Chevron Left
Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,014件の評価
622件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

人気のレビュー

RD

2020年7月31日

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

2021年2月6日

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

フィルター:

Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies: 576 - 600 / 611 レビュー

by elisa G d R

2016年9月17日

Was very Interesting! I learned a lot!! Tks

by Janette V C

2018年10月24日

Muy buen curso sobre temas de psicología

by Taska H

2022年3月14日

Loved it would do it again.Great course

by Britta G

2016年7月6日

Very interesting in an entertaining way

by Caroline B

2017年9月1日

Very interesting and easy to follow !

by Aleksandro d S S

2020年2月23日

Very interesting and useful course.

by BK L

2021年9月16日

Good! Great learning course

by Ivan

2017年10月31日

Fun and informative course.

by Eckstein B M

2017年8月7日

this subject is interesting

by Shirley K

2020年7月7日

fun course glad I took it

by George L

2016年7月19日

Great movie selection.

by Marc M

2018年2月15日

Very interesting !

by Chan J T

2017年5月28日

Great Course!

by Nanditha G

2021年12月28日

it was nice

by Djana R

2018年6月1日

Good course

by merit s

2016年10月10日

Interesting

by Angie T S

2017年6月29日

Gracias

by 김명자

2018年1月20日

I

by Safwa A

2017年10月3日

i

by Liz A

2020年10月10日

The course is good - even excellent but it's difficult to compare it with other courses I've been on that are substantial, detailed and provide a way into the . It's nice and basic. Only one book is used as reference material (which you'd have to buy, and it's written by the lecturer himself), no links to research papers, self tests, or anything at all outside the course , no suggested reading lists. All the testing is done through basic quizzes - (but they're good!) no essays, self-reflection assignments, no check your knowledge embedded in the videos. I found it very interesting. Technically - videos are in nice chunk-lengths, (short and focussed) but the sound is a bit faulty: some hiss, and low volume-level , - which is more obvious as the lecturer is softly spoken. He is easy to listen to however, though. Occasionally audio and video are not together. The music used to start each video sounds like an off the shelf jingle.

by Helen F

2016年5月5日

I appreciate the effort that went into making this course as well as obtaining the film clips. Having said that, if you want to go deeper into the psychology of memory this course is probably not for you. As I progressed through the weeks, I found myself becoming less and less interested since I already know the basics of memory and psychology. I felt I wasn't learning anything new but the clips of films allowed me to see the films in a new light. Maybe if I had bought the book that goes along with the course, i would have gained more insight but as a standalone course, it rates just three stars.

by David D

2016年9月26日

I liked this course for the wide range of movie excerpts which underscored a memory malfunction. The scenes were often emotional, quite surprising such a short moment could be so charged.

However the main emphasis of this memory module was to explore malfunctioning memory, to the side of pathology. This was done professionally without a doubt. However this was not what I personally was looking for although one learns about dementia, alzheimer, etc, which is interesting as they will affect most of us in someway or another.

by Jorge R

2021年7月29日

Pros: The concept and the structure of the course are great. I feel psychology+cinema is a perfect combination. Plus Dr. John Seamon is a very agreeable and knowledgeable psychologist. You will want to meet him from the very first lecture. /// Cons: The course is too easy/superficial. It does not contain, in my opinion, challenging information or content that can be applied in our profession. Because of that, I truly enjoyed the course as a leisure activity but in any case would I pay 40$ for a diploma.

by Paripsa P

2020年4月26日

While some of the material was insightful in the sense that it helped explain important concepts of memory through movies, I felt like certain movies as case studies could have easily been skipped; movies like 50 First Dates did not really teach us anything significant about memory other than the fact that it was an incorrect depiction of memory loss. Cutting down on some such lectures would have made the course more concise and enjoyable.

by Mary K S

2020年8月14日

Frustrating not to be able to go back and see what incorrect answer was. Some questions not very substantive. Not doing this for the grade, just to learn.

Otherwise, fine.