Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,576件の評価
491件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 176 - 200 / 483 レビュー

by Robert C C

May 22, 2018

Excellent course. The instructor did a wonderful job, using a white board and simple props. He made it interesting and made these complex principles understandable. I enjoyed the experience.

by Sidharth G

Mar 17, 2018

It was a good introductory course for the special theory of relativity. But being from an engineering background i wished it was a bit more quantitative but an excellent course nonetheless.

by Samiha T

Dec 25, 2017

This course was truly amazing and everything here was taught in a way that students can easily understand. I earnestly request Larry, sir to compile a course on general theory of relativity

by Jose D

May 25, 2018

Outstanding course, by far the best MOOC available. I really enjoyed listening to prof. Lagerstrom lectures and his clear explanations of a subject which is not so obvious to understand.

by Güneş E

Oct 16, 2017

Easily one of the most informative courses of my life. Of course the information given was not new, but the details and L. R. Lagerstrom were really cool. I get what I expected and more/

by Fabio D

Jun 25, 2017

Great course!

Thanks to Professor Lagerstrom for his patient and clear way of teaching and explaining things. Looking forward for a course on General Theory of Relativity tought buy him.

by Arpan M

Oct 21, 2017

Extremely good course, which not only teaches the basic fundamentals of Einstein and his theories. But the biggest takeaway of the course is that it develops a scientific temperament.

by Tumul K

Jun 11, 2017

This is one of the best online courses one can find online. The explanations were illustrative and detailed but not to the extent of making one bored. It was a fun, exciting journey.

by Javal S

Oct 19, 2017

It was very helpful.language used was simple . Professor Larry provided with wonderful deep insights. A truly enriching experience . Helped me a lot as an undergrad physics student.

by Ayron D

Mar 22, 2017

I really enjoyed learning about how light and frames of reference can affect time and length, and what consequences these results have. It was a well outlined and explained course.

by Marius A

Jun 26, 2017

Very well put together course, recommended to everyone who want to understand the basic relativistic concepts. Thank you professor L. R. Lagerstrom for doing such a wonderful job.

by Norberto G R M

May 28, 2017

Thank you for your effort and the clarity with which you explain these topics that help us understand a great theory and the life of a genius scientist, Einstein.

Gabriel Reynoso

by Robert B D

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent courses with all material presented in a very thoughtful and systematic way. Practice problem sets are a very important addition to the course material. Well done!!!

by Peter B

Sep 22, 2017

Larry Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in presenting much counter-intuitive material. The course flowed nicely and I feel that I have a reasonable grasp of Special Relativity.

by Mohammad A

Sep 20, 2018

This course is really made me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, does not matter if your physic level is not that much good, with this course you only need so basics.

by Pritam k s

Jun 12, 2017

teacher is good course is also good i loved it.i wanted to buy a certificate but i have not enough money to buy...anywhere thanks for enroll free thank you so,much............

by Andrew M

Jun 23, 2018

I have been interested in relativity for years and thought that I understood it (in a general sense) pretty well - this course gave me new insights and is highly recommended.

by julian e

Apr 18, 2019

I am a second-year undergrad student. This is a well organized introductory course and I really enjoyed learning something new. Will definitely recommend it to a friend. :)

by Jojy M

Oct 12, 2018

An excellent course for those who want to have a basic understanding of the special theory of relativity without the scary math that one usually associates with the theory.

by Michael C

Jan 02, 2020

So very glad to have taken this course. Professor Lagerstom was an excellent lecturer, making this challenging subject understandable and interesting. Thank you so much.

by Lea D

Aug 02, 2019

It was an amazing Course. I really enjoyed the Course and understood the concepts of the Theory of relativity. The weeks were really well-thought and add up to each other.

by Abigail M

Nov 07, 2017

Fantastic course! Really encouraged me to go study Physics at University. Really well explained and completely sparked me enthusiasm. So thought provoking and interesting!

by Mayada S E

Sep 02, 2019

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

by fred

Sep 17, 2017

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

by Etienne T

Nov 10, 2016

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.