Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,492件の評価
401件のレビュー

コースについて

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

人気のレビュー

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

フィルター:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics: 51 - 75 / 395 レビュー

by Li Y

Jun 26, 2017

Good course. Knew tuns of great things about languages and the course really opened my mind, taught me new ways to see the world. I also learnt many ways of learning through that course. To notice the reasons behind issues. To reach the truth through different methods. Etc. Thank you very much for having this course! The professor and guests were so nice!

by Iaroslav R

Nov 07, 2016

This was amazing! Every week there was something interesting and fun to learn and I couldn't stop wondering about that. Thanks to professor Marc van Oostendorp, Martin, Inga and other informants and contributors who made this course so highly informative and well-structured. You gave me a good foundation to continue learning. Please make more courses!

by Antonia

Apr 30, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Although I didn't know anything about linguistics before the course, I was able to keep up with the tasks and videos. Everything was explained very well and with examples which helped a lot.

The topics of the course were very intriguing as well, especially from week 4 on. I can only recommend taking the course.

by Heber H B M

May 26, 2019

¡Buenas tardes! Tomé el curso a manera de repaso de temas que tuve en la universidad en la materia de lingüística y terminó sorprendiéndome con temas que no había tratado antes. Me parece un curso excelente que te ofrece una visión general de las distintas ramas de la lingüística, con videos, ejemplos y ejercicios de reflexión y lectura.

by Daria K

Nov 06, 2016

The course is itself a miracle. The topic has been presented in a very interesting way thanks to the Professor, his motivating way of teaching and his discussions with students. It was a challenge for me, it demanded a lot of own studying but I feel I have learned a lot about the topic and also got a motivation to learn more. Thank you.

by Cecilia C L R

Nov 13, 2017

A wonderful course for those of us who love language and question ourselves about its acquisition, the disciplines that study it and the many factors that can modify it. Professor Marc van Oostendorp explains everything in a clear and simple way and makes one get involved in the course and wants to deepen the study of Linguistics.

by Eve M

Mar 02, 2018

This course is challenging, which is good. I was familiar with some of the material as my educational background is in psychology, but I learned a lot here and want to consolidate what I've learned. I didn't have time to do the peer graded assignments, but I might even retake the course to do so. The video lectures are great.

by Erin R S

Jun 28, 2017

A really excellent intro to linguistics! I found the lectures straightforward and engaging. The assigned readings were really high quality, and they included a nice variety of styles and formats. The quizzes were difficult (maybe sometimes unnecessarily so) but I think this makes enrollees really pay attention to the content.

by Alison S

Jan 02, 2018

Great variety of topics, perfect if you have no background in linguistics. Very impressed with the explanations of theory which were balanced with plenty of relevant examples. Some assignments seemed daunting at first, but the reading material provided was usually enough to pass the quizzes. Thanks for this course!

by firdaus

Mar 31, 2018

In everyday life we don't even think about our privilege in communicating with each other as human beings and what a complex mechanism it is. From finite quantity of words we can build infinite number of meaningful sentences. Isn't that a miracle? The course was very interesting and useful. I am very thankful.

by Arina

Jul 02, 2017

Great course, very interesting. The level is quite high compared to other courses. The quizzes really do test you knowledge very thoroughly. The teacher's enthusiasm is contagious, and the video's with the two students are a nice change of pace from watching just one person talk. All in all an excellent course.

by Alfonso H M

May 20, 2019

I just simply loved this course. The best MOOC I have ever taken. Very well and easily explained with extremely engaging topics.

The only thing I would change would be to lower the percentage pass of the exams. Some of them are very difficult, especially the questions about the informants.

Thank you so much!

by Laura C

Sep 06, 2017

This was my first course on Coursera! Really enjoyable and challenging as well. It reactivated my thirst for knowledge and made me feel like taking more courses. Many thanks to the professors and the students who participated in the videos and helped putting together such a wonderful series of lessons.

by Colleen S

Jul 17, 2017

Highly recommended! This was my first Coursera course and I will never forget it. I took it before taking Linguistics at UMass. It helped me immensely and really got me interested in the subject. Now I am taking a TESOL certification course. To say this course opened doors for me is an understatement.

by Roberta R

Nov 04, 2018

The lectures are extremely easy to follow even for somebody who has never heard of linguistics before. The required readings and suggested bibliography were extremely interesting and will give me something to work on even now that I have completed the course. Thanks for creating this great course!

by Adam F

Jun 15, 2018

I though that the lay out of the course was engaging and interesting. Though, it wasn't easy at the same time and really challenged me to think in a completely different manner to the way that I usually do. Thank you very much for the assistance I needed to find something I want to pursue.

by Yang W

May 17, 2019

Good organization; Detailed analysis; Well-designed assignments and reasonable methodology for teaching, which is easy to follow, made This course an excellent one for beginners in linguistics. Thanks to Professor and All the volunteers' help offered in This course. Great Thanks!

by MIGUEL M

Jan 02, 2019

This Course is a real Miracle. The way is conducted, the material that is assigned could not be better. The inclusion of Native Speakers of different languages, as well as the participation of the Students : Inge and Marten made me feel as one more of them. Thank You very Much

by Nicolás I R

Mar 31, 2020

I really appreciated this course! All the lectures are well presented, and it always makes the students think and argue. And also it provides a great insight about linguistic for the ones who come from other scientific areas, such as Computer Science. I certainly recommend it.

by Sandra M M

May 20, 2019

This is a high quality course, giving you an overall of linguistics. The material is very good and the professor and the assistants are engaging. There is contribution from speakers of diverse languages and dialects and we can put to use the knowledge acquired in the course.

by Anastasiia L

May 23, 2020

The idea of having language informants is brilliant! Was cool to analyze languages, although for example phonology research where we had go figure our about the "gaps" in the table, I did not understand at all how to do it. The rest was clear and understandable. Great job!

by Birgit S

Apr 26, 2020

Very interesting introduction to the subject! Good variation of formats with lectures, discussions, interviews, lab visit. All who participated in the making of this course show their enthusiasm for their work which is very motivating. The course fulfilled my expectations.

by María d J L C V

May 16, 2019

This a real professional course, including at the academic level. It demands a lot of readings but the Instructor's explanations are really clear and easy to understand. There's a lot of linguistic analysis and hands on real practice that you cannot find in other courses.

by Safia J

Apr 14, 2018

I am almost towards the end of this course and honestly, it has been one of the best experience so far. Worth a 6 star!

The professor - sir, you are incredible! Thank you for this wonderful introduction to Linguistics.

I highly recommend this course. It is worth your time.

by Samal A

May 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course considering that it is a free course. Generally, I was pleased with the content and interviews, also additional reading materials are really interesting. Thank you for your hard work. Looking forward to a more advanced course on linguistics.