Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,528件の評価
475件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 176 - 200 / 467 レビュー

by saurav b

Jun 11, 2017

EXCELLENT DEMONSTRATION AND A PERFECT COURSE

by Radhika T

Jun 15, 2017

Beautifully explained and extremely engaging!

by Bahman A

Feb 12, 2018

Everything was perfect. I learnt a lot here. Great Thanks.

by MOHIT M

Feb 23, 2017

The struggle to understand the marvellous structure of reality is an ennobling experience. The course is more engaging than a movie, I literally mean that. Professor Larry takes you on a roller coaster ride. I bet you would love the ride.

P.s. Don't be afraid of maths. Professor Larry has taken care of that part. It's only simple algebra.

by Mohammed I

Mar 22, 2018

Excellent Presentation by Dr Larry Lagerstrom.

by Joost d G

Sep 07, 2017

This course could not have been given better. It explained the concepts of the special theory of relativity in a concise though complete way

by alok o

Jan 11, 2017

Classic style of teaching

by Philippe R

May 26, 2017

Very nice introduction to Einsteins work and the theory of relativity. I can only recommend it.

by fred

Sep 17, 2017

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

by Paresh V

May 04, 2017

This was not just a course, but an experience in learning. The professor took us through a journey of learning about a topic very difficult understand, and patiently led us through the learning experience with right amount of maths and excellent use of examples, quotes etc., to keep the interest alive all through. I wonder if some such course on General Theory of Relativity can be there, even if that is perhaps more mathematical.

by Gaurav B

Jul 04, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and it was informative and we'll presented. I think I will miss listening about time. For me its been much therapeutic. It challenges my brain to even visualize these concepts and hence I can spend as much time studying it. The presenter knows his stuff and like his simplicity.

by Aditya U

Jan 05, 2017

Amazing course!!

by Joaquín M L

Jul 05, 2018

Great in contents and rhythm. Using just a board! English easy to follow for no-native speakers.

by Fabio B

Jun 26, 2017

Excellent course with an excellent teacher!

by Javal S

Oct 19, 2017

It was very helpful.language used was simple . Professor Larry provided with wonderful deep insights. A truly enriching experience . Helped me a lot as an undergrad physics student.

by sdoamy

Apr 18, 2018

Very helpful for me to prepare for the next semester.

by Santiago B

Jun 24, 2017

It's a brilliant course. Although I knew nothing about this topics, even as regard as basic Physics, I understood everything. There are simple explanations and a very didactic diagramming. This was an enriching and enjoyable experience.

by solai s

Jun 24, 2017

It was incredibly interesting and enjoyable experience,the course instructor was fabulous and i could understand many mind baffling information with a surprising ease.I am looking forward for stanford university's course on the general theory of relativity and i hope that it is taught by the same professor.

by Marco W

Aug 17, 2017

Fantastic!

by Harold N

Feb 27, 2018

Very clear and well presented.

by Sandeep k

May 01, 2017

feels great, to know about such a renowned personality like Einstein. feeling like i came closer to Einstein and his work, but more than that it i feel closer and connected to the universe. this all has become possible only because of professor Lary Lagerstrom's unique teaching skills and presentation of subjects. myself being from science background found it very easy to get hold of what is actually going, but i'm 100% positive that any person from any background can understand and successfully complete this course. thank you professor.

by Adesh P

Sep 23, 2017

Although the lectures get a bit repetitive, the course is still awesome! Thanks a lot!

by Akash S

Dec 11, 2016

Amazing course! If you're looking to broaden you're knowledge in Physics then this course won't disappoint you.

by Hight P

Oct 15, 2016

it is really amazing and fun !

by Anton U

Apr 29, 2017

This course was amazing, and I'm sad to see it go. It was interesting and full of new things that I have yet to learn and hopefully go more in-depth into during my university studies. I hope more people are informed about this course and I also hope that I still have access to the video lectures for future reference. Thank you for the experience!