Chevron Left
Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity に戻る

スタンフォード大学(Stanford University) による Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,464件の評価
456件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

人気のレビュー

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

OP

Aug 15, 2019

Hats off to the professor for being able to explain such mind-boggling concepts about the very nature of existence in an entertaining and intuitive way. One of my favorite courses on Coursera by far!

フィルター:

Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity: 201 - 225 / 447 レビュー

by Antonio P

May 30, 2017

A superb introduction into Special Relativity. A great way to assimilate in full the fundamental concepts before diving into a more technical/mathematical approach... if you really need it. I'm very pleased having decided to take it. Thank you very much!

by Tumul K

Jun 11, 2017

This is one of the best online courses one can find online. The explanations were illustrative and detailed but not to the extent of making one bored. It was a fun, exciting journey.

by muhamed n a

Sep 18, 2017

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

by Sidharth G

Mar 17, 2018

It was a good introductory course for the special theory of relativity. But being from an engineering background i wished it was a bit more quantitative but an excellent course nonetheless.

by Daniel M P

Nov 03, 2017

Amazing experience

by Carlos G

Apr 02, 2018

A very thorough and complete explanation of the Special Relativity theory. Finally a really good pedagogical approach is used to explain to plain people like me concepts that are proven for more than a century but still a mystery for most. Having very important scientific concepts explained to our society can mitigate the terrible challenges we shall confront in the coming decades.

Thank you very much to Stanford University and specially to Dr Lagerstrom.

by Tim B

Nov 06, 2017

Very good course for people with little formal preparation in mathematics. The instructor explains the concepts very patiently.

by Andrea P

Dec 20, 2017

The way topics are presented is so fluid (and for the general public) that it is impossible not to follow the roadmap and conclude the course with few but very sound concepts about the special theory of relativity.

by Mariana K S

Aug 01, 2017

Great course! The materia is covered in great depth.

by Mitank D

May 25, 2017

Really this is a fantastic course.

by Pritam k s

Jun 12, 2017

teacher is good course is also good i loved it.i wanted to buy a certificate but i have not enough money to buy...anywhere thanks for enroll free thank you so,much............

by Рогалев А В

Apr 29, 2018

Very interesting !

by Luis W

May 31, 2018

Very interesting

by Wenxin D

Dec 23, 2017

Thank You Professor Lagerstrom, the course is outstanding. I loved the way the course was taught, everything was linked to real life situations and easy to follow. At first I felt that the course was going a little slow but then I realised that a solid foundation is absolutely necessary in order for future understanding. If you skip too much of the first part you might lose some insight and not capture the fundamental ideas. I strongly recommend this course, specially for those who aren't too sophisticated with maths, since this course does not rely on mathematical derivations, but rather on diagrams, thought experiments and logical reasoning. It is definitely worth of 5 out of 5 stars.

by Alexander

Jan 14, 2018

Great course! very well organised and the teacher does a really good job at explaining concepts.

by Palak C

Jul 07, 2017

This course was amazing. The way Proff. Larry Taught, was so subtle and understandable. I recommend this course foe enthusiasts.

by Marta F

Jul 21, 2017

Brilliant. Fantastic teacher. And I'm not good at maths at all but I came away with quite a respectable understanding of the underlying notions of Special Relativity which is exactly what I was looking for.

by Frank L

Nov 12, 2017

Well explained and easy to follow. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

by Barry S

Jul 16, 2017

Excellent course for those yet unfamiliar or as a refresher!

by Per-Erik R

Sep 06, 2017

Fantastic teacher

by shubham k

Sep 16, 2017

This course is awesome . The lectures provided by the Stanford is very helpful. Our professor is also very helpful and encouraging.

by GIRISH M D

Nov 09, 2017

Mr. Larry Randles Lagerstrom is very knowledgeable and he is an excellent teacher. Course is very well designed and presented. The subject matter was enough to get incite into the 'Special Theory of Relativity' and also covered the history of Einstein 's era. I understood most of the things due to Mr. Lagerstrom's way of presenting the facts. Most interestingly, I understood the way things work in the realm of Special Theory of Relativity which was a big question in my mind for long time. Quizzes were very thoughtful and really testing the knowledge gained in the respective lectures. I have not solved the extra questions set given at the end of last few weeks yet but I will do that in near future and in case of doubts I would like to contact Mr. Lagerstrom via e-mail.

I enjoyed it thoroughly and I would like to attend many more such courses. Really thanks and appreciate.

by Oren R

Feb 10, 2018

Very enriching, even to a 12th grade student. Well made, everything was well explained, The instructor was very professional.

by luisa m a

Apr 05, 2018

Excellent to make a sense and appreciate the beauty of this theory

by Nathalie V

Jun 18, 2017

Very interesting, very well explained.