Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,325件の評価

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

AN

2021年5月22日

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB

2020年7月25日

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 276 - 300 / 582 レビュー

by Stanislaus G

2017年4月3日

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

by Joan S P

2018年2月19日

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

by Brittany T

2017年12月27日

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

by Jacopo

2019年5月1日

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

by James S

2017年6月12日

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

by Danielle L D

2020年7月18日

it was awesome taking this class waiting for certificate. I received the Certificate this morning I learned a lot from the class .

by Marion T

2017年8月9日

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

by Lisa M H

2017年5月22日

Enjoyable course. Postwar Abstraction is fascinating and this course does a great job presenting these artists in an exciting way.

by Paul

2020年8月17日

The studio art section was a lot of fun, I would advise you try to do a least some of the exercises and for sure watch the videos

by Raquel V

2019年8月11日

It is a thoughtful approach to post-war Abtract Expressionism, perfect balance between theory and practice. Thank you very much!

by Hal S

2020年5月22日

Excellent course! I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. It was laid out well and always kept my interest. Highly recommended.

by Carla P A

2020年5月25日

molto interessante e stimolante ringrazio tutti gli insegnanti e il moma per aver reso possibile questo percorso

carla pistola

by Emilio M

2017年12月20日

This is a very interesting course! I made and painted my first canvas with acrilic, I'm very happy about all this experience.

by Alessandra G B

2020年5月28日

Es un muy buen curso, que te ayuda a darte cuenta de la historia detrás de muchas pinturas así como las técnicas utilizadas.

by Manuel C V X

2020年4月27日

Excellent course, congratulations to all: members of staff and colleagues.

Hope to see you in another course from COURSERA.

by Alberto A E

2017年5月18日

Wonderful Course. I have been recomending it to all may artist friends. It will certainly have an effect in my own practice.

by Karla N

2021年5月18日

I enjoyed the cours very much and the fact that it’s ”in the studio” was a fantástica plus! Mr D’Augustine was wonderful!

by Hitomi K

2019年4月1日

This course was very meaningful to me. If you are interested in American modern art, I highly recommend taking this course.

by Enrico D C

2020年6月6日

Very accurate and professional course, I learned a lot of things and loved and concept I never thought I would. Excellent!

by Emma M

2020年7月28日

Amazing! I really really enjoyed it and learned a ton! I would definitely recommend this course to family and friends! :D

by Valerio V

2020年4月29日

Awesome course on Abstract Painting and Arts in General. I was able to learn much from our instructor Corey D'Augustine.

by Monsi R

2021年9月9日

I​ found this course amazing, it was a complete surprise wth the paintng exercise, whis could make it again. Thank you

by Anell S A

2021年4月8日

Excellent course! , it helped me to learn more about abstract art artists. I hope they do a course on contemporary art.

by Angelica S

2018年4月2日

A great experience to have taken this course. Knowing and applying the techniques of these seven artists was enriching.

by Andrew R

2017年5月22日

Loved the demonstrations of how the painters featured may have approached/undertaken/achieved their individual results.