Chevron Left
HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
6,467件の評価
2,280件のレビュー

コースについて

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

人気のレビュー

SW

Mar 15, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

NC

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent course, specially if you are a professional but in different technologies/ languages, from the back-end world, etc... You will progress very fast as it goes right to the essential notions.

フィルター:

HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers: 51 - 75 / 2,226 レビュー

by Nicolas S V

Jan 18, 2017

This was a really interesting course, it shows you not only the granularity of a project, but also how to build it in a way that allows you to keep scaling with different technologies, basically as the title of the course says, you will implement a real site, and Yaakov will give you a ride to the clients restaurant in order to take requirements, you are going to create a website for that restaurant, and step by step you will see how to improve it, from simple HTML structures to complex Javascript code (using good practices). It will give confidence if you already have some knowledge and you will learn a LOT if you are new.

by Dorian A

Feb 23, 2017

Excelente! Los conocimiento desplegados en el curso son muy completos! En lo personal repeti cada leccion y estudie los fundamentos varias veces, ya que hay cosas que de repente se pasan por alto pero que si se considera el tiempo que dura el curso (5 semanas) es mas que entendible. Tratar de ir mas alla requeriria mucho mas tiempo. Sin embargo vuelvo y repito el contenido abarcado es bastante, y al finalizar estas en plena capacidad de empezar a contribuir en proyectos de desarrollo web. De verdad excelente y gran parte de la calidad de este curso se debe a Yaakov y su tutoria dinamica y para nada aburrida. Saludos!

by Mario P

May 02, 2017

Johns Hopkins University shows how versatile teaching institutions needs to be these days, delivering an extremely well prepared online course. Having Professor Yaakov Chaiking on the driving seat, was certainly a wise choice, as he is a great communicator, able to keep the audience interest up to the very last lesson.

I was looking for an introductory course on HTML and CSS, which is amazingly covered during the first three weeks of the course. Javascript was a plus, a highly useful one.

This was a great learning experience, and a fun one too! Hats off to Professor Yaakov Chaiking for such a great performance!

by Fernando

Mar 08, 2016

One of the best Coursera courses I've taken so far. The quality of the contents is second to none - Not to mention the way they're presented is simply outstanding.

If I had to come up with areas of improvement, I'd probably say that the length the weekly sections is a little bit overwhelming. Actually, I think the contents of this course should be split into two separate courses on their own so the various concepts can be absorbed in a more efficient way.

I've really enjoyed going through this course and I must say I've definitely accomplished all the learning goals I set for myself at the very beginning.

by Hanadi H

Aug 12, 2019

I liked the course very much! Everything about it is great. Yaacov meticulously explains needed information. The slides are adequate. It's nice to have the information spoken by Yaacov as printed for further comprehension and follow up. The field trip for the website was really good. It's the first time I get exposed to the life of Jews and I found many similarities with my background. Of course there are so much information concerning the course that I need further readings (from the Readings list) and perhaps to restudy the course on my own to have a really sturdy base in web development. Thank you!

by Ruslan R

Apr 03, 2016

This covers provides excellent coverage of the most fundamental concepts of front-end development. The presentation style in the lectures was very clear and easy to understand and the information in the lectures themselves, particularly the ones on CSS and Javascript, was quite comprehensive. I have learned much more about CSS than I ever knew before and have even been able to apply that knowledge in my full-time job as a software engineer. This has all been possible thanks to this course. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to understand much more about front-end development.

by Mahmud F U A

Jun 23, 2016

A perfect gateway into web development. I would recommend this course to anybody who deals with websites in general. Even if you are not a developer, you can take this course just to know how websites do the things they do. It's concise yet very complete, and very rewarding.

All the content is structured very well: the topics are divided into small morsels, if you will, perfect for learning. The instructor, Yaakov Chaikin, is one of the best teachers I have come across and the assignments are engaging and pose just enough challenge to help you learn. Five stars any day.

by Paul S

Oct 18, 2016

It's an all-rounder course with a great introduction to HTML, CSS and Javascript/jQuery/AJAX. There's enough formal background to tell you why things are they way they are and what each HTML, CSS, JS component is meant to achieve and how to do it. Great links to external resources as well. The practical examples and assignments do all they should to reinforce that. The course gives a very good base to build on by yourself, or continue further with more advanced material. It definitely helps to have some programming experience for the latter material on Javascript.

by Vinicius d N S d S

Sep 26, 2016

Great course! I really enjoyed it. It helped consolidate a lot of important knowledge, in order to create high quality, modern web applications.

I do have one suggestion though, which would be creating a version of this course directed to Ruby on Rails. The framework has numerous helpers for building frontend and a lot of things displayed in this course could be approached differently with the help of Rails. I would've enjoyed having this perspective, since I'm taking the Ruby on Rails specialization.

Nonetheless, congratulations on the great course you guys put up!

by huzefa s

Sep 15, 2019

This is a great course for anyone who wants to learn front end web development. The material in the course is designed in such a manner that it does not take much time and yet provides in-depth knowledge about the subject. Five stars for the members of the John Hopkins university team and coursera which spent huge efforts to deliver and create this course. You people have done a fantastic job of creating a course which does not take much time of the learner yet leaves him fully prepared to take challenges he may face in the industry of front end web development.

by Yijie Q

Jul 25, 2016

I've learned bits and pieces of HTML, CSS, and Javascript in school and work. With that said, this course was an easy one for me, nevertheless it helped organizing my prior web dev knowledge, and had definitely shined lights onto some details that I didn't know before. Yaakov did a great job explaining the basic concepts, as well as tapping into the common tricks and pitfalls.

I'd recommend this course to anyone who's just starting to learn web development, as well as those who'd like to put their previous on-the-spot learnings into an organized piece.

by genelle p

Mar 03, 2016

I am really enjoying the class so far. The professor and teaching assistants have been very responsive to questions in the forum. I've been looking for a HTML/Javascript course that wasn't a super beginner level course as I have some programming experience but am trying to learn more, and this class fits the bill. If you are very new to programming I wouldn't recommend taking this as the professor moves pretty quickly, but if you're like me and want to learn web development and have some programming knowledge under your belt, this class is made for you!

by Luznery d C V M

Jan 11, 2017

Highly recommended course!

Because I improve my knowledge of CSS3, I learned to develop an environment working with Git, create pages in GitHub. I wanted to create my first page in GitHub and I made it through this course. I also improved my JavaScript skills and learned Ajax which is totally new to me. And finally and no less important the assignment of module 5 was super incredible. I thank the Instructor Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor super inspiring and the whole team of mentors were fantastic, they were of great help. :)

Thank you very much!

by Kshitij G

Feb 28, 2016

I am super confident even with just two weeks into the course of coming out as a really skilled developer, and hopefully have a fairly advanced "developer's intuition". Best part is he has worked diligently on the minutest of details and been careful how on-line learning can be difficult.

I have never done coding, and have often wondered what could be special to it.

So.. guess the course approaches a specialisation successfully allowing retention of that "excitement & curiosity" that almost always is inherent to learning.

Five stars already.

by sargon h

Jun 27, 2016

Yakoov is one of the best instructors I ever had on coursera. I am planning to take additional courses from him as instructor. This class is great. I was expecting just the a basic refresher course on the basic web technologies, but I ended up getting more than what I expected. The coverage is just enough to getting off the ground and explore more complex topics. Also, the responsive design coverage was completely appropriate and timely, at least in my case. I highly recommend taking this class and others offered by Yakoov Chaikin.

by Sahas N

Apr 06, 2017

Absolutely loved Mr.Yaakov's teaching. I began learning web development long ago before dropping it as most of the tutorials out there were not exciting and really lacked in organisation of material & fundamental concepts. Either the tutorials were too slow or went over the top. Kudos to Mr.Yaakov for making the course interesting, dealing more with fundamentals and for the way he integrated HTML, CSS and javascript topics on a real-world website. I for sure learned more regarding web dev over past week more than ever.

by Whitney J

Dec 03, 2016

Really good course be Professor Chaikin is very thorough in his explanations of the different steps towards understanding HTML, CSS, and Javascript. The course left me with the feeling that though we learned a lot there was still much more to learn. With a course like this, you get out what you put in so I highly recommend committing yourself to doing the assignments and keeping up with examples while Prof. Chaikin is explaining them. It helps a lot if you following along using your own code editor and Browser Sync.

by Fernando A

Jun 11, 2016

Very practical course, a lot of resources to your disposal, all information is very clear, you have a forum to ask any question and the professor answers really fast.! I can't believe it but i'm getting a lot of fun learning how to program with this languages! Also, the professor speaks english very clear which is great for me as i'm from México and i have no a perfect english. There is also an option to put subtitles on, but, at least for me, is kind of annoying read subtitles and listen to videos at the same time.

by Benjamin L

May 14, 2017

I found this to be an excellent course. I had prior exposure to CSS, Bootstrap and Javascript and this course helped me understand the key concepts behind these technologies more fully. I would have liked more coverage of Javascript but I guess I'll get that in the follow on AngularJS course for which I've already signed up. I should point out that I have not taken the earlier courses in the Ruby on Rails specialization - they're not strictly a prerequisite, especially if you have some prior development experience.

by Lanning Z

Aug 02, 2019

This course contains very helpful content for beginners. It starts with an introduction of HTML and CSS, then move to real coding language as Javascript. This course does not only help me learn how to be a web developer, but also encourage my interest in coding. The instructor, Yaakov, is a knowledgable and funny person. I love the interviewing videos he made because it gives vivd example for using the knowledges in real life. I recommend this course to people who have little knowledge of web design and coding.

by Ling K

Mar 29, 2016

I only enrolled so I can watch some of the CSS videos. I never formally learned CSS so some of the attributes are fuzzy for me. Not sure how comprehensive this course. I am pretty sure that more can be done in CSS but the course still did a really great job of explaining all the common attributes. It is very clear for me now... and they are good lessons for beginners because it's thorough but not overwhelming. Disclaimer: I have not done any of the assignments; I just use what I learned in other projects.

by Sean P G

Dec 30, 2019

Solid coverage of HTML, CSS, and JS. Having been steeped in all of these languages for a long time, and in their headaches, I expected this course to be a basic review so I learned more than I expected. Some of the reviews here complain of outdated material: Although the material is dated, it is not expired. For example, the technological disparities between, say, Bootstrap 3 and 4 are kept at a minimum (just so long as you're able to follow instructions!). I look forward to the Angular JS course.

by Jessica B

Apr 14, 2016

This course does a really good job of teaching HTML and CSS, as well as the basics of Javascript to beginners. I used it as a refresher course for what I learned in the Web Design 1 & 2 courses from high school and it covered just as much material in only a few weeks. Videos are really easy to follow and you are given step by step instructions on how to create your projects. Not a difficult course and it teaches you the basics so that you are prepared to further your skills in more advanced areas.

by Kyrylo P

Oct 18, 2016

Interesting course with a practical approach. After passing the course you can easily have a personal web page with a portfolio of your grade works. Yaakov advises very useful resources for out-of-scope learning and doesn't waste time for explaining the theory, instead he pays particular attention to practice.

However, the total lectures time is quite impressive and the course requires students to study every free minute. I feel happy after passing the course, thank you for making it available.

by Sachith N K

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent course. This course gave me a clear idea about JavaScript HTML5 and CSS also AJAX. But when we go deeper in the module 3 lectures and specially in module 5 lectures the descriptiveness has slightly more reduced. In AJAX you just described a code and it was very hard for me to understand at first. But thanks to your clear voice and clear explanations I could understand them by revising each such lecture videos more than once. Thank you very much for designing such a great course.