Chevron Left
An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,142件の評価
920件のレビュー

コースについて

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

人気のレビュー

VL

2017年5月28日

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

CD

2017年7月12日

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

フィルター:

An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1): 26 - 50 / 904 レビュー

by James H

2020年9月7日

Having never had any python experience, I found the course to be accessible, well structured, and I learned quite a bit! The instructors did all did a good job explaining concepts and examples, and while some of the "jokes" physically hurt to hear, it was enjoyable! However, I took mild offence to the slight about Arcane Mages button mashing :)

by Annie G

2022年3月16日

This was the most well-structured, intuitive, and engaging course I've ever taken on Coursera. The assignments were fun, challenging, and explained very well. The subjects were thorough and in-depth, but presented in a way that was quite natural to internalize. The professors and their lectures were a delight.

by Sambath M

2020年9月27日

Hey Guys.

You guys induced me the curiosity to love programming, and without you, I wouldn't be here, continuing the craft I learned from you.

You guys are wonderful teacher, and I hope other student will learn as much as I did with you.

by materia p

2017年5月29日

The best python course i ever had thanks to the teachers therereally awesome, and the classes are very pleasant. if your aout there trying to start with programming, i definitely recommend this course

by Sayan

2020年3月8日

Exceptional course for beginners trying to learn Python. Has projects that actually help reinforce what we learn. I sincerely thank the professors and makers of the course for truly making it work.

by Kacyn R

2018年9月26日

Was actually a very interesting class! I feel most computer programming classes should be structured like this. Learn a hell of a lot more actually programming rather than taking tests and quizzes.

by Nguyen H

2019年4月27日

Each sections has many examples that can help student easy to understand then practice immediately. I'm happy to know a new language and improved my coding knowledge after completing this course

by Jiang Z

2020年1月29日

the only problem is this course uses Python 2 rather than Python 3

by Linnea W

2020年6月7日

The video instructions were good, and structured to cover fundamentals of Python. Minus stars for a) dated material, years old - technology changes fast enough that materials and language versions used should be updated at least once a year b) no availability of instructors to ask questions, "mentors" lack of responsiveness c) new topics presented as quiz questions instead of lectures d) the convenience of using the web based tool CodeSkulptor and the assignment / instruction focus on non-standard libraries such as simplegui DOES NOT outweigh the value of learning to use more standard libraries such as tkinter which is included in the Python distribution e) CodeSkulptor on my Windows 10 laptop through Chrome would not start the debugging mode from my browser coding window, nor would it save locally from there. f) mention of how to convert Python code written with CodeSkulptor libraries exists, but should be more prominently available g) I would have appreciated knowing that proprietary CodeSkulptor libraries would be a big part of the course BEFORE taking the class, as in a disclaimer about what is (CodeSkulptor specific libraries) and is not (standard libraries) covered in the course

by Divik M

2018年5月28日

Good Course(not awesome)

Cons:

Peer graded assignments so your assignment may not be evaluated for long

simplegui library is used which is specific for this course so it would not help you in real applications. Would have appreciated if pygame or any other standard library would have been used

Python Hahahaha this course teaches minimal python not very good if you are interested in learning python.

by George T

2016年9月28日

The course was interesting but I think Coursera is not quite what it used to be. The courses are more expensive (This one was $100). You can't do it free in a practical way, which on principle excludes people. They are simply replays of old videos and people are not inspired to participate in the forums.

by Israel L d V C

2017年5月9日

Good course for someone who already knows how to program on another languages and has some experience. Needs a way to work assignments offline or on a mobile platform.

by Yidnekachew B

2017年4月7日

an online editor is not good

by Aaron H

2018年10月9日

Practical.

by Gary Z

2016年8月9日

Too easy.

by Mengyun Z

2017年8月24日

peer review cause a lot of trouble for me, everytime submit on time, turns out overdue. And none of the mentor or coursera staff want to solve this issue, just ask me to post more and begging for review.

The course itself is fun, but since all the module are already optimize by Rice U Professors, more suitable for people who doesn't know python and want to get start, not very useful for industry purpose.

by Mai F M E

2020年6月11日

the course is not suitable for beginners and it may make them frustrated at the beginning of their journeyto learn programming

by Yuri K

2021年4月11日

Outdated version. Valid principles. Still, study of Python 2 is a sheer loss of time.

Pity.

by robert t

2016年3月25日

huge waste of time, they will give you very little information and what is expected for you to be able to do with that information is astronomical, you will never learn any of the details of how computing works, how functions work, the mechanism behind these computations, or anything. To give you an example, you will first watch a horribly made video on boolean logic, alter going to youtube to get a better explanation of 'And', 'or' , and 'not', you'll see an example done with If, else, and elif, then be asked to do homework problems using and, or, not. This huge gap between the information given, and the information you are expected to know to solve the problems they give you is too large, I found differential equations easier than this

by Andrej D

2016年8月29日

I am very disapointed about this course. This course is more about how programming, then teaching about programming in python. The lecture is too long and information value is very low. In my opinion, this course is for somebody who never programming, it is not depend in which language. If you wont to know how if, for, functions works, what is variable etc, then this is the right place where to learn this basics.

by Stevimir E

2017年10月20日

The course is incorrectly structured. It progresses too quickly into hard projects instead of teaching the fundamentals of Python programming. No wonder why people are cheating and/or looking for quick solutions online, even at the very beginning of the course.

by Chris C

2016年5月8日

Only able to audit the class, no longer able to take quizzes and tests. I recommend the Python classes from Michigan over these if you are looking to avoid paying for old material.

by Vaibhav G

2016年6月26日

not upto the mark.

Not meant for intelligent students

by Harry H

2016年11月9日

joe warren ur better than this

by S. U

2021年1月12日

A five star course, that actually could be even a lot better than it already is.

The instructors are fantastic - enthusiastic, engaging, interesting, clearly motivated and motivating. The lectures are fun - educational without being dry. I appreciate the light humor. Concepts are taught in a generally fun way, although perhaps not quite as rigorously as one would like.

Here are the main issues: much of the course is build on Python 2; while a Python 3 interface is included, it is still jarring - and almost certainly confusing to beginners - to see print statements without () and such. The course needs to be redone in Python 3, particularly since as of 2020 Python2 is officially dead.

Second - and this is true of -all- courses that try to assist beginners by creating a custom interface to do all the work - none of the work can be done outside of the custom interface (CodeSkulptor) without a fair amount of work that would be far beyond a beginner at first (and as noted, CodeSkulptor was built on Python 2). I get the desire to ease the onramp in the beginning, but I think it causes more issues down the road. People that are really motivated to learn want to work in their own IDEs.

I am torn on the peer-reviewed aspect. On the one hand - yes, seeing other code is interesting and educational. On the other hand - how motivated are all students in doing a thorough review? How motivated are people to actually look over other people's code? How educational is it to see code from other -beginners-? The best courses I've taken so far have all had comprehensive, automated programming tasks. I think that's the better way to go.

I think the course needs more 'finger exercises' to really build up muscle memory for key concepts. Each section has lots of excellent 'practice exercises' - have those as automated grading exercises!

Consider breaking up the video into shorter snippets; I think the videos are too long for people learning at home: eight 2-minute videos is better than one 16-minute video.