Chevron Left
HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
7,334件の評価
2,566件のレビュー

コースについて

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

人気のレビュー

SM

Jun 11, 2020

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

YV

May 31, 2020

Many thanks to the creators of this course! It was a very solid refresher for me, even though I have spent in web development a few years by now. I thoroughly enjoyed every lesson. Thank you, Yaakov!

フィルター:

HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers: 76 - 100 / 2,502 レビュー

by Whitney J

Dec 03, 2016

Really good course be Professor Chaikin is very thorough in his explanations of the different steps towards understanding HTML, CSS, and Javascript. The course left me with the feeling that though we learned a lot there was still much more to learn. With a course like this, you get out what you put in so I highly recommend committing yourself to doing the assignments and keeping up with examples while Prof. Chaikin is explaining them. It helps a lot if you following along using your own code editor and Browser Sync.

by Fernando A

Jun 11, 2016

Very practical course, a lot of resources to your disposal, all information is very clear, you have a forum to ask any question and the professor answers really fast.! I can't believe it but i'm getting a lot of fun learning how to program with this languages! Also, the professor speaks english very clear which is great for me as i'm from México and i have no a perfect english. There is also an option to put subtitles on, but, at least for me, is kind of annoying read subtitles and listen to videos at the same time.

by Benjamin L

May 14, 2017

I found this to be an excellent course. I had prior exposure to CSS, Bootstrap and Javascript and this course helped me understand the key concepts behind these technologies more fully. I would have liked more coverage of Javascript but I guess I'll get that in the follow on AngularJS course for which I've already signed up. I should point out that I have not taken the earlier courses in the Ruby on Rails specialization - they're not strictly a prerequisite, especially if you have some prior development experience.

by Lanning Z

Aug 02, 2019

This course contains very helpful content for beginners. It starts with an introduction of HTML and CSS, then move to real coding language as Javascript. This course does not only help me learn how to be a web developer, but also encourage my interest in coding. The instructor, Yaakov, is a knowledgable and funny person. I love the interviewing videos he made because it gives vivd example for using the knowledges in real life. I recommend this course to people who have little knowledge of web design and coding.

by Ling K

Mar 29, 2016

I only enrolled so I can watch some of the CSS videos. I never formally learned CSS so some of the attributes are fuzzy for me. Not sure how comprehensive this course. I am pretty sure that more can be done in CSS but the course still did a really great job of explaining all the common attributes. It is very clear for me now... and they are good lessons for beginners because it's thorough but not overwhelming. Disclaimer: I have not done any of the assignments; I just use what I learned in other projects.

by Sean P G

Dec 30, 2019

Solid coverage of HTML, CSS, and JS. Having been steeped in all of these languages for a long time, and in their headaches, I expected this course to be a basic review so I learned more than I expected. Some of the reviews here complain of outdated material: Although the material is dated, it is not expired. For example, the technological disparities between, say, Bootstrap 3 and 4 are kept at a minimum (just so long as you're able to follow instructions!). I look forward to the Angular JS course.

by Jessica B

Apr 14, 2016

This course does a really good job of teaching HTML and CSS, as well as the basics of Javascript to beginners. I used it as a refresher course for what I learned in the Web Design 1 & 2 courses from high school and it covered just as much material in only a few weeks. Videos are really easy to follow and you are given step by step instructions on how to create your projects. Not a difficult course and it teaches you the basics so that you are prepared to further your skills in more advanced areas.

by Kyrylo P

Oct 18, 2016

Interesting course with a practical approach. After passing the course you can easily have a personal web page with a portfolio of your grade works. Yaakov advises very useful resources for out-of-scope learning and doesn't waste time for explaining the theory, instead he pays particular attention to practice.

However, the total lectures time is quite impressive and the course requires students to study every free minute. I feel happy after passing the course, thank you for making it available.

by Sachith N K

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent course. This course gave me a clear idea about JavaScript HTML5 and CSS also AJAX. But when we go deeper in the module 3 lectures and specially in module 5 lectures the descriptiveness has slightly more reduced. In AJAX you just described a code and it was very hard for me to understand at first. But thanks to your clear voice and clear explanations I could understand them by revising each such lecture videos more than once. Thank you very much for designing such a great course.

by CHATZIANAGNOSTOU S

Jun 21, 2016

One of the best courses I have ever taken. Yaakov explains everything so clearly and and uses examples that make you fully understand all terms. Also all content is wrapped up by a project - a real project, a real website that you create from scratch and by the end of the course you 've got it ready, working and functionable.

Thanks Yaakov for the exceptional material and your effort and thank you coursera for offering the opportunity to take this course even with no money at all!

by Eimantas U

Jun 16, 2017

The Good: Mr. Jaakov is definitely strongest asset to this course.

The Bad: Assignments are too easy. It feels like they are made so people would feel great about themselves and wouldn't ever fail. However, I like the idea of providing optional more difficult tasks even though there could be even more challenging "3 tier" of tasks.

Last part in Ajax feels very compressed. I would rather have a more depth approach on other subjects than trying to get everything in 5 weeks course.

by Janith J

May 23, 2020

This is an amazing course for web developers. The lecturer is very skilled in teaching us so that we understand even the trickiest parts with ease. Also the Course has a fun edge to it because of the way the lecturer teaches with the jokes and the field visits. This course allows you to learn web development while giving an experience on how web development is done in the real world. So i would recommend this course for all who wish to learn web development in an easy fun way.

by Jordan B

Oct 07, 2016

This was a great course for beginners who are looking to get into static website design as a starting point.

I had taken this course first out of the ruby on rails specialty courses, and decided to enroll in the entire course.

The videos are well done, minus some small dating issues (like versions of software) but that is understandable. The forums answered every question i had.

I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning HTML, CSS, and the beginnings of JS.

by Liz B

Jun 19, 2016

Learning so much in this course. The lectures are very informative and fill out the info you need to complete each component. The lecture style makes it a much more rounded learning experience than just a straight online coding course. Thanks to all who put it together, can definitely recommend it.

Make use of your ability to review the content as it does move quite fast and there is a lot of information to retain before you get to put into practice what you have learnt.

by Sukanya A

Apr 16, 2016

It was one of the best courses I have taken so far and the instructor for this course Mr. Yaakov Chaikin is one of the best teachers. This course starts from the very basics and touches even very advanced topics before you even know. This course is complete in itself and encompasses all the topics that might be required at the time of practical implementation and makes you ready enough that you can start building a website from the scratch just after it's completion.

by Ronak Y P

Feb 28, 2016

There are few teachers whose lessons you remember for the rest of your life. Yakov is few of them. Absolute clarity, amazingly optimum content, passion to make course interesting and hell lot of hard work. Complete bow down. You are great and set an outstanding example of teacher. This course took me back to memories of learning Calculus on Coursera by Jim Fowler, You can't wait to finish the assignment you cannot wait to start new module. Absolute perfection.

by Feras M

May 12, 2020

This is a great course, You will learn many practical stuff about front end web developing. The instructor put you on the way that you can invest the libraries and the stuff like bootstrap, ajax in good way, and if you need more, you are equipped with TON of sites during this course that you can review. Thank you Yaakov you are amazing, I feel that I can do more with the info that I have learned from you, and I intend to complete with the next course Angular.

by Phillip W R

Feb 25, 2017

I have really enjoyed this course, especially the real-life content in which Yaakov helps an actual restaurant develop a better website. I also really like the focus on the Twitter Bootstrap framework since this is an awesome time save for CSS! Yaakov makes it really easy to follow along, even with complicated issues, and I immensely appreciate his attention to detail when explaining the "why" behind the use of certain tags and classes when using Bootstrap.

by Ed M

Jun 21, 2016

Well developed and fast paced. This course is for intermediate students. Prof. Chaikin has a thorough understanding of how all of the pieces (HTML, CSS, JS, design, photography, and copy editing) work together to create a useful and engaging web site. You will also pick up and learn to use great tools along the way: GitHub, Sublime Text, and BrowserSync among others. The instructor is engaging and gregarious, as keeps in touch with the discussion forums.

by Deleted A

Jun 21, 2016

Very good course! I have tried different coding classes online, to differing degrees of success.

This course had 2 benefits in my eyes:

1) Realistic, yet actual deadlines. Self-paced stuff is great too, but its also good to have a certain time that assignments need to be done.

2) It helps you set up dev environments! Hard to find good walkthroughs of that. This class has walk-throughs in the beginning, but you also do it a few times throughout the course.

by Giuseppe V

Feb 28, 2016

I like this course a lot! Everyone should take it i'm from venezuela and i a almost graduate in computer science! I want to take it because it's always cool remember the basics and the way the professor make this course dynamically and fluid it's awesome! The professor has a great way fluid way to explain everything and he always add some humor to examples or quizzes and that makes it very cool. I can't wait to meet him in the angular course. Thanks you!

by Alrik P

Dec 12, 2016

Excellent introductory course for simple web applications. Covers basic layout for responsive design, javascript coding and structuring of the final project. Everything is explained very well and thus the course feels easy (although if you have never before seen HTML, CSS and/or Javascript, there are plenty of new things to learn) - especially the later assignments for Javascript. I feel at least the last assignment should be somewhat more complicated.

by Martin M

Jan 11, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot and the subjects where explained very well. JS and Ajax are kind of difficult to grasp when you are not a full computer science person, and although some previous knowledge is assumed and fair to be expected, it still would be nice if there could be a bit more of an introduction to them, for the less savvy out there. But overall, great course, easy to follow, with a nice real world example and peer-reviewed assignments.

by Mitchell W

Jul 16, 2016

Very nice teacher, he is responsible, thoughtful, knowledgeable and ready to handle all the questions we posed.

Very nice course! This course provide us a whole view of the HTML,CSS,JavaScript and lots of useful websites and tools, which may help us develop easier and learn with a target.

This is the first course I attend in Coursera, I've spent a lot of time choosing the start, and now I can say this is the one.

Thank you teacher and Johns Hopkins.

by Giorgos F

Dec 19, 2016

Great introductory course, and maybe more. Five weeks are not enough, if you don't have previous experience in programming but the assignments are not hard to be passed. Both books of Jon Duckett, that are proposed by the course, are great and very very helpful. Finally, the tutor is excellent and gives a well structured course. Furthermore, his speech is clear and comprehensible, something that is very helpful for non native English speakers.