Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
2,006件の評価
665件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 176 - 200 / 655 レビュー

by SAMMYAK S

Jun 22, 2018

Great Course for those who want to study the basics of special theory of relativity qualitatively, without scratching their heads too much. Math involved is of higher secondary school level and shouldn't be a problem for people with a non mathematical background.

by Sumit B

Jun 10, 2017

Ennobling experience as Einstein said in one of his quotes. Thank you Professor for making things so simple and interesting. I was struggling to understand these key concepts of relativity from a long time. Would definitely join other courses similar to this one.

by Helmich V

Apr 23, 2019

The course explains the Einstein theories in common words and language. Of course there is limited mathematics to make you feel convinced of the correctness of "Special Relativity". I enjoyed the lessons and course by a terrific teacher and professor. Thank you.

by Antonio B

Jun 15, 2020

Grateful for the opportunity to access an extraordinary online University course. Larry make easy, simple and inspirational every little step taken towards Einstein's mind, theories and talent . Fresh air for an already one century old insights. Thanks indeed.

by Akshai R K

Jun 01, 2020

The course deals with one most exciting theories in the world of science and having taken it, I can say that it is molded so as to imbibe curiosity in the minds of the most basic man with the least exposure to science. Great job by Professor Larry and Stanford.

by Robin A L

Jan 03, 2020

This is an amazing course. It could have used some graphics or animations, but the math and diagrams done on the whiteboard were really nicely done. I came to actually understand the Special Theory of Relativity. You need to know some algebra to get this.

by Robert N

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent course! The instructor speaks slow, so I adjusted the speed to 1.25x. But that is his motto: Festina Lente. And to be honoust it is a very abstract course, so that some items were told two or three times, makes even the hardest parts understandable.

by Rajeev R

Oct 16, 2018

I have always wanted to understand how relativity works and how did Einstein go about developing this theory and this course provided a brilliant opportunity and the professor delivered this a manner that allowed me to understand the process and the theory.

by Sidharth H

Jul 06, 2019

Great introduction to Special Relativity! Good for beginners. The math is highly simplified to an intuitive level, which gives great confidence to people (like me) who don't know calculus (yet) and thus do not (for now) understand the original 1905 paper.

by Antonio P

May 30, 2017

A superb introduction into Special Relativity. A great way to assimilate in full the fundamental concepts before diving into a more technical/mathematical approach... if you really need it. I'm very pleased having decided to take it. Thank you very much!

by AFI. J M

Jul 23, 2020

It is a great course for all Physics Enthusiasts and also for someone who wants to know about Einstein. Prof. Lagerstrom is a wonderful teacher who helps you to imagine every single thought experiment in a very intuitive way. Thanks to Prof. Lagerstrom.

by Vishal V

Jul 22, 2017

I like this course and i learn something new and very weird things about universe. I also thankful to Prof. Larry Lagerstrom, and Stanford University to provide such valuable knowledge and also thankful to coursera to provide such platform for learning.

by Andres P

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course. Great lectures, perfect for anyone with a minimum background on physics. No need to have any previous knowledge of the Special Theory of Relativity. Very well explained and well designed exercises. Top experience! 100% recommended!

by Luiz C

Jun 18, 2019

Really great Course: though Professor Lagestrom explanations can sometimes feel being too long, he is always very clear. I really enjoyed this Course, and wish there would bea similar follow-up course on the topic of the General Theory of Relativity

by Harry A H

Mar 18, 2020

Very thorough and modern explanation of the basic principles of SR. Modern in the sense that math is not emphasized to start getting the correct intuition. Thank you Prof. Holstrom and thank you to the staff for answering all questions so promptly.

by John M

May 27, 2017

A fantastic course by a fantastic teacher. Enthusiastic and interesting and most importantly clearly explaining the subject matter. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this course to anyone and to take any other course run by Larry Randles Lagerstrom.

by Utkarsh C

Jul 14, 2020

Really it was a great course, explained with such good examples and out teacher " just hats off to him". Sir, you were really very kind and intelligent. thank you for letting us understand the fundamentals of Einstein Special theory of Relativity.

by Jean-Jacques Z

Jun 23, 2018

Very clear presentation of the Physics involved. Can be followed without mathematical background. As a suggested reading I would add "L'évolution des idées en Physique" from Einstein / Infeld"Let's go now for a lecture in general relativity!

by Quincy G

Oct 09, 2018

Professor was very thorough in explaining the various aspects regarding the Special Theory of Relativity. The tests and problem sets were well related to what I learned in the videos, and helped me apply what I learned. A terrific course.

by Benjamin Z F

Dec 26, 2017

The content and quality of the course is amazing. I am very satisfied with the course director's knowledge, his ability to convey that knowledge and I now have a much better understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity. Five stars!

by Santiago B

Jun 24, 2017

It's a brilliant course. Although I knew nothing about this topics, even as regard as basic Physics, I understood everything. There are simple explanations and a very didactic diagramming. This was an enriching and enjoyable experience.

by Shruthi S

Mar 02, 2017

Thanks for this course. And I am overwhelmed by the fact that you're giving away these course materials for free. Of course, I'll buy a few important courses for I'll be asked for a certificate. Anyways, thanks a lot team course era. :)

by Ciaran L

Jun 09, 2020

Larry was a brilliant teacher and explained everything very clearly. He took the necessary time on each aspect of the course and made sure that the 'foundations' were laid to properly understand Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity.

by Oguzhan O

May 19, 2020

I have never ever had a better course than this. As a person with a little background in physical scineces, I am capable of asking important questions about the universe. Thank you Prof. Lagerstrom for your unforgettable contribution.

by Arun G

Apr 14, 2020

I got a more in-depth understanding of how special relativity acutally works and I was able to completely clear the major doubts that i had about the various pseudo paradoxes that arised out of this theory such as the twins paradox.