Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,006件の評価
665件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 151 - 175 / 655 レビュー

by Shashank D

May 27, 2018

Very well designed course with good content and information. Also takes a methodical approach to teaching and is easy to follow and get a good understanding of the underlying concepts behind special theory of relativity with context around how it was conceived and developed by Einstein.

by Tristan

Mar 31, 2017

Great class. The professor is very careful, clear, and methodical. If you know basic algebra then you'll be able to understand everything that goes on in this course. The progression is nice and slow so that when you get to the "weird stuff" it all makes perfect sense. Highly recommend.

by Shubham J

Sep 19, 2017

We made haste slowly. :)

And, it helped absorb some concepts which I've read multiple times over and over but could never accept.

Despite having completed the course once, I keep revisiting the videos every now and then. It helps me further get the concepts as a part of my intuition.

by Victoria P

Jun 03, 2020

Es un curso espectacular para los curiosos que estén dispuestos a hacer el esfuerzo que se requiere para entender. El profesor es claro y preciso y el curso es llevado de manera que se va acelerando suavemente hasta llegar al núcleo de la teoría. Muchas gracias! Lo disfruté mucho.

by Olga G

Jun 26, 2018

Very well built and easy to digest course, even for somebody who is very far from maths and physics in day-to-day reality. Special thank you for refresh on school maths needed for the course - very helpful. The course takes some time and thinking, but worth it. Absolutely recommend!

by Liviu A

Dec 12, 2017

Great, approachable course of the high summits of the human mind. I am grateful that I had the chance to understand this (for now) - or merely to be in the position of asking educated questions - during my lifetime. Thank you, professor Lagerstrom, Stanford University and Coursera!

by Gustavo P

Oct 21, 2017

An excellent course! The professor's explanations are brilliant! And the exercises are well chosen and fit perfectly well the contents of the course. I cannot be happier with this course. Now I really feel I have a sound grasp of the Special Theory of Relativity and Einstein's life!

by Dhananjay S

May 06, 2018

Great place to start the journey into the theory of relativity. Loved the Lectures, the Professor, the layout of the course. Being a Physics student this course seems to run a little slowly in the first few weeks but the detailed explanation of all the basic concepts was very good.

by Mohamed R

Jul 22, 2017

One of the best courses i have ever taken it uses simple everyday language,also it is great for those who want to take a quantitative approach to the whole concept of relativity.This course also features one of the best if not the best professor of physics that ever taught to me .

by Shannon L

Feb 26, 2017

Larry is the best-I highly recommend! I loved this course and really enjoyed exploring these concepts. It is very well put together in a way that gives you time to ponder and try to truly understand the theory before getting to the "cool stuff." I will miss this weekly adventure!

by Bee_r

Mar 27, 2017

Amazing,thanks very much for your professional and responsible in teaching.

I am always having the curiosity about Einstein,so i hope maybe someday you can give us the curriculum on his general theory of relativity.

Thanks again for all the courses i've learned from your teaching.

by Pratham S

Jul 30, 2019

Lovely course. A well taught and elaborate explanation of the Special Theory of Relativity. Also an insight into Einstein life and how he came up with his theories in different sectors and the 5 famous papers of 1905.

A must for every physics, astronomy and aerospace enthusiast.

by Vivien T

Sep 24, 2016

Excellent course which presents the special theory of relativity in a very clear and accessible manner and also explains well the scientific, technological and biographical context of this discovery. I warmly recommend this course. Congratulations and thanks to Larry Lagerstrom

by Marcos P O

Jan 13, 2020

Excellent course. Although I'm not into this kind of science, I've managed to finally understand it. If I can, you can. You can do the course with calculations or without calculations. Anyway, I've you are curious about the subject, just take it. Thanks to the Coursera team.

by Juan S M F

Jun 23, 2018

Muchas gracias profesor por el curso expuesto. Me ha encantado, su forma de explicar es maravillosa. Me he motivado de gran manera para profundizar el conocimiento entregado. Muy agradable su forma de compartir el conocimiento. Gracias a Coursera por dar este tipo de cursos!

by muhamed n a

Sep 18, 2017

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

by Jordi T

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very comprehensive and it is also very well prepared in order to have a progressive understanding of the theory of the special relativity. Lectures made by the instructor are very interesting and you can get addicted as if you were watching a Netflix series.

by ACADEMAN

Jul 24, 2017

THE COURSE WAS A DELIGHT! MR. LAGERSTROM WAS AN EXCELLENT INSTRUCTOR. IT WAS A REAL PLEASURE TO SIT IN ON HIS LECTURES EACH DAY AND LEARN A DIFFICULT SUBJECT. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO ANYONE WITHOUT HESITATION. THANK YOU MR. LAGERSTROM FOR A TRULY WELL DONE COURSE.

by Bruno M

Apr 01, 2018

Thank you very much to Professor Lagerstrom for sharing his knowledge publicly for the benefit of others. This is a fantastic course for learning the concepts of the special theory of relativity. Highly recommended if you are getting started or getting back into physics.

by Pierangela M

Apr 05, 2018

This course is organized very well, and useful handouts are provided. The lectures are very easy to follow clear despite the difficulties of the topic. An historical and Philosophical contest helps to understand better the arise and development of these beautiful theory.

by Rohit B

Jul 08, 2017

A brilliant course presented with knowledge and passion by Prof. Lagerstrom. It is very easy with minimal dependence on Mathematics. It certainly has inspired me to follow on to learn more about the Special and General theories. Thank you for providing the list of texts.

by Dipraj C J

Aug 03, 2019

This is so helpful for those who wanna understand our universe and who are not learning in college for that...it helped a lot for my curiosity. Thanks to sir Larry, he has put so much efforts to let us understand what is needed...again thank you Larry Sir and Coursera.

by Cris P

Mar 04, 2017

Excellent course. Prof. Lagerstrom provided detailed explanation regarding the special theory of relativity in a very simple and understanding manner. I hope to attend more courses from the good professor soon. Thank you for sharing your knowledge to us, sir. Kudos.

by Bilal H K

Aug 04, 2017

exceptional introductory course to review and revisit the basic fundamentals notions about the relative motion and Einsteins special relativity ,hats off to instructor for making it look simple and interesting carry on the noble cause of spreading knowledge. Thanks

by Owen L

Aug 09, 2020

Great course, highly recommended. Very engaging instructor (at 1.25x speed at least), fascinating topic covered in-depth.

I really enjoyed the organization and structure - the quizzes were effective, and the handouts were a great way to keep my thoughts organized.