Chevron Left
Economics of Money and Banking に戻る

コロンビア大学(Columbia University) による Economics of Money and Banking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
735件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

人気のレビュー

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

フィルター:

Economics of Money and Banking: 151 - 175 / 176 レビュー

by Sebastian A H

Sep 09, 2019

This course gives a very broad framework of banking with a clear explanation of how the system works.

by JOSHUA R

Apr 30, 2019

Wonderful & insightful take as to how the world works

by Rufat H

Oct 19, 2019

It worth time spent watching it, learning and studying.

by Matas J

Oct 02, 2019

Excellent course! Great lecturer!

by Ryan C

Oct 22, 2019

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

by AP S

Oct 05, 2019

A brilliant course for those interested in an in depth understanding of how the money markets work. Professor Mehrling is amazing at what he does! You don't need to have an economics background to appreciate the course (and you will be glad if you don't as the course opens your eyes to how inadequate academic economics is in understanding the real world today). Highly recommend. Accompanied by great readings and course material as well.

by Giorgio G

Oct 13, 2019

Fantastic content, it explains how banks work behind the scenes and many intricacies of the current financial system. Super suggested even to those who don't have a financial background.

by Lilit

Nov 04, 2019

Amazing professor and amazing class!

by Cristian M S

Nov 04, 2019

Excelent course and the professor is the best.

by Andras I

Nov 08, 2019

Challenging for someone like me with no economics background (other than the obligatory classes at university 20 years ago) but it's a well of knowledge and cleanly, conscisely presented. Only issue is at times feels a bit repetitive (even considering that the educator is trying to point out similarities in structure at different levels of the hierarchy) and a bit hard to keep the final point of the lecture in mind while going through some details. But overall learned a lot and had a good time studying!

by Rene F

Dec 08, 2019

A staple for those that want to understand the current mechanics of money and banking

by soto h

Nov 06, 2018

It was awsome to know and learn economics from the different point of view from a view which I'm learning in Japan

by Oludamilare A

Nov 22, 2018

Very Insightful and extremely intense.

by Lam Y C

Jul 02, 2018

Good

by Biagio B

Jul 16, 2017

Overall I really liked the course. Many real world examples are provided, the course covers all topics mentioned during the examples and it gives you insight in many world's banking mechanism. Negative aspects: too long, some chapter can be cut off, you need a minimum background in economics to fully enjoy the course.

by Richard K

Oct 26, 2017

very informative.

by Santiago C

Jan 18, 2017

mmmmm

by Ryan K

Apr 28, 2018

Excellent Course.

Well crafted syllabus and text that builds on material and continual ties ideas together.

Stay Liquid and Survive!

Negatives:

Dated materials, article links that do not work, some of the video editing. Quizes are not really benficiall to learning

by Julian H F

Feb 24, 2017

Very good course, teacher is great and content is very insightful.

On the less good side, students should not expect all concepts to be clarified from the beginning, so a good deal of research has to be self made.

by Miguel P

May 28, 2018

Excellent data and explanations

by umwoosung

Jan 10, 2017

I can get the useful knowledge on origin of Fed and other basic source about American finace.

So I want to deeply recommend this course to all of you. Thanks

by Atul J G

Dec 04, 2016

Excellent course

by Arti K

Jun 28, 2017

A very structured course and content. Interesting teaching methods made it easy to grasp.

by Поморина М А

Oct 28, 2019

The course content is very interesting and provides a broad view of the history of the development of the theory of money and banking.

However, tests are not always correct. The choice of answer is often ambiguous. We need slides that briefly present the essence of the problems under consideration.

by Hector N

Jun 05, 2017

Very interesting perspective on money and banking and the link between the two. A few suggestions for improvement: (a) make real e-lectures, not just take-outs from lectures, (b) provide a textbook (the lecture notes are mediocre), and (c) clarify what the course structure is.