Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,620件の評価
476件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS

2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 451 - 475 / 476 レビュー

by Sandra P M M

2018年1月13日

The videos are quite interesting, but the final test is a bit confusing.

by Ananya K

2017年6月14日

A very good course.. Really enjoyed it. Teaching was the best. Loved it

by Amusan M K

2017年12月31日

Very interesting introduction into the world of plants. Amazing!!!

by CLEMENT-COTTUZ

2016年11月21日

Les questionnaires sont un peu piégeux. Le cours est pas mal.

by Francine

2017年3月24日

Very interesting subject matter, presented very well

by Mark

2016年11月1日

Very informative--IMPOSSIBLY HARD FINAL EXAM though.

by FAGE D

2017年1月16日

Very interesting course and enthusiastic professor

by Eduardo E D

2018年10月16日

Learning a lot. I am very excited

by CRISTIAN D A O

2018年1月21日

Excellent didactics and material.

by Paul K

2016年11月13日

very unique method of teaching

by Gil K

2018年1月12日

מעניין, מחדש, פוקח עיניים.

by Laura M

2020年6月5日

Ive enjoyed very much

by gowtham K

2018年4月19日

good course.........

by Apurva B

2018年9月2日

Interesting course

by Ayoubpp

2017年8月26日

Very nice course

by Alex L

2017年7月20日

very difficult

by Wang X

2022年5月12日

very helpful

by Jim D

2022年3月9日

I​'m just a retired backyard gardener that wanted to know more about plants. However, I should have done a little more research before committing myself to this course. I didn't realize it would be at the cellular level and was totally unprepared for that. Most of what was taught I'll never use in the real world, but I still found the information fascinating. The biggest take-a-way I got from this course was it completely reinforced my belief in God and that it takes more faith to believe in the evolution theory than it does to believe in creationism. All the inner workings and complexity of plants at the cellular level just showed me more and more that the theory of evolution is nothing but an agenda pushed by spiritually blind "educators" that refuse to believe in a Creator. I'm sure that wasn't the professors intentions, but that was the greatest thing I got from this course and so I must thank him for settling that issue for me. Plants are truly amazing inside and out and to say it all happened by chance is complete nonsense. So thanks again for enlightening me and for solidifying the fact that a Creator was indeed involved in creating plants.

by Valery J S

2020年7月8日

Professor is interesting but I just don't get it. Algebra is much easier. No wonder I do not have a green thumb.

by Pat B

2022年2月10日

If this had been my first Coursera course rather than my 18th it would have been my last. The material delivered was very interesting and the instructor appeared to be very knowledgeable but the structure left much to be desired. There were issues with the links to materials that were tested on beyond the course videos. The quizzes were less a test of knowledge than a test of patience, there were so many multiple answer questions without the note that there were multiple answers. Eventually you figure out that you need to click a couple of boxes to discover the need for the extras. The lack of feedback other than correct or wrong is very discouraging.

by Patricia M

2022年5月11日

Great lectures, but review tests are poorly written and you find quizes ahead of the actual material.

by Kim B

2022年1月28日

I was initially excited to take this course. The quiz format on multiple modules quickly tired me to pursuing the course. I found that the questions with multiple options to include very frustrating because if one portion of checking all that applied was incorrect then the answer would be wrong. This lead to attempts to correct and and resubmit only to find that I was not reading the question correctly, would remove one of the options I had chosen or I would try to change the answer and still get the question wrong. I tried to go directly to the quiz and write down the questions and potential answers and have this beside me as the videos were listened to. This strategy did not work for me. A very frustrating experience overall. I could see through emails that there was interest and many new participants. I was very interested but do not want to pursue investing the time in this course any longer.

by Jerri. M L

2020年12月14日

I was stuck on 2nd week. Took the test a number of times. I used all the answers each time that were provided. And still the response was wrong with the choices given.

I took notes to refer to and still i was not successful.

by Shrihari N

2021年2月24日

It is an amazing course in which I learned a lot. But I still give the one star because the final quiz is extremely difficult, and has many issues that are not being addressed.

by Isabelle M

2021年11月5日

I liked the information given in this course. The professor really pushed his ideas which was very annoying. The exams are terrible, badly worded, with many typos.