Chevron Left
Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,018件の評価
623件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

人気のレビュー

RD

2020年7月31日

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

2021年2月6日

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

フィルター:

Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies: 526 - 550 / 612 レビュー

by Lizelle L

2020年7月20日

I found weeks 3 - 4 particularly interesting. I did feel that the lectures might be more engaging if the lecturer spoke in a less monotonous tone & maybe moved around & spoke with his hands, but I found him to be sincere in his enjoyment of the films. The content was factual and enriching.

by Anne-Marie C A

2018年1月5日

The Instructor is just magnificently brilliant! I love him , I loved the Course. I give four stars because it didn't meet my very inner expectation on very much stressing on how to overall extensively improve memory by giving many practical tips(though the topic was covered at some point).

by Sana S

2021年8月20日

This course was really, very informative and interesting. It was fun and indulging to learn with the Professor. I definitely recommend this course to people who are movie fans and also have a liking towards learning about the intricate workings of their memory. Thank you for this course.

by Sukriti S

2020年6月2日

It was a beautiful course. As a student of psychology, memory has always been a complex topic. The course made it easier to remember these concepts. Additionally, having watched only a few of the films mentioned in the course, I have added for myself a great list of films to watch.

by Tam F

2020年2月8日

This was an interesting course and the movie clips were a fun way to help us understand the concepts we were talking about. It's not super in-depth, but I didn't expect it to be. The concepts are simple and the lessons build upon each other, helping cement what you learn.

by Raquel H

2016年6月8日

I haven't finished the course yet, so far so good!

I would love to see more variety of films from other countries too.

I'm convinced this course will evolve as further research on memory

continues making the huge 'memory and aging' issue much more accesible.

Thank you!

by Cecile D

2016年7月10日

I thought it was an excellent class for discovering how our memory works. Thanks to the movie examples it provided great insights into our brains, and importantly the professor was there to explain the differences between fiction and actual scientific knowledge !

by laura h

2020年7月5日

Graduates as an anthropologist with a profound interest in the workings of social memory, I found this course to be interesting from a different perspective. Perfect for those who have an interest in the basics of memory through the cinematic eye.

by carlos h b

2017年4月9日

Muy buen curso, se ilustra de manera amplia y concreta lo relacionado con la memoria. Además, la metodología de asociarlo con el cine tiene efectos benéficos como los de mantener los recuerdos muy activos. Muchas gracias.

by Lucy D

2019年1月3日

I liked the content though felt the delivery lacked diversity when there were many opportunities to learn things by trying them out - the couple of exercises designed for this were really great - they could be many more.

by Michele R

2016年4月15日

I really enjoyed this class - it gave me some insight to how the mind works. The lectures were easy to understand, no full of jargon, and the quizzes helped clarify what I needed to focus on

by Gjoans

2016年6月12日

It's a very good course discovering the function of memory and how we maintain good memory, while principle and mechanism of memory's formation did not be revealed were the leaving regrets.

by Ellen W

2016年5月5日

Interesting course. I liked that each session was short so I could fit them into breaks in my day. I also liked that the professor used movies to demonstrate concepts he was discussing.

by Diana B F (

2017年2月10日

I wonderful foundation course with the splendid added filmography. Great combination that explains false myths behind memory lapses, episodes of forgetfulness and concussion.

by Narayan M

2017年6月6日

INTERESTING CORRELATION INDEED OF HOW NUANCES OF MEMORY CAN BE BETTER COMPREHENDED BY MOVIES. ACTUALLY ENHANCES THE ENTERTAINMENT VALUE OF THE MOVIE BESIDES THE INSIGHT

by Michael A

2018年7月14日

It was a very interesting way to describe human memory, but I'm not giving it 5 stars because I feel it could have contained more scientific information.

by Juan E

2020年2月22日

Muy claro y práctico. Las imagenes y guiones de las películas ayudan a fijar mucho mas los conceptos. Felicitaciones. Altamente recomendable.

by Stacy K

2016年5月15日

Great content and movies. Would have been even better if the professor spoke a little more loudly and perhaps there were guest experts.

by Gayathri G

2017年8月12日

This course was really interesting since it incorporated the fun of watching movies along with understanding the psychology of mind.

by Raya D

2020年11月28日

It was a light course on how memory functions, which helped me structure my knowledge and encompass new information in that field.

by Vivian L

2017年11月25日

Interesting and easy to learn. I like the setting by coursera that I can watch the video and do the quiz whenever in my free time.

by Cesar O

2016年6月13日

Si amas el maravilloso mundo del cine y también la psicología, entonces este curso es para tí. Ampliamente recomendable.

by Juan D S M

2017年1月6日

Es un curso realmente agradable para aquellos que se interesan por la condición humana y se apasionan por el cine !!!

by nelly a

2016年7月10日

Very interesting and amuzing way of learning about something so important as memory is. I have enjoyed every lesson.

by Haydee A

2018年12月9日

It was a very interesting course. Thank you! I am also reading the book. I highly recommend it!

Thank you!!!!