Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,632件の評価
509件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 226 - 250 / 503 レビュー

by Vijay T

May 26, 2019

Great course. Totally appreciate the time and effort (and patience) by Professor to help me have a solid foundation on special theory of relativity

by Fethi O Ö

Jul 12, 2017

Good course, for to learn, imaging,considering,observing and measuring.Especially examples are very interesting.Like clocks,spaceships,light beams.

by Michał R

Jan 24, 2020

This course is just amazing! I wish I had that kind of teacher in school as Prof. Lagerstrom. I'll be coming back to this lectures. Pure pleasure!

by Vishal J

Aug 21, 2019

Brilliant course. It is taught in such a manner as to really get a feel for relativity and to understand the core principles. Highly recommended.

by Kenneth K

Feb 21, 2020

This was a great course. It was informative (I had several "a-ha moments") and enjoyable. Professor Lagerstrom is truly and educator. Well done.

by Carlos M

Sep 29, 2017

Excellent experience and the Professor is an excellent teacher by showing all these concepts in a way that is really easy to understand them.

by sueg

Dec 21, 2016

This course is really brilliant, Professor Lagerstrom ( I hope I have spelt the name correctly ) really knows the subject, a superb lecturer.

by Joseph Q J

Apr 18, 2019

Dr Lagerstrom is terrific.

WhileI had to watch 2 lectures a second time, I found the course materials and lectures to be clear and precise.

by Mohana A

Oct 07, 2018

Awesome course, well explained. Helps get a good understanding of the basics along with the mathematics behind special theory of Relativity.

by Joost d G

Sep 07, 2017

This course could not have been given better. It explained the concepts of the special theory of relativity in a concise though complete way

by Eric F V S

Jul 03, 2017

This course has been very enriching in terms of personal knowledge, thank you! My goal was to learn, regardless of its practical usefulness

by Paolo L R

Nov 25, 2017

very interesting course, it convers the basics of the theory of relativity, also putting it in an historical context, outstanding teacher

by Rady M R

Jun 19, 2017

This course is excellent, Improve the critical thinking and the understanding to the basic concepts of the relativity and it's philosophy.

by Abdessamad M

May 10, 2019

Excellent course. it explained the theory in a comprehensive way and shed light on many dark corners of this science. It helped me a lot.

by Michael F

Jan 22, 2018

Simply OUTSTANDING! Well designed, clear, fun, easy to follow and tremendously beneficial to my ongoing thirst to understanding reality.

by Riccardo C

Apr 28, 2019

The best course I have attended so far! The Lecturer was very clear and easy to follow despite the themes explained are not easy at all!

by Chan H Y

Nov 01, 2018

The pace of week1-week3 are too slow for learners with well science / mathematics background.

All parts of the course are well explained.

by Eric

Feb 13, 2018

Well organized and described - Each section can add to one's appreciation for the basic physics behind the special theory of relativity.

by shubham k

Sep 16, 2017

This course is awesome . The lectures provided by the Stanford is very helpful. Our professor is also very helpful and encouraging.

by Steve B

Jan 04, 2017

A enjoyable and well laid out course, mathematics level: high school, some rigorous algebraic proofs though not essential to pass.

by Raphael R

Nov 11, 2018

This material is probably the best explanation currently available for anyone and allows for intuitive understanding of the Theory

by Pam E

Aug 20, 2017

An excellent course with great videos explaining the concepts at a level and pace that could be understood. Thank you very much.

by Palak C

Jul 07, 2017

This course was amazing. The way Proff. Larry Taught, was so subtle and understandable. I recommend this course foe enthusiasts.

by Laurel S D

Dec 19, 2016

Great course. I have a BS in physics from Colorado School of Mines, which is a tough school, and they didn't explain it as well

by Priyanka S

Aug 22, 2019

The course was informative and took a very unique and simple approach to explain The Special Theory of Relativity to beginners.