Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Fundamentals of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
11,402件の評価
2,914件のレビュー

コースについて

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

人気のレビュー

FS

Jul 14, 2020

Excellent course to learn and refresh about fundamentals of design....It applies to all spheres of MULTIMEDIA..Highly recommended... As a suggestion course and notes should be available in PDF format.

CS

May 10, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

フィルター:

Fundamentals of Graphic Design: 176 - 200 / 2,869 レビュー

by Luisa M

Jul 27, 2020

The course is very interesting. It really teaches you the basics of Graphic Design, stimulates you to explore your creativity. I just wished our exercises were evaluated for at least one professional or more knowledgeable person instead of only our course colleagues. Overall I would highly recommend it!

by Lorna W

May 30, 2017

Really enjoyable course that was really easy to follow. The videos are great for visual learners, with transcripts that help with note taking, and the practical assignments help you learn by doing. Would definitely recommend as a starting point for anyone wanting to get into the graphic design industry!

by Eduardo G

May 16, 2020

Very well structured, lessons were clear, concise and very engaging and interesting. You build up on the assignments little by little but the concepts are powerful I recomment doing all the optional assignments since they are very fun to make and you learn and practice a lot. Thank you for this course.

by Nikola J

Aug 28, 2018

Being a self-learner in graphic design (photoshop, illustrator and so on) for more than a year, this course provided me with the necessary knowledge of design fundamentals, which I was lacking before. I am more confident to experiment and to think about my work from the theoretical perspective as well.

by Steven C

Jun 22, 2020

I found this course really useful for learning the basics of graphics design. The assignments helped me to think deeply about many of the design elements, e.g. typography, shapes, colors, textures & composition, which I don't usually do. It has given me a better understanding & appreciation of design.

by Ruthwik

Oct 04, 2020

Learned a lot from this course about Graphic Design. Never really thought about the diversity of this course but now I'm glad to know what Graphic Design is!. Enrol this course to get a clear understanding of how Designing is to be done to please the audience. I absolutely loved learning this course.

by Jenny R R

May 27, 2020

I learned from zero this course. I am glad that at the end I got at least a piece of knowledge in Design. This is definitely my first motivation to keep going deeper into this wonderful world of Design. congratulations to Michael Worthington to be a nice and very clear in his videos, I learned a lot.

by Tracy B

Apr 27, 2017

Really enjoyed this course - very glad I saw it through to the end. Got a bit discouraged around week 3 because I don't have any experience with Illustrator or Photoshop yet, so I couldn't do those optional assignments. That's just a heads-up though, not a complaint. Would fully recommend the course.

by Mwa H L

Jan 26, 2016

Not so long ago i decided that I no longer wanted to practice the art of graphic design hazily since i was self taught. I wanted to know everything about it and this course has been quite helpful. For once i can now speak fluently about the fundamentals of graphic design. Thanks to the Coursera team.

by Archie

Jan 31, 2020

Excellent graphic design course. It has the perfect balance of content and the way it tests you is very effective and memorable. The way it is structured makes it an ideal starting point for any graphic designer, whether they already have some design experience, or if they are starting from scratch.

by Stephen M F

Jun 30, 2020

The peer reviews are great to take advantage of and you should definitely do the optional assignments that way you will learn the most. In some ways I don't think they should be optional and make sure to get your assignments in as early as possible otherwise you may be waiting a while for a grade.

by Nikoletta

Jul 19, 2018

Love the course, it was amazing, I think that starting at the fundamentals even if you have some experience, or are self-taught or talented is a must, you just learn the most obvious thing that you forgot while trying to make your designs better.

I learn so much, and I recommend this one to all.

by Megumi N S

May 02, 2020

Disfruté mucho del curso. Fue muy didáctico y pude entender mucho de los conceptos básicos de diseño. Sugeriría que puedan ser un poco más específicos en las tareas y comentar que es algo muy sencillo puesto que muchas cosas se pierden en la interpretación. Muchas gracias por todo el esfuerzo.

by Veena V

May 09, 2016

This course is excellent. Being very informative and fun, it is a great introduction to the design process. All of the assignments are well thought out and are very interesting. This course provides a lot of scope for learning and discovery of new techniques for image making and composition.

by Chirag R J

Aug 26, 2018

This was one of the most fantastic course since I got the basics of not only art but also contemporary designs. Visual Literacy and how forms, contrast, typography works and the most important aspect to think like a viewer or the viewer's perspective. I recommend this course to all my friends

by Ahmed H K

Jul 20, 2020

To know the basic in graphic design is very important. Because a designer has not just remember but as well as think inside the box as well as outside the box. This course offer the basic idea that will give any student an understanding that will help to create a strong foundation in them.

by Valentina T

Mar 20, 2016

The course was exactly what I expected. Professor Worthington made the videos quite interesting and was always to the point. The assignments were also interesting and not too much time-consuming. I'm happy I took the specialisation and I hope that the rest of the courses are as satisfying.

by Tomas W

Feb 27, 2020

A super interesting and engaging entrance into the world of graphic design. I took this at the same time as the Shaw Academy Graphic Design program. Comparing this to Shaw Academy was night and day. This course did everything right, and I dropped out of Shaw Academy. Highly recommend.

by Thiago A L

Jul 03, 2019

The course Fundamentals of Graphic Design is excellent! I learned a lot and practiced a lot with the exercises. It is an excellent base for anyone who is starting out in professional design and for professionals who already work in this market and need to recycle their knowledge. Thank´s!

by Tereza M

May 09, 2018

The course is very well constructed. The videos are great, the assignments push you to experience what you learn, and peers reviews give you the feedback. It teaches me a lot, and especially it makes me look at common things as a graphic designer and boost my creativity. All I wished for.

by Tea G

Feb 10, 2016

It is a really good course, but it is designed for complete beginers. I took it as a review of fundamentals and didn't learn nothing new, but I didn't have those expectations. I just wanted a pure review of things I already know. It was fun and maybe a bit too easy - even for beginers. :)

by Darshita K

Jul 17, 2020

This course was enriching for not only the concepts covered but also due to the manner in which it was presented. It is evident that all professors and personnel involved in curating this course have done an exceptional job in ensuring that the fundamentals are explained in great detail.

by Ada F

Nov 26, 2019

I believe this was a great course. I think as with many classes, you get out of it what you put into it. If you practice and complete even the optional assignments you will have a great foundation or jumping off point for your education in graphic design. I really enjoyed this course.

by Pallab B

Jul 20, 2020

A great course! The instructor really knows how to illustrate his ideas and knowings among learners. This course gives one basic idea of what are the factors that a graphic designers has to go through when creating his works. The instructor has been really helpful throughout the course.

by Cynthia A

Jul 05, 2020

It would be nice to receive feedback from a teacher or moderator of the course as well, especially in the assignments that are required. Because most times the feedback given by other students was non-constructive and did not provide any insight. Comments like good work, yes, effective.