Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,058件の評価
306件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

SM

2016年10月1日

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

2018年3月12日

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 126 - 150 / 307 レビュー

by Carrie F

2017年6月26日

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

by Cathy G

2017年1月24日

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

by Andrew G

2016年6月30日

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

by Michael V

2015年11月8日

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

by Maurice W

2022年5月5日

widen my knowledge on rock development and enriched my knowledge on other then rock developments!

by Geert P

2016年10月8日

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

by Huang K

2016年1月15日

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

by Steve M

2020年4月13日

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

by Ferdinand P

2018年1月26日

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

by 任欣雨

2016年12月4日

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

by Aline D

2016年3月2日

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

by Brendan C

2018年11月14日

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

by Sier i t 7

2022年3月16日

i love these courses they are by far my favorite on coursera! thank you history of rock!!

by luis g

2017年8月13日

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

by Christine H

2021年1月3日

Fascinating. I used the textbook to accompany the lectures and it was of great value

by Joanne P

2020年6月5日

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

by Phyllis S

2016年7月31日

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

by Zillah K

2015年8月28日

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

by Kathy P

2020年3月22日

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

by Gregg H

2016年4月12日

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

by Marcos L R G

2016年2月24日

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

by Brittani G

2019年1月15日

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

by Cristina S

2017年9月14日

A good fun way to learn about the history of ronck. Can't wait to start second p

by Josefin

2015年10月31日

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.