Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,758件の評価
468件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 376 - 400 / 451 レビュー

by Nicolás C

Jun 01, 2016

Most of the content was included in Functional Programming in Scala and Reactive Programming Principles in Scala.

by Valerio M

Sep 20, 2016

Interesting course. Not sure it really covers functional programming design, it feels more of a brief introduction. The material is clearly a cut & paste from a different (and I guess longer) course. There were references to non-existing weeks, and to subjects that were not part of this course. That felt a bit cheap, considering that courses are not really free anymore. Positive experience, but not exceptional.

by Sergey S

Dec 17, 2016

progfun and reactive programming was better

by Konstantin D

Dec 07, 2016

Fantastic topic on itself, yet delivered in a rushed manner. Programming assignments are of uneven difficulty. The second assignment is all about a testing framework usage, not really aimed towards Functional Design at all. Feels like the material worth 10 weeks was crammed into 4 weeks.

You can still learn some important conceptions, so it is not a total waste of your time.

by Viktor K

Mar 04, 2017

Too much of the content is already contained in the courses "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" and "Principles of Reactive Programming". Would be nice to have some new assignments.

by Mikko S

Dec 05, 2016

I was expecting this course to be more challenging than Functional Programming Principles in Scala but found this one easier in the end. The assignments were ok but I felt like they could have been more challenging and also that they should have tested my understanding of the course contents more thoroughly.

by Carl S

May 26, 2017

The lectures were not very illuminating and did not tie in closely with the programming assignments. There was very little focus on design. This course did nothing to answer the questions of why, if you were building a real-world software product, you should use Scala in particular or functional programming in general. It merely served to provide a few more examples of FP patterns without demonstrating their value.

by Ivan S

Feb 18, 2018

The lectures were quite interesting, especially the first two weeks and the ones by Erik Meijer. But overall course seems to be too blatantly put from several other courses which might be interesting to listen separately (e.g. FRP) and the assignment don't seem to cover the material from the lectures too well. Some very interesting concepts seem to be left out of the scope (actors)

by Isaac L

Nov 06, 2016

The content was pretty good, but I'm annoyed that I paid for a disjointed collection of videos that were previously available for free. This is just a pared down (worse) version of an older class, "Principles of Reactive Programming", which I started but didn't finish three years ago. The videos and assignments are the same, but some of them have been removed, so there are confusing discontinuities. Some of the videos refer to a "next lecture" or "previous lecture", which isn't included in this class. The last week of the class should have been split across multiple weeks, and I'm disappointed I never got to do an assignment on latency or futures.

That being said, I'd still recommend taking any class taught by Odersky, and I learned a fair amount.

by Michael J A

Jun 19, 2016

If you're new to Scala and/or functional programming, then the material covered here will be very valuable.

However, I was fairly disappointed. Much of the coursework was pulled from the original "Functional Programming in Scala" course, as well as the "Principles of Reactive Programming" course. Indeed, there are references to material from those courses that are not actually included here, which must be a little confusing for anyone who hasn't taken those courses. The first two assignments came, respectively, from those two courses also.

There wasn't as much emphasis on architecting a functional program as I might have expected from the title. Instead, the course focused more on using functional principles when implementing computations. The coverage of functional reactive programming (FRP) was very good, but again, I would have expected more of a 30,000ft overview of how to design an application using FRP.

In short, I felt this course to be a little incoherent and disjointed.

by Yuan L

Feb 17, 2017

The last week has materials that nothing related to assignment, and it jumps a bit fast where i have no clue at all

by Luis V

Jan 11, 2018

Good but not less quality that the other courses in the specialization.

The course seems a little messy and with lack of focus, it is obvious that it is the result of cut and paste of other courses... may be to fit with Coursera restrictions??

by Andrew Z

Sep 05, 2016

The main difficulty of the task does not apply to the course

by Joan S S

Aug 26, 2016

The subject is really interesting, and some of the shown approaches really "close to the edge".

However, there is too much "cut and paste" from other courses. this makes this one difficult to follow. It has lost "coherence". The cross-references don't make any sense, and the assignments fall too short with regard to the content. I think the remake from the original "Functional Programming ___ in Scala" + "Reactive Programming" has not been as successful as it should. This new format within Coursera (everything shorter, more expensive and with less people involved) is not as good as the original one. Maybe this is the only way they can make enough money to sustain the whole... but the "more idealistic" start was far more pleasant.

by Jacopo P

Jun 04, 2017

At times, this course looks a patch work of videos without a clear continuity. It is a pity that one week has no assessment at all and the last week mostly on "Futures" does not assess them. Also it would have been nice to have a snapshot on Actors

by dani l

Sep 27, 2016

The old version was more interesting.

by Lucas F

Oct 19, 2016

The course needs a reboot. Some parts were merged with other and the whole thing lacks continuity. A few examples were poorly chosen. For instance, signals / reactive concepts would be easier to understand in user interfaces or graphics / games.

by Evgenii S

Aug 08, 2017

Course is not well formed.

I received full grade for second assignment doing nothing.

It will be great if you attach lectures from Reactive Programming at least as optional

by P.K

Apr 12, 2017

It is a good course. I took it after Functional Programming Principles in Scala. I learned new things....But..... The reason i rate 3 is that:

1) Programminng Assignments doesn't realy correspond to the Lecture material.

2) The Lecture material becomes very complicated in some Lectures because of Lack of Explanation (e.g: Lec 4.3. There are still many disambiguations of how the Prof. creates some models (again lack of explanation)

3) Too many unanswered critical questions remain in the forum!!!

Anyway it's worth your time.

by Brad H

Oct 29, 2017

As a continuation from the previous course, "Function Programming Principles in Scala", I found this less focused -- especially with respect to the title. For instance, at times there did not seem to be a strong match between the programming assignment and the lecture material. Regardless, I still learned quite a bit and Dr. Martin Oderksy is an excellent video presenter. I am still surprised by how powerful Scala can be in a terse yet readable manner.

by Juan F O

Oct 06, 2016

The topics are great, the material is not really polished: the lectures are from previous courses and they reorganised material without redoing anything, which is needed in several points. Many explanations could be improved greatly.

by Brian B

Aug 24, 2016

The course in general is not as good as Martin Odersky's first course, but it still has interesting bits to learn about functional programming.

Everything topic feels very disconnected to each other.

Lastly, the last part of the course is specially disorganized. I didn't feel like the assignment captured everthing that was taught.

by Fernando G

Jul 13, 2016

Interesting, but a little bit too easy and shallow.

The material was reused from other courses without making it all fit together well.

by Marton B

Jul 09, 2018

While I hold the first course in high regards, this one is often incomprehensible, the new tutor is a lot worse than Martin was, and the topics are also a lot less interesting. Property testing was a new concept to me, I really enjoyed using it, and since I've incorporated it into my own workflow, but events, signals, coming from a javascript background, were just an annoyance.

by Pedro P

Jul 19, 2017

week 4 course "timely effects" with Erik Meijer videos are very hard o watch, the background and the slides are very distracting. Did not learn much with those videos, I had to resort to other sources to learn about lazy evaluation and futures.