Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
618件の評価
253件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 26 - 50 / 247 レビュー

by sylvia

Oct 06, 2018

This course bas been very effective for my study on abstractionism. Also learning the technique each abstractionist used to express their ideation is a bonus. I always read about few of these techniques but never in form of visual demonstration. Thanks to the instructor and his dynamic way of explaining the philosophy and meaning of each major artwork increase my engagement and curiosity to go searching for even more

by prithipal s s

Oct 23, 2018

its a great course for knowing the masters and understanding their path breaking innovations in abstract art

by Jillian L L

Nov 02, 2018

I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to other MoMA courses in Art History in the future.

by Hilary L

Nov 02, 2018

I loved this course. Full of content, knowledge and invaluable technical insight, it has helped broaden my perspective of this era immensely, whilst positively contributing to my own artistic and creative journey. Thank you MOMA and to Corey, who really does a fantastic job.

by Bill P

Aug 29, 2018

An amazingly in depth course. I learned far more than anticipated.

by Luiza K S S

Aug 29, 2018

I enjoyed very much the course. Specially the studio exercise.

by Jane C

Aug 17, 2018

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

by Marina L

Jul 15, 2018

There is the best course , I have ever had here , on Coursera.Curator is extremely professional . It was a brilliant idea to show us how these artists worked. No doubt that they owned the artistry of painting than artist of Renaissance or impressionists . In additional there are a lot of comments by MOMMA experts

by Debbie G

Jul 17, 2018

Excellent!! I really learned a lot.

When the next one???? ;)

by Arthur D W

Feb 26, 2018

This course will inform you about painting techniques (trust me, it isn't as simple as it looks!) and improve your ability to think and write critically and concisely about art (it's also fun!).

by Pamela J R

May 15, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have done. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates art. I will never look at the work of these artists in the same way again, this course has certainly opened up my eyes!

by Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Loved it. Well presented with valuable exercises. I learned a lot and look forward to more.

by Renato S

Aug 17, 2017

just started this course, i think is phenomenal, helsp with techniques and theory

by Ivona F

Nov 07, 2017

It's an amazing course with the teacher who is experienced and cool!

by Анна А

May 21, 2017

Thanks for the very interesting and informative course!

by Roman B

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent course. Very unusual approach of the course presenter showing how the artist actually created their paintings clearly made me to remember the names, styles and techniques. I hope MOMA would introduce similar courses about other remarkable art

by Andrea S

Jun 18, 2017

I loved the course! Corey D'Augustine is an excellent teacher and the course material is very informative.

by Andrea d V

Jun 22, 2017

Excellent course!!

by Karen A

Jan 31, 2018

With the completion of this course I had to have a lot of concentration for the readings, to take care of the deadlines, persistence to move on until the end, I developed my reading and writing in English that is not my original language. All this besides the specificities of the course properly on post war painting. The course is very complete, on theory and practice, with great visual presentation for the texts for the videos of the classes and links. It was a great experience that I highly recommend

by Anna M O

Jun 17, 2017

Fantastic experience..emotions, technique, history of art.. a dream that came true. Thank you from Italy

by Eva J R

Apr 24, 2017

great!!

by iliana i c n

May 28, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto la forma del instructor de enseñar los gestos que realza el artista al pintar, como mezcla su paleta de color los materiales, la información sobre sus obras y la biografía de los artistas muy completa, la plataforma del curso fácil de seguir mi dificultad es que mi ingles no es muy bueno y me ocupo un mundo de tiempo tratando de traducir muchísimas palabras y ponerlas en el contexto.

by Nora A

Feb 27, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I was only familiar with one artist, Jackson Pollack. came to admire all the artists, as they faced various "life" challenges, and put their energy, pain, and souls into their paintings They overcame so mucThe course was very informative and helped me learn about various painting techniques,

by Martin H

Oct 11, 2017

This is a fun and informative course, especially if you participate in the studio exercises

by Angelica S

Apr 02, 2018

A great experience to have taken this course. Knowing and applying the techniques of these seven artists was enriching.