Chevron Left
Moral Foundations of Politics に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Moral Foundations of Politics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
3,334件の評価
669件のレビュー

コースについて

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

人気のレビュー

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

フィルター:

Moral Foundations of Politics : 151 - 175 / 665 レビュー

by Ana L L

Jun 03, 2019

Excellent course, a great opportunity to learn about the main political theories and to reflect upon current political systems and practices in regards to their legitimacy. I recommend it

by Gabriella F

Mar 18, 2019

This is such an interesting and useful course! It presents many possible paths to explore political philosophy and increase knowledge in the field. I am glad I had the chance to take it.

by Zhaolin L

Apr 04, 2016

Absolutely brilliant course and Prof. Shapiro really helps me understand important aspects of politics, morality and influential ideologies from first principles. Thanks from Australia!

by Armando B M

Nov 14, 2019

The course offers a very significant view of the foundations of politics since early enlightenment. Precious knowledge. Thanks to the teacher Ian Shapiro and all that made it possible.

by Andrew G

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. Put a lot of areas I have read about in context for me and linked them together. Would really enjoy other MOOCs by Prof. Shapiro

by DHANANJAY K T

Aug 29, 2020

I would like to give thanks to Prof. Shapiro sir for designing such an excellent course. It will be a good lesson while learning about the politics.

Warm regards,

Dhananjay kumar Tiwari

by Shree N

Jun 17, 2020

This Course is very useful for Political Science students as it gives overview of the contemporary politics,deep thinking of different traditions and what makes government legitimate.

by Zhao Y

Apr 24, 2020

Extremely insightful course. I like the modules about Rawls and Nozick. The last module about democracy a bit of hasty. I hope the Professor will make another course about democracy.

by J. Q A

Oct 13, 2019

Awesome course! If you want to know more about the ethical and political theories that underlie politics, this is the course for you. I can't say enough good things about this course.

by Charuta G

May 30, 2020

It's been highly educational, more so because I'm a history student. Studying these traditions provided a philosophical and theoretical backbone to a lot of my education in history.

by Sanja J

Nov 27, 2018

It is an excellent course. I personally recommend it for those who want to get an essential view on the topic. An interactive course, which for me is indispensable when e-learning.

by Karina L

May 16, 2020

Professor Shapiro is the teacher you've always dreamed of, that is capable to make every concept understandable and makes you to want keep studyng to understand better the world.

by Andres C E

Oct 17, 2016

Great course, some weeks are loaded with lots of material so can be hard to keep proper track.

Prof. Shapiro 's lectures are clear and easy to understand.

I recommend this course.

by Vianis J F R

May 31, 2020

I loved the course and I am very satisfied because I understood the perspectives of theoretical thinkers and their evolution in the moral of politics until today. Thank you!!!!

by Nguyen H P U

Sep 16, 2020

The readings and lectures were so informative and the professor is able to explain difficult concepts in such simple terms that it made the course very digestible. Thank you!

by Aakash C

Mar 12, 2016

It is a pleasure to see the way Prof. Shapiro connect the different ideas in this course. And the best part is you can apply these ideas to understand the world around you.

by Pajtim

Nov 29, 2015

This course was extraordinary well presented. It dealt with important theories and political philosophers and helped me a lot in deepening my overall understanding of them.

by Mauro F

Aug 30, 2015

Truly an honor to be taught by professor Shapiro, who, with a very precise methodology, was able to pass through major political theories of modern era. Highly recommended!

by James R B

Jul 27, 2019

Professor Shapiro posed some very challenging questions during his lectures. He knows his material extremely well. I liked the course structure and learned a great deal.

by Voldy I W Z

Jul 29, 2020

Interesante, aprendí y descubrí muchas maneras de pensar de la teoría y de la filosofía política, expandiendo mis conocimientos que tenia hasta ahora, muy gratificante.

by Shaka A O

Jul 14, 2020

THIS COURSE GAVE ME A LOT OF ENLIGHTMENT ON THE MORAL ASPECT OF POLITICS. I DEEPLY APPRECIATE THE RANGE OF ARGUMENTS FOR AND AGAINST IDEAS IN THIS COURSE.

THANK YOU.

by Jairo G P

Mar 03, 2019

O professor é incrível. Suas explicações são claras e sua críticas são acertadíssimas. Parabéns Yale e Coursera, por nos proporcionar esse curso maravilhoso. Adorando!

by Gregor I

Aug 31, 2020

Great course! For all people interested in the intersection of economics, politics and philosophy, enjoy Prof. Shapiro's impressive knowledge and clearity of thought.

by Eliane G

Nov 06, 2019

I just started this class. It is absolutely excellent! Thank you, all, for making this class available. Above all, thank you, professor Shapiro. Excellent course!