Chevron Left
Ideas from the History of Graphic Design に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Ideas from the History of Graphic Design の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,100件の評価
439件のレビュー

コースについて

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

人気のレビュー

PD
2016年11月26日

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

AD
2016年12月4日

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

フィルター:

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design: 151 - 175 / 434 レビュー

by VALERIO , S R (

2021年2月12日

thank you for the learning experience, i know it will really help me throughout my journey as an artist.

by Juliette S

2016年11月7日

Great class! learned a lot about the history of design and how the techniques are still being used today

by Oluwaseun O O

2016年10月23日

i hatehistory as a subject but i love this course. some great ideas from the past still being used today

by Kyle L

2016年8月9日

Really great and thorough content. A wonderful introduction to the dense and exciting history of design.

by Ellie R

2018年9月24日

Very interesting and insightful trip throughout the history of graphic design with thorough analysis.

by Tawana D W

2018年3月19日

This course is fast paced and very informative. I really like how well organized each lesson appears.

by P Z C

2017年6月3日

I learned so miuch. Best course of all last 4 in the Graphic Design so far. Let me test the last one.

by Nirav N

2020年10月21日

This course teaches me basics and foundation of Graphics design and how it gets improved with time.

by Aditi A

2020年11月24日

Loved this course. I learnt so much about graphic design and different styles from different eras.

by Anna S

2019年9月8日

Amazing course, which helped me to understand the philosophy of graphic design and be open minded.

by Amy B K

2019年10月6日

Insightful overview of history and development of design concepts. A must have foundation course.

by Veronika H

2020年5月11日

Really nice experience to remeber all things and designer from this timelapse courses. Thank you

by Itziar

2019年12月25日

Very good course to have a little background about design! Thank you so much. Great instructors

by Dave L

2016年8月31日

Pretty good for such a short course - interesting ideas and exposure to new concepts. Thanks!

by Stephen M H

2020年10月4日

A very thorough explanation of various movements and the key individuals involved with them

by AC

2016年10月7日

Liked the course. I would love to learn even more about the History of Graphic Design now))

by Eugen M

2016年8月20日

An excellent course for those who know more.

Very well presented, quite easy to understand.

by Katsiaryna K

2021年1月24日

Very nice and condenced course that makes introduction into the history of graphic design.

by Brenda R

2018年6月7日

I thought it would be boring, but they made it very fun and interesting! Enjoyed it a lot!

by Aryan I

2020年6月8日

This was one of the most inspiration and informational courses on graphic design history

by MARCIO R P

2020年7月15日

The course is excellent. Very varied and dynamic. The teaching platform is sensational.

by Yudi Y S

2020年6月2日

This course improve my knowledge about history of Graphic Design. This course is great!

by Valentina S

2019年12月5日

That was very informative and inspiring. I wish all the courses could be like this one.

by Michael L

2020年4月21日

Well presented ideas that provide a foundation of understanding visual communication

by Soh W K

2018年10月26日

Insightful understanding of Bauhaus and it's philosophy and Teachers and Artworks.