Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,248件の評価
281件のレビュー

コースについて

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

人気のレビュー

CG

2020年2月10日

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

2020年6月24日

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

フィルター:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences: 226 - 250 / 281 レビュー

by Rahul K

2018年4月4日

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

by A K

2016年12月13日

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

by Daniela C L K M

2020年7月24日

Maybe I was hoping for more philosophy and a little less science. But it was great to learn and think about applied sciences using cognitive sciences too.

by Anastasia B

2020年8月10日

A good course. Very interesting but it is rather on the surface and doesn't really go in depth explaining the evolution of cognitive sciences

by James D R

2019年3月18日

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

by Jesse

2020年7月6日

This is a relatively basic introductory program. Some interesting ideas had been introduced yet not been developed deeply.

by THOMAS W F

2022年4月11日

This was an excellent introduction to cognition, how we perceive it, seek to understand it, and strive to replicate it.

by Mohamed A

2017年4月4日

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

by Jay K

2020年5月13日

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

by Robert L

2017年9月8日

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

by Magdalena M

2020年5月30日

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

by Manolis P

2016年11月28日

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

by Karin F

2017年3月22日

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

by Israel Á P J

2020年8月13日

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

by Helene L E

2021年1月6日

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

by Amita F

2022年5月14日

T​hat is a great class that talks about the basic of philosophy of cognitive sciences.

by Yan L

2019年5月6日

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

by Ignacio J B P

2019年8月12日

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

by Marie F

2018年8月20日

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

by Troy

2019年5月1日

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

by Srikanth G

2019年2月14日

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

by Jonathan G

2018年2月13日

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

by Sidney C

2017年6月21日

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

by Daniel G

2021年1月15日

I was expecting a bit more of Philosophy of research methods

by Carola S

2020年7月25日

Very interesting course and could have been longer.