Chevron Left
IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts に戻る

Google による IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
16,234件の評価

コースについて

This course covers a wide variety of IT security concepts, tools, and best practices. It introduces threats and attacks and the many ways they can show up. We’ll give you some background of encryption algorithms and how they’re used to safeguard data. Then, we’ll dive into the three As of information security: authentication, authorization, and accounting. We’ll also cover network security solutions, ranging from firewalls to Wifi encryption options. The course is rounded out by putting all these elements together into a multi-layered, in-depth security architecture, followed by recommendations on how to integrate a culture of security into your organization or team. At the end of this course, you’ll understand: ● how various encryption algorithms and techniques work as well as their benefits and limitations. ● various authentication systems and types. ● the difference between authentication and authorization. ● how to evaluate potential risks and recommend ways to reduce risk. ● best practices for securing a network. ● how to help others to grasp security concepts and protect themselves....

人気のレビュー

PK

2022年4月9日

Great course for beginners and experts. Easy to understand and a good refresher for those who have been into IT for a long date. Recommend it to everyone looking for a high quality course on coursera.

DS

2018年4月25日

Great course that is full of useful information and presented in an easy to understand way. It's an awesome beginner course that will add to your knowledge and further your knowledge of IT security.

フィルター:

IT Security: Defense against the digital dark arts : 2651 - 2675 / 2,740 レビュー

by Tuoyo A

2021年9月14日

S

by Narendra V

2020年8月15日

h

by Charles J

2019年10月20日

-

by DeVaughn H

2021年3月26日

I appreciate all who tried their best to make this course, but it just didn't work out for me as well as i wanted. I feel like i didn't retain much information, and that a lot of words and topics were thrown at me so quickly. There were virtually no useful or practical things to do to help us learn hands on either. There were also a lot of things that were not explained properly in depth and that are skimmed over. There are even things mentioned in previous lessons or sections that we don't learn about until much later, but is also glossed over a bit. I dont mean to bash the instructors and the other people behind the scenes who put this together, but at a certain point, i honestly just downloaded the text from the videos to teach myself better. Some videos is someone just reading the text with no prompts or diagrams for 7+ minutes, and videos that have prompts are...almost useless to be honest. I appreciate the attempt at diagrams, but they're not really useful to follow along that much. Anyway, there's more to unpack but my fingers hurt lol. There was some good, like i learned a lot of cool stuff, even tho little portions of the information wasn't useful to my graded quizzes. I hope this course works out for any others that wanna try it. its good to get your feet wet in IT.

by Manuel S

2020年5月31日

-Not very well structured; probably you could categorize better the topics of weeks 5 and 6. For example, the steps of incident handling are not very clearly differentiated: I assume they are detection, contention, correction, and testing... but I could also set analysis and recovery as separate steps.

-Some topics include too much in-depth information, like different forms of authentication, making it difficult to discriminate important information and technical details. Also, the way they are presented makes difficult to differentiate which of them are intended for authn., for authz. or for both.

-Final project evaluation was disappointing. I spent several days working and researching just to find out that I could had input "lorem ipsum" in the textbox to get approved. I expected some specific feedback or peer reviews like in other courses.

by Jacob T M

2022年6月25日

I​ loved this course! I feel bad giving three stars because the material was obviously 4 stars/maybe even 5 stars!

W​hat needs work:

H​e is why I did not give it an additional star: The quizes were too lenient. There should be some kind of punishment or drawback to failing too many times, other than having to wait 24 hours to try again. Also, I think a larger question pool that questions for quizes are pulled form would be better so students can't just retake the same quiz and pass it that way.

A​nd maybe remove the step-by-step in the qwiklabs.

W​hat was great:

T​he host and the information presented.

T​he aditional readings.

W​hat would be nice: A list of all the further readins at the end, or maybe even a printable sheet with organization names and their duties and maybe a "cheat sheet" with commonly encountered software/command line tools

by Dylan P

2021年5月6日

I found this course experienced issues similar to the The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course. The content covered is mostly fine. There seems to be a tendency to cover too many concepts at once, then to either gloss over complicated concepts or to focus on them for a significant portion of the module. I found this often meant I was stuck in certain areas.

This was not helped by the quizzes which sometimes have poorly worded questions and ambiguous answers. Even in content I felt confident with, I often had to repeat quizzes due to lack of clarity in the questions and/or answers.

Overall, it is worth completing this course. I found it to be the most frustrating course out of the five IT courses. The content is worth learning and I hope the course can be reviewed to provide a better learning flow.

by rick c

2020年3月11日

I understand that the course only meant to serve as a jumping point but some retrofit is needed in terms of preparation and course work. Some areas are too vague and doesn't allow significant resources other than what is suggested on wikipedia and similar sites. Not alot of people tend to complete readings as a resource considering that they are paying for it each month as well.

Work on improving word assignments. Often times its too vague and doesnt provide enough details or the requirements/limitations. Provide a sample submission or document, this i'm seeing people strugglign with because they still dont understand the concepts laid out by the course.

by Herambh R

2020年3月20日

More animation would be appreciated as it helps in understanding like how the hardware and even software works as just by reading it doesnt help much anyhow i have to google it again to understand it in a better way. And i even think that explanation was not up to the mark as it lagged in the detail explanation it was like he explained things just from the surface like in wep he didnt explain like how eavesdropper is able to watch on communication between access point and user with shared key and in the same topic he didnt explained why we need two same encryption message to recover the shared key

by Eugene E

2020年12月21日

The course content and material was well prepared but I would strongly suggest this in the future delivery of the course. I personally suggest going more in depth of those terminology rather than just briefly explaining them in just 6-10 mins video should help more for an individual with 0% knowledge on IT security. It wasn't so much of challenge to me because of my pervious experience with IT security but newbies would definitely find it hard to follow in the course perfectly. Just my own thoughts.

Thank you

by hidenori n

2020年11月11日

Too much of camera work and the shot of instructors, who is reading the texts. The texts sounded like more in a written-format, which is a little bit hard to understand by listening to the instructor. The visual slide should be presented longer while the instructor is explaining the material. More slides could be utilized to help us understand complicated terms, systems and protocols. Also that way, I think it would be easier for the learners to memorize via visual in addition to the aural discussion.

by Richard H

2019年11月29日

Overall this is a decent overview of security topics. I think the videos could be improved - there are too many 'talking heads' and not enough diagrammatic explanation. Also, the transcripts vary in places from what the speaker is saying - I suspect they are being created automatically.

I had no problems with the online labs, although I think that some instructions might cause learners difficulty whose first language is not English.

by Cory P

2021年11月24日

I feel like there is still a lot more to learn. This course covers a little bit of everything but not very in depth. I believe I will continue to get my CompTia certs, as those are a lot more in depth. This course felt like a good preview of what a career in IT is all about, however I do not feel confident enough in my knowledge yet to begin a career.

by palesa j m

2021年5月15日

I was looking forward to this course yet it was very disappointing that the instructor's delivery of the course was from a textbook. very hard to understand the content delivered unlike the previous courses in this certificate, not enough practical exercises as well, and feeling like i need to find and do another security course elsewhere

by Mareo J

2020年6月29日

Even though it shared a lot of information I believe that it needs to be updated with current and more relevant material. The instructor read off a lot of information that was given to him obviously but it needs to be a little better. I hate to say that I actually lost interest half way through the course.

by Gabriele G

2019年3月3日

Technical details on encryption algorithms and cypher methods to secure a network/IT infrastructure; Antivirus/malware detection and prevention; Disk encryption and growing a security-oriented company culture; All these aspects are interesting and useful to know from the Tech support role POV;

by Matthew C

2019年8月26日

you really should use more animations in order to convey an abstract or conceptual point. when looking up the different types of encryption on wikipedia, they do a better job demonstrating it. where as, you guys do a better job of explaining the encryption process.

by Avril C

2021年5月23日

It's a good course, but not very comprehensive; they lay a lot of terms on you one right after the other and barely explain each one. Learning material is subpar at best as well; visuals are few and far between and many aren't properly marked or explained.

by Aglaia F

2019年5月15日

I was expecting a little more in depth coverage of the topics with labs to go with them. I think this course should be split in two and maybe earlier courses like the first and second course could be coalesced into one since they contain less material.

by Eduardo J G G

2022年4月20日

Sadly I did not enjoy the last module of this Certificate.Even thought all the information was important and interesting,the examples were lacking and the introduction to the knowleadge learnt in a real-life situation were barely there.

by Toni N

2021年5月23日

Enjoyed the clear presentation on the subjects. Did not care for the jumping back and forth from windows to linux. Felt that a more linear approach would be better for new learners. Also it does seem that the labs need to be updated

by Amer K S

2020年6月13日

This course was completely different than its predecessors in terms of mode of delivery. A lot of narrative descriptions, lots and lots of boring definitions and less practicality i.e.: supplemental reading in the form of videos.

by Jan S

2019年9月23日

This course would greatly benefit if more practical exercises were included. The theoretical background was broad and well presented, but the shortage of actual exercises made it too transitory

by Ilias P

2019年3月14日

It's a great course! The only thing that isn't so good for me is the final project. You'll have to wait for someone (another student) to view and grade your project. And this takes some days!

by Abdullah J

2020年10月22日

The Course is amazing but lacks a lot of visual presentation and too much data to process without any supplemental material that visualizes the process sometimes.

Otherwise good course