in physics and general people who are interested in physics and with no background in math.

by Pablo P

2020年7月31日

Very formative for those without mathematic knowledge. It addresses the key concepts of special relativity at a very reasonable and undemanding pace. Thanks!

by Thomas H

2017年11月27日

It is a great course for anyone who wants not only to learn the theory but to understand it and how it's creator Albert Einstein came to these discoveries.

by Dr. M U

2019年2月26日

Best course to understand the basis of the Special Theory of Relativity, mainly for such guys who mean to understand this theory only by using mathematics.

by William H J

2020年11月3日

A superb course that goes into an excellent amount of detail on the Special Theory of a Relativity, with well paced and engaging lessons and problem sets.

by Stéphen F

2020年6月18日

Very pedagogic course on a fascinating subject that is not well understood by non-physicists, even though it is considered as scientific general knowledge

by Kaustubh R G

2018年10月21日

Thoroughly planned and thought-out course. excellent presentation, no technical issues; has a strong impact on the mind. wonderful course in all respects.

by Mindy

2017年12月4日

An invigorating course that provides foundational understanding of the core concepts and theories in physics and Einstein's ingenuity. Highly recommended.