Chevron Left
Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
866件の評価
260件のレビュー

コースについて

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

人気のレビュー

RW

Dec 28, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

HW

Jun 25, 2018

Claire you did an AMAZING job having me listen and absorb all about statistics, every class again.. I had never expected I could be so attached to a statistics class. Thank you very much.

フィルター:

Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods: 26 - 50 / 257 レビュー

by Marie G G

Sep 06, 2020

Many thanks to all of you. I was able to get financial assistance for this course. I am applying the concepts that I have learned both in teaching and in counseling. Thank you for supporting students coming from developing countries. Words cannot measure our deep appreciation for your kind gesture.

The course is indeed helpful as I can create programs based on research evidence.

by Derek T

Aug 14, 2017

Very useful course and excellent preparation for my 2nd year of the MAPP. As I do not have a background in research methods this was exactly what I needed and covered lots of new terminology and what it all actually means. I feel a lot more confident about reading and understanding journal articles and have a much better idea of how to begin planning my dissertation. Thank you.

by Sameer R

Mar 20, 2018

This course has helped me clarify a lot of things regarding how to be gritty and how to persevere through obstacles.I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn the same.The teachers are tremendous and explain the workings behind the topics in a simple and an easily understandable manner.The reference material is deep and diverse.

by Marc V H

May 22, 2019

Provides an easy to understand introduction to research methods in the social sciences. Knowing that this is a rather dry topic, the module includes a variety of teaching media to closely tie in the theory with real world practices. Possibly an underestimated module because of the subject matter, but highly valuable to any serious practitioner.

by Hanny F M

Nov 19, 2019

Claire is truly amazing, she could explain the research design and all related to research in a friendly way so I am able to get a better understanding of research. In addition, she had taught me how to read the research article. I really enjoy taking courses organized by Coursera and for sure this makes me want to visit UPenn as well soon!!

by U B R

Sep 09, 2020

Teaching research and statistical analysis to a beginner is no easy task. Though initially the Course seemed difficult, being exposed to the same content of research often to learn of the various statistical terms and their significance only improved our understanding the subject. Thanks to Dr.Angela Duckworth who made the study so simple.

by Raihanah M M

Dec 01, 2018

This course really pushed me to develop something concrete that i could research into within the domain of positive psychology. I feel more confident going forward as a student of positive psychology, specifically reading and researching into my area of interest because of the tools and skill-sets introduced in this course. Thank you!

by Ben

Dec 10, 2018

This was one of the best courses I have attended. The theory is very well organised and there is a focus on applied positive psychology with many real-life examples to illustrate the theory. This could have been a very dry statistics course, but Claire, Angela & colleague researchers made the course material very engaging.

by Luiza W A

Aug 08, 2020

If you are looking for a course for methodology 101, that is your course! Very well explained and if examples. There is not as much about positive psychology as in the others courses of this series, although, it is really good if you want to understand methodology or you intend to become a researcher in this field.

by Zhao W

Sep 06, 2018

Love all the courses in positive psychology. They are so practical and fun to learn. I really like this particular course to combine research methods and design with Grits, which give a flavor of sciences yet we are not just learning methods. Grits is an interesting concept. I have learned so much.

by Rachel J

Oct 01, 2018

Very challenging! I love this course because research, applying research methods, and understanding (and creating) formulas is not my strength. However,this course was able to break down the topics of grit, character, and research methods in a very user friendly way. Would definitely recommend.

by Ruby Y O C

Sep 28, 2020

It was agreat way to refresh what I learned about Statistics and Research while I was at University. I highly recommend this course. I loved how interactive this course is, and the examples provided to know how to be a smart research consumer and how to read Positive Psychology researches.

by Maria R

Sep 11, 2017

Loved all the information on Grit in this course. I am using the Grit research findings already as I prepare to disseminate it to teachers and parents in the community. Thank you for all your hard work and expertise in conducting the research and in teaching it to us.

by Leslie S

Oct 04, 2019

Excellent course, the training in research methods was particularly interesting and useful not only for those who might want to do research themselves, but for those who want to evaluate the quality of research and the media's reporting of research.

by Duncan C F

Jan 07, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to research methods. I learned a lot about how to create a research plan and how to read scientific articles. I also learned a lot about character strengths, especially grit, and how many factors contribute to it.

by Deyanira S

Jun 24, 2020

I have to admint was little bit difficult, don't if is normal regarding the topic or because of me - for me the topic is complicated in my native language- but at the end of the course I permerformed better than I expected! Love the course :D

by Lim Y H X

Apr 24, 2020

A simple-to-understand and succinct course on the basic research knowledge required for applied positive psychology research. Videos on field experts applying the theoretical concepts taught were included as well, which reinforces knowledge.

by Michiko K

Oct 01, 2017

I am personally not interested in data collections but am very much interested in the results and findings. Thank goodness for the researchers! I think this course is definitely helpful and needed to become educated consumer of information.

by Carey N G

Sep 22, 2020

This is by far my most favorite out of all the courses in the specialization. It was so so helpful and the way the research process was explained is top notch and not intimidating AT ALL. Thank you so much! I really enjoyed this one :)

by Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

by Dianne O

Aug 14, 2020

The course was fast-paced and rigorous. The syllabus was constructed well and the assignments stretched me. I was impressed with the number and quality of the reading materials. I was intellectually stimulated and loved every minute.

by Marcos M C

Dec 11, 2017

An intense course of much reading, but excellent. He reminded me of statistical concepts and demanded more than I thought. I learned a lot how to take the analysis of the studies and mainly the GRIT concept. More than for beginners!

by Claudia A

Mar 19, 2018

Very helpful to understand research studies and to plan our own. Grit insights by Angela Duckworth are always fantastic. The practical uses from the interviews open new windows in how all this knowledge can be used. Great course!

by Elizabeth A

Nov 23, 2018

I didn't know how very important it was to understand research deeply until I took this course. Not only does it help me understand my other courses better, it also motivates me to do some research myself. I highly recommend it!

by Daniela T S

May 08, 2019

Thank you for a very well structured course presented in a very comprehensive way. The knowledge and skills I acquired during this course are very valuable to me as a career counselor and as a doctoral student. Thank you! :)