Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,758件の評価
468件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 301 - 325 / 451 レビュー

by Hanna S

May 13, 2018

The last few 4th week's videos seem a little bit messy, some lessons referenced are definitely missing and Futures part is quite confusing and not very useful (I mean, "guys, just go and read about it online" would bring more value per second than watching the videos).

by Kaloyan T

Dec 21, 2016

Pretty informative course, even if the first one or two weeks used to the part of the Intro to Scala course. The 2nd part of the lectures in the 4th week seem really disconnected from the rest of the course and are introduced with very little context.

by Oleg D

Nov 08, 2017

Last week is awful. It is better to skip what another lecture tells on futures, this will not be used in the assignment or in further courses. And this material is better studied from other sources. Otherwise it is Ok!

by francisco

Sep 12, 2016

Good review of essential concepts. Lazyness and Signals ... and quickcheck!

by stuart o

Sep 05, 2016

Offers outstanding depth in parallel concepts and the weekly programming samples are really interesting and fun. Some good community discussion but not a lot of participation by instructors. The theoretical material is covered very quickly and there are not a lot of practice exercises to master those concepts.

by Shad A

Oct 31, 2016

Thought provoking exercises.

by Hristo I

Nov 02, 2016

The course is very good overall, except for the last week (Week 4), which includes videos from a completely different course and feels really like a mash-up of unrelated topics (they are not! it's just the presentation).

by Carlos R

Jun 08, 2017

Sometimes the exercises don't match the content exposed for that week, but in general the course is really interesting

by Aleksey D

Jan 28, 2017

too easy

by Vasile G

Mar 21, 2017

The assignments seemed somewhat easy compared to curriculum which became more difficult. I would say that the assignments from the first course were more challenging then those from the second. I also think very little attention was paid to new monad constructs like Try, Validate and scala's reactive library, but I guess the later was left for the third course.

by Sergey V

Dec 11, 2016

Thanks for this course!

Only one times i was very confused - when i saw that in the last assignment i should use Vars and Signals, not Features and Promises - that's, i think, a little bit far from as async code in real projects, which contain promises, features, actors etc.

But anyway, thanks for all of that, it was useful for me.

by Veltin D

Jan 22, 2017

Course material quality is unequal throughout the lecture. It does seem that some parts were taken from another class and were copy-pasted into this class. Anyhow, very good class overall, the homeworks are really good and well prepared. Thanks for putting online such a great class !

by Nathan F

Aug 03, 2017

Good course, wish is expanded more on Functional Program Design.

by Daniel H L

Jan 31, 2018

The last star is missing because it's not in depth enough

by Zhenduo D

Oct 30, 2017

I feel that the lectures need more detailed discussions about the scala design pattern.

by Dmitry I

Jan 17, 2017

Интересный курс, но задания могли бы быть и посложнее

by Kyoung-Seop P

Jan 06, 2017

Very good! ^^

by Riccardo C

Apr 17, 2017

High quality course

by Lawrence A

Oct 13, 2016

This course has been very good, and i will recommend it to anyone who wants to learn functional programming.

by Harish k

Nov 04, 2016

Some of the lectures were tough to follow. Huge disconnect between the course videos and the assignments. QuickCheck assignment was a waste of time for me. Calculator assignment is really good. No assignments related to Week4 course work is disappointing.

by Pietro G

Sep 02, 2017

Actors were missing.

by Julien J

Aug 19, 2017

Less interesting than the other Scala courses but still great!

by Wojciech M

Feb 12, 2017

A very good course (4.5 in my eyes) the only thing for me that was lacking straight after previous course was a bigger difficulty between videos and programming excises. But maybe that's my lack of Scala experience.

by lu

May 24, 2017

1 . Some content quite confusing and not well explained(e.g Future, Monads ..).

2. Scala.react package mentioned, the paper that describes it is good, but seems this package deprecated already?? No practical example.

3. Akka Actor was said to be covered in the previous "Reactive programming principle" course, disappeared here, and some other content gone, too.

I thinks FRP is quite interesting, hope this course structure can be improved and more examples/practical assignments provided.

by matt h

Jan 25, 2017

The course is good, but not as splendid as the first in the specialisation. The difficulty has apparently skyrocketed, while some videos from week 4 seems to be missing, making the lectures difficult to understand.