Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,978件の評価
510件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP
2016年9月14日

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
2018年3月17日

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 51 - 75 / 493 レビュー

by Chaitanya B

2017年8月22日

Course material and assignments difficulty level was much higher than first course. Some of the learning material seemed rushed and disconnected. But overall, the concepts taught were really important and this course has strengthened my knowledge of functional programming

by Janis R

2016年6月23日

Very interesting assignments! But I think the assignment instructions were incomplete for the last 2 weeks. (I left comments for those 2 assignments explaining what I thought was not mentioned (and, in my humble opinion, should have been mentioned) in the instructions.)

by Mykola D

2016年8月14日

This is a really nice class. I've been doing Java programming for a while. However, I was really impressed with the capabilities of Scala. This class made me think of programming in a different, much more advanced way than I've been able to do before.

by Vladimir P

2017年9月8日

I love it.

But I should say that the last practical assignment was hard. methods to be implemented are not documented.

I understood at the end, that only one method is part of object's interface. But I had to inspect the way UI part was implemented.

by Dmytro S

2019年7月1日

This is actually a very good course. There are some inconsistencies but it's actually good: when I fix them I have realized that I've learned more deeply. Anyway, this is a "must" course for someone who is learning Functional Programming Design.

by Anton V

2016年6月26日

Sufficiently challenging to be interesting. This course(s) evolve(s) so there are some quirks in assignments/videos here and there, but it no a big deal really. Many thanks to authors and coursera team.

by Eleanna S

2018年3月18日

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

by Harish

2016年7月24日

Really enjoyed doing the course. Learned a ton of Stuff. Functional programming design is amazing. It's like learning Object Oriented programming (with design patterns) for the first time.

by murmelssonic

2016年7月15日

Picks up where the previous course left off... the last assignment is a bit more challenging than the others, well for me it was. Thanks to the people who put the course together.

by Colin U

2018年6月14日

This is a great course for guiding further study. Lots of the topics require outside material to really feel like you've got a minimal handle on the larger designs it's teaching.

by Evaldas M

2016年10月29日

Interesting concepts analyzed in through functional and scala toolset. I enjoyed the homework variety and I think more than few things can be applied in real applications

by Narek G

2016年7月31日

This was just a great continuation of a great beginning after the previous course.

I hope that in the future Martin Odersky will publish more courses.

Thank you !

by haokai l

2017年3月6日

Great experience with the assignments. Took some time to get understand all the course materials. Highly recommended. Still can learn a lot after reading fpins

by Tommy S

2016年12月28日

I very much enjoyed the course. It was hard enough to challenge me to learn new stuff, yet not too demanding so that I could complete within the alotted time

by Siddhartha B

2020年9月17日

Awesome course. All assignments except the last one are super difficult.

Maybe the assignments could be made a little simpler by providing some more hints.

by Anuj S

2020年6月15日

The course is really detailed with complex practical issues to be solved. I like the materials and got to know many new things on scala with this course.

by Juan P

2020年11月13日

Is a nice course to understand some corner stones of most powerful Scala and its environmental features like implicits and testing with properties

by William H

2017年7月26日

Very little spoon feeding in the assignments might place you outside your comfort zone --- but what a blast. Like the 1st course - excellent.

by Lance F

2017年6月12日

This is an absolutely outstanding course - far better than I would have believed possible. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Scala.

by Deleted A

2016年9月2日

Advantages of Functional programming clearly evident after attending this course and is much easier to follow compared to reading Books on FP

by Andrzej

2017年6月9日

The course is very well prepared and easy to digest, while in the same time, assignments are challenging and allow to check acquired skills.

by Marcin Z

2017年12月24日

The programing assignment are challenging. However hard they are, it's important to keep on going. I can guarantee you it will be worth it.

by Bruce W

2017年10月11日

Great course, quite challenging. I hope to practice the skills and make progress easier in the remaining courses in the specialisation!

by Guixin Z

2017年1月11日

nice content and challenging assignment. help me understand and start using some popular tools and libraries in Scala eco-system.

by Andrzej J

2016年7月4日

Programming with passion.

Scala needs people who show the beauty of using construction in practice, production code.

Many thanks.