Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,934件の評価
503件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 326 - 350 / 486 レビュー

by Pedro C P P

Oct 21, 2019

A little less content than the first course.

Also the videos and materials of the second professor are way worst than the first one.

by Glendon K

May 17, 2018

The part by Martin Odersky was excellent, the other guy was kind of all over the place and a bit annoying. Good material though.

by Pravina

Aug 06, 2018

Apart from the slight disconnect of lectures and assignment in week 3 , I think the rest of the course contents were amazing !

by Ken C

Apr 22, 2017

A valuable extension of the ideas in the first course. Helped to continue to build confidence in using Scala and introduced

by Roberto O

Nov 03, 2017

A few gaps left over from when this course was longer, which took a bit of googling to fill in. Otherwise, a great course.

by Carlos R

Jun 08, 2017

Sometimes the exercises don't match the content exposed for that week, but in general the course is really interesting

by Jacek K

Dec 27, 2016

Good course, material needs more coverage in programming assignments. For example monads and futures were not covered.

by Joaquín D R

Sep 04, 2019

Too short, In my opinion i would spend more time on future and async.

I dont like too much, when the teacher changes..

by Levi K

Aug 07, 2016

This part I liked less than the first. Less substance, and I do not like somebody replacing Mr. Odersky as a lecturer

by Török E

Jan 02, 2017

Basics of lazy streams, monads with for notation, functional reactive programming, and futures with error recovery.

by Luca A

Sep 06, 2017

Good material, but the course is way less structured than the first one and the lectures are not well connected.

by Lestar C

Apr 16, 2017

The FRP part was too short. The earlier version were much longer and contained some introduction about RxScala.

by Santiago A A

Jun 25, 2019

The course is great. I put 4 stars because week 4 is very hard to follow up and may take more than one week.

by Du L

Jun 02, 2018

Very challenging course, would be better to expand this course into a more detailed and slower paced version

by Lawrence A

Oct 13, 2016

This course has been very good, and i will recommend it to anyone who wants to learn functional programming.

by David N

Mar 17, 2017

Great course! Lacked the same polish as the previous course though. Week3 assignment had grading issues.

by Yuan Y

Feb 02, 2020

material for first two weeks are good. third and fourth are not so good. assignment is a bit too simple

by Jaseer A

Dec 05, 2017

Week 4 material was jumbled and very hard to follow. Not upto the usual standard in the course so far

by Dima P

Nov 09, 2016

A great continuation on Scala and functional programming, I wish the exercises were more challenging.

by Albert F

Sep 21, 2018

Videos are great, however it would be good to update the content since videos are from >6 years ago.

by Daniel D

Sep 03, 2016

Thanks EPFL good course and has certainly broaden my awareness of the possibilities of using Scala.

by Botao A

Jun 22, 2020

The 'implicit' and 'type class' part has no video which makes the learning process more difficult.

by Sudipro G

Oct 24, 2018

This course has been very helpful for learning monads and how they relate to reactive programming.

by Peter B

Feb 28, 2020

Great course! Once they work out the bugs with grading the calculator project it will be 5 stars.

by Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.