Chevron Left
Character Design for Video Games に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Character Design for Video Games の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
750件の評価
199件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

人気のレビュー

JM
2016年12月21日

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM
2017年11月5日

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

フィルター:

Character Design for Video Games: 176 - 193 / 193 レビュー

by Ricardo D

2016年11月22日

I would like a different approach on the way this course is given to the student. The first couple of classes were really cool and inspiring, but the later two became more of the same and kinda took my inspiration and motivation down to finish the course.

by Michal K

2016年5月30日

Very open way of learning. Few talks with people from the industry, sharing their approach.

Not much of fundamental knowledge.

Generally great motivator to exercise Character Design. Not that great resource to learn from a beginning.

by Danel R

2020年5月29日

The ideas in this course were very interesting and I really enjoyed what the different guest artists had to say, however, it would be nice if the assignments were not only peer reviewed.

by Gastón N M

2016年12月5日

First week and last week were pretty useful with some good tips from the videos... the other weeks not so much.

by Felipe A C

2016年1月6日

I believe that exaggerated the amount of minutes per video and lack of theory, but it was still a good course.

by Aurelija M

2016年8月7日

While the information given by Fran was useful, the part where other artists talk is not presented well.

by samson h

2020年6月27日

it was cool learned a few new things from the teachings however the critique system is kinda lacking

by Juan C D M

2016年1月21日

It is cool. but it does not give any certificate of completion at the end as other courses do.

by Yomna B

2020年7月29日

It was really fun and beneficial, hoped the method of grading was a bit different though.

by Benjamin H

2016年9月13日

Instruction was through watching other characters designers talk about their process.

by Viola B

2016年9月27日

It was a fun course, not sure about the educational content, but it was fun.

by Luca L

2017年7月26日

Good course, fun to do, but the video quality is terrible.

by David H

2016年1月29日

there was 1 concept taught in the first lesson that of density. then it was loads of videos of other people drawing characters, not actually going through a design process. and then a few assignments designing a few characters . I was hoping to learn more about some of the principles of character design- wasnt blown away by this course wont be taking any more of these

by レヷブレート サ

2016年5月16日

great first week, I like Fran's First week video, with the puppets and very engaging interaction,

the next following 3 weeks are total bummer, It does give some tips for character design (such as what is tangent, or some other design tips), but it feels like a bloated interview and not a class-like experience. Great first week, terrible following week

by Cassandra W

2018年10月3日

I thought these class could have been elevated with the professor actually teaching. I enjoyed the the animators thought process walk-through, but I didn't think that was sufficient as an actual course.

by Ruaan G

2018年11月30日

Incredibly rudimentary

by André M

2016年3月31日

Feels like a money grabber rather than teaching anything useful, when designing character for video games is also important the skill you have or obtain while doing it and this doesn't place any emphasis into it. So for the price the charge in the certificate it really feels like a money grabber rather than teaching anything useful at all. Other schools like Gnomon WorkShop and DVDs like "Eat3D" and many others out there, which gives e more content for a fraction of the price they charging here! It needs to be deeper and more robust if this course wants to stand out, right now is not.

by Maria K

2020年5月21日

I expected to get some structurized practical knowledge but the course consists simply of the interviews with designers. All the assignments are peer graded so you cannot receive any valuable feedback of the professsional. Such a disappointment.