Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change に戻る

シカゴ大学(The University of Chicago) による Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
384件の評価
145件のレビュー

コースについて

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

人気のレビュー

SL

2016年10月5日

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

RC

2020年6月26日

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

フィルター:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change: 126 - 144 / 144 レビュー

by Smail K

2017年11月26日

Overall this is a good course. The drawbacks are that there are problems with week formulations of some questions. There is no support from course creators.

by Julie M

2018年2月23日

Good course! in hindsight i wish i bought the book at the beginning/there were some written summaries/pdfs of the key points.

by Carlos V

2017年5月29日

Great content and very good teacher! I dont give it 5 stars because there is no teaching staff support at all.

by Jerry M

2017年11月29日

1.Course lectures = very good. Occasionally too brief; more detail should be provided.

by Shahzad S

2017年10月12日

I appreciate the coursera .

by Richard Z

2019年9月15日

An overall good course.

by Randy K K

2017年9月10日

Great course!

by Priscila F d S

2018年7月14日

Very good!

by Kathryn A M

2022年4月15日

by Edouard I

2021年4月2日

Very clear professor, great and approachable explanations, and interesting exercises!

I like the peer-reviewed works which require us to explain a concept to 11-yos.

The video format is a bit hacky though... Two-minute videos don't really achieve much, and I've got to watch several of them anyway to get a full message. So why not have fluid, 10-to-15 minute videos?

Furthermore, the online models are a great tool to illustrate what is seen in class. However, some tools (in particular the Time Series Browser) work really poorly, and I see that the same problems as I have today existed five years ago. So, although these exercises are interesting and educational, they've clearly been forgotten by the teacher himself. This is not a problem as such, but the course could be made a lot better if the feedback of students (found in the forums of the course) were taken into account.

Overall though, I really liked the class!

by Adam H

2017年3月27日

It is a good course & I am grateful for any one you puts effort into making education available. The -2 stars is due to complete absence of moderators leading to a defunct discussion. Also be aware that there are a lot of peer graded assignments. Which I think work well, but do mean more work than a lot of courses. In addition you must pass all tasks, which meant I actually failed the course by getting the second top mark you can get on the last assignment despite passing all the others (a fair bit of work put in),

by Brian W

2017年5月5日

The course was a broad overview to different areas of climate science. At the end I understood a little more deeply the mechanics of global warming, but some things could have gone in more depth. I found the quantity of assignments/quizzes to be a bit unmanageable even though some were very short. I really liked the explainer assignments. When I first saw them i thought they were going to be a bit much, but actually they were extremely helpful as they forced me to process the information learned week to week.

by Katarina T

2017年6月15日

The course was much more difficult than I imagined - it required more time than the explanation suggested. For me personally, the theoretical part was often not enough to go through tests with ease. The most frustrating part was the last assignment - the scoring was not well designed (you need 9 and 10 to pass, but can get either 7 or 10). On the other hand, the course was interesting and I learned a lot. With a little improvement, it would earn 5 stars.

by Soo H S

2022年6月10日

Unable to commit due to the complex calculations involved.

by Kathy H

2016年3月22日

The material is very interesting. There a a huge number of quizzes over poorly explained (or not at all explained) models, which would still be an interesting challenge if the models themselves had better explanations. This has been the most frustrating Coursera class I have taken, not because of the subject difficulty, but because of the lack of adequate resources for working with the models.

by Yusuf M A

2021年2月1日

The videos aren't helpful for the quizzes.

by Shanta P

2020年5月8日

The course tutor's explanations were very poor with lots of the physics justified with incomplete or partial explanations (ie lots of arm waving etc). The diagrams and graphs were hand-drawn and were of very poor explanatory quality - no indication of what the axes referred to, for example. As a result I found myself having to look up subjects referred to in lectures in the web. I found that web material was far superior and of greater depth (try NOAA for one). If you have reasonable knowledge of maths and physics (even high school level) this course is a waste of time. Half way through I dropped this course out of frustration and found a far superior MOOC from Univ of Bergen.

by Meruyert S

2020年12月20日

The instructor makes the simplest things so unbearably hard to understand. For example, when he converts hours to seconds. What can be easier than that? Instead of doing it a conventional way he makes unnecessary fractions calculation. He also occasionally uses a non-metric system of measurement which, I am sure, confuses lots of people who are not from the USA or the UK. If you don't have a basic understanding of science in general just don't waste your time on this course.

by Juanny J

2021年5月11日

It appears to be too difficult for my standard. I suppose it is not a good fit for me.