Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,887件の評価
618件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

JJ

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 251 - 275 / 610 レビュー

by Abigail M

Nov 07, 2017

Fantastic course! Really encouraged me to go study Physics at University. Really well explained and completely sparked me enthusiasm. So thought provoking and interesting!

by Mayada S E

Sep 02, 2019

Amazing course that makes your mind opened for imagination in a magic Einsteinal world with a great instructor who simpliphy every tiny information.thanks alot Dr. Larry

by fred

Sep 17, 2017

Really interesting course, Prof L Lagerstrom is extremely good at teaching the concepts in a comprehensive way ; I hope that he will give more courses in the future ! :)

by Etienne T

Nov 10, 2016

Very good, easy to follow course. Concepts like time slowing down and things becoming shorter at high velocities are no longer a mysterie to me after taking this course.

by Patrick M

Jul 02, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic without going too far in depth into the calculations. This has inspired me to take more advance physic courses to continue to learn.

by Adina H

Feb 04, 2019

This was an extremely interesting course. Thank you for offering it. You really made it understandable while still maintaining the wonder of such "weird" phenomenon.

by Soham C

Jul 06, 2020

Best Astronomy Course Ever. I love Standford and would even like to choose Standford University for my higher education and research. I highly recommend this course !

by karen o

Feb 14, 2017

though i have read lots of popular physics before, nothing ever explained lorentz contraction and time dliation like dr lagerstrom! really helpful new understanding.

by Silvia E F

Jun 18, 2020

Me ha servido mucho.

He comprendido de que se trata cuando hablamos de Relatividad Especial

De como llegamos a las paradojas y como salimos de ellas

Gracias Profesor

by Vishal P

Mar 31, 2017

IT WAS A WONDERFUL COURSE. THANKS TO CALIFORNIA UNIVERSITY AND THE PROFESSOR DR. LARRY LAGERSTROM FOR DELIVERING THE COURSE IN A VERY SYSTEMATIC AND JOYFUL MANNER.

by Ian A

Jun 27, 2020

A wonderful course that will enable literally anyone, even without any sort of mathematical background to grasp the idea behind the Special Theory of Relativity.

by Trivedi D P

Jul 08, 2019

This course is excellent. I want to know and learn about Einstein's special theory of relativety. This course tech me everything about it. Sir Thank you so much.

by Ilias T

Apr 28, 2017

Great course!

Mr. Lagerstrom thank you very much for giving us your insight about Special Theory of relativity and more generally for your learning initiative !

by Kunal L

Jan 16, 2018

A great course for beginners. While it does not cover a large number of topics, the ones it does, it tries to do slowly, thoroughly and with clarity of thought.

by Venkataraman K

Dec 29, 2016

Very methodical & lucid way of explaining the concepts. Understanding of Special Theory of Relativity made relatively easy, pun intended! Thank you Professor...

by Nisnat C

Sep 01, 2019

It was a great experience to learn such fascinating things in such a beautiful way, I believe it increased my eagerness even more towards this beautiful topic.

by Sivasankaran

Jun 23, 2017

Fully Packed with knowledge !!. Best Course for First year students in physics and general people who are interested in physics and with no background in math.

by Thomas H

Nov 27, 2017

It is a great course for anyone who wants not only to learn the theory but to understand it and how it's creator Albert Einstein came to these discoveries.

by Dr. M U

Feb 26, 2019

Best course to understand the basis of the Special Theory of Relativity, mainly for such guys who mean to understand this theory only by using mathematics.

by Stéphen F

Jun 18, 2020

Very pedagogic course on a fascinating subject that is not well understood by non-physicists, even though it is considered as scientific general knowledge

by Kaustubh R G

Oct 21, 2018

Thoroughly planned and thought-out course. excellent presentation, no technical issues; has a strong impact on the mind. wonderful course in all respects.

by Mindy

Dec 04, 2017

An invigorating course that provides foundational understanding of the core concepts and theories in physics and Einstein's ingenuity. Highly recommended.

by Ankush K P

Apr 24, 2020

good course and based on the simplification of the course anyone with physics background join and learn the concept of the special theory of relativity.

by Atharva A

Mar 28, 2020

An amazing course for the Astrophiles and curious physics enthusiasts . The course is very well organized and its easy to learn . A great experience .

by 徐致远

Jul 25, 2017

The course is great !

Thank you very much for you effort !

It is genuine the best explanation about special theory of relativity I've ever learn about !