Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,223件の評価
339件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG
2017年7月16日

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK
2017年11月17日

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 151 - 175 / 334 レビュー

by callum s

2020年8月14日

Builds from initial concepts and history to explain how money and finance work at a global level today.

by Edi P

2020年8月7日

Well explained, I like the "balance sheet" approach to explaining various topics covered in the course

by Alan F

2019年5月3日

So far just extremely insightful, inspiring and life-changing. Plus well-organized and well-explained.

by Sebastian A H

2019年9月9日

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

by de f h

2018年8月10日

The best course I've ever had. When will Prof. Mehrling's History of Economic Thought be broadcasted?

by Aarav M

2021年2月23日

Excellent has lead me to understand the markets and systems in an intuitive and professional manner.

by Cheng Z

2020年5月31日

Best money and banking course ever from someone working in the industry for years after granudation

by advet g

2020年11月22日

my experience was so good . i suggest you everyone , please join this course for successful future

by Jeremy A

2019年4月28日

Excellent course! Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding the financial crisis.

by Jagannathan I

2018年6月21日

Amazing course to learn more about the nitty gritty of money markets that keep the world running!

by Luc M

2017年10月12日

This is one of the most favourite course I have ever come across in Coursera. Highly recommend!!!

by Zongxi Y

2017年5月19日

This course is really useful and help me know more about the relationship between Money and Banks

by Roussille A

2017年5月6日

Great course !! Very interesting and the teacher is great. The understanding is quick and simple.

by Matheus C

2020年6月21日

Ótimo curso para pessoas que estão buscando aprimorar seus conhecimentos em economia mundial.

by antonio b

2020年6月3日

Amazing Course on finance! It should be available to all graduate student in all disciplines!

by Cristian E E N

2020年2月11日

Very good course and excellent teacher! You can see his passion for the subjects he teaches.

by Shahab M

2019年1月23日

Exceptional. Really fascinating course for a regular person to understand money and banking.

by Jesus P S

2020年5月1日

Impresionante el curso, la mejor formación sobre el negocio bancario que he podido tener.

by Joviano C d P J

2019年12月23日

This is a very good course, with a whole perspective about how the banking system works.

by John B

2021年5月12日

Fantastic. Excellent teacher, I learned a lot. Thanks for putting this course together.

by MUSLIUDEEN T A

2020年5月16日

It is an eye opener for me essentially as regards how banking system works in our world

by Rene F

2019年12月8日

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

by Gustavo G

2018年10月29日

Es excelente. Por su teoría, por su fundamentación y por la metodología de enseñanza.

by Ruperto U

2021年3月18日

Really interesting topic and very well explained by Prof. Mehrling. Congratulations

by Panchio R

2019年4月4日

Such great and complete course. Professor extremely professional and knowledgeable.