Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
42,416件の評価

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content

(256件のレビュー)

Practical assignments

(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM

2020年6月18日

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA

2020年4月23日

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 6151 - 6175 / 7,631 レビュー

by Alessandra T C

2018年10月8日

Sadly in comparison with the first two courses of this specialization in 'Using Python to Access Web Data' the difficulty increases exponentially. For me it was definitely harder to keep the pace with all the infos. Instead of the office hours and the interviews to VIPs and other relevant people to the field I'd like to see more worked exercises. Also, after May 25 2018 both Google and Twitter changed their policies about the retrieval of data. So it was impossible to follow the instuctions step by step on how to build an API in Twitter.

by Gregory L

2021年1月4日

Quite good material and presentation, with two caveats.

First, the TA is terrible. They respond rudely and with a great deal of condescension to nearly every comment they make. Avoid interacting with them if you can.

Second, some of the templates for assignments have significantly more sophisticated approaches than are necessary to complete the assignments. You might learn the most by starting from scratch each time, but nonetheless I think Dr. Chuck is a pretty great teacher. He really makes you feel like you can do this. And he's right!

by Richard C

2022年6月30日

It's a good course, but I think I had some issues with parts of it. I passed everything, but I can't help but think that I really don't know what I did most of the time. The exercises mostly involved modifying a given file to parse some kind of data from a given url. I could do it each time, but I don't think I learned how to do this well enough to do it again without having a script to use as a template.

There are a few places where the videos didn't feel like they prepared me for the exercises. It was just kind of frustrating.

by Calvin B

2017年5月18日

I loved this course, however, there is some room for improvement:

(a) Putting code side-by-side with video of Dr Chuck (like it was done in previous lectures) would be better.

(b) Make the end-of-week assignments more challenging. I felt that the quizzes were good, but, the coding assignments were too easy and the solution was practically spoon fed.

Other than that, the course was really good. Dr Chuck is a natural in front of the camera. I also really enjoyed some of the more complex code samples presented during the lectures.

by Jason A

2017年10月27日

Great coverage of the material, however some of the sample scripts were nearly complete and required little, if any, modification to complete the assignment. They clearly tried to find the balance between providing challenging exercises and providing working packages of scripts so that students can accomplish more complicated tasks using additional tools that are, on their own, beyond the scope of the project. I just think they could have provided a bit less to make some of the later exercises a bit more challenging.

by Hyun K

2019年4月19日

I found this course to be a lot harder than the previous 2 (which is not an issue per se). I feel like I understand a much smaller proportion of the content than the other courses and I am having to copy a lot of code without truly understanding what they achieve (I merely know that I must for the code to function properly). The last task in particular didn't even require me to change any of the code from 'you will write a python program somewhat similar to... '. Was I supposed to write all of that from scratch?

by Justin R

2022年4月3日

This course is definitely a great introduction to how Python can interact with web data. Towards the end it gets a bit overwhelming because of the complexity of dealing with APIs, but I feel like I came away with the fundamental skillset necessary if I wanted to explore the topics further. I appreciated that the assignments emphasized the way key programming concepts from prior courses apply to these topics (instead of sending students down rabbit holes of understanding the nitty gritty of pulling web data).

by Cheng C C

2021年9月14日

As a beginner to coding, I was lost at the week 2 assignment. I don't even know where to construct my code and test it at first. I was struggling for days and searching for further help on the Internet. It would be great if there is a guide for where to put the code, where and how to save the code file.

In addition, Dr. Chuck is trying to squeeze too much content into one course in my opinion.

However, it's a fantastic course overall and I enjoyed it!!! Appreciate everyone's effort on preparing this course :)

by PAPHON S

2020年6月7日

This course is like a new territory compared to the two courses before. The first course is simple and easy. the second course is a little bit confusing. This course is very very confusing(the teaching is good, but the knowledge is very new to me). But being confusing is not bad, I've learned many new things from this course and the confusion i got from this course encourages me to go back to review this course and previous course before jumping into the next course and get more confused. Good course!

by akash p

2020年2月26日

The course was good. I got to learn so much things, though it was introductory and just basic in nature but it gave me an idea that what I can do next.

I learnt Regex, parsing data using XML and JSON and Beautiful Soup. I think that there needs to be a little more depth to these topics. Though it was overall a good experience my suggestion would be to include a project at last that requires to do a real world problem solving where the students can apply their knowledge on each of the skills learnt.

by titus l

2016年6月29日

This course got very technical very suddenly which was really fun! From normal python to regular expression python, to surfing the web with python (by suddenly writing a web browser) and then suddenly using python to leverage on APIs. Each chapter is a really fun quantum leap in understanding!

However, I felt that the lectures could be better delivered for that chapter (less wordy, chunky notes, more examples) because it's really a whole new world each time.

Really worth the time and effort though!

by Kanishtha D

2020年5月28日

The twitter api chapters confused me a lot during the later stages. But i think the assignments and quizzes are very very well thought for such a complex set of topics otherwise students just get lost and get stuck at some assignments and quit altogether! 1 star deducted because i thought Dr. Chuck could have explained the worked twitter api assignment in a better way as he got stuck in some places and it confused me lot at that moment! However the exercise made things very clear so over happy!

by Francesco B

2017年1月7日

Nice course, you get an introduction to using python to access different types of widely used formats of web data.

I liked that, apart from showing how to "get the stuff done" with Python, the course also explores a bit of the history of each of the tyeps explored and tries to "scratch the surface" about how each of them works.

On the down side: I think the code already provided for each assignment is too much. One ends up not writing his/her own code, if not for a couple of additional lines.

by Tan Y H J

2018年5月28日

Professor Chuck could have reviewed the more difficult concepts in greater detail or by providing more worked examples. For example, in the quiz for Week 6, the concepts of REST and SOAP were not covered in the presentation slides but were tested in the quiz. In the HTML week, I found the assignments hard because of inadequate knowledge of the various tags which exist in html code. This is a challenging course but not impossible to learn. More resources would be greatly appreciated, though.

by Ruoming Z

2022年5月15日

First of all, I have to say the courses from Charles Russell Severance always remain high quality, and the learning process (except for the assignment part) is pretty enjoyable. After three courses of PY4E, I feel excited to acquire systematic knowledge. Second, this course is a little bit difficult for a "newbie" like me. More detailed explanations would be appreciated, as we can absorb the knowledge easier and become more confident. Thanks for the fantastic lectures from cute Dr.Chuck!

by Aarya P

2020年9月5日

The course deals with how to get data off a website. Basically helps in parsing different types of data in the JSON and XML . Its a little difficult for those first timers but eventually you will get to know some of the stuff . It would have helped if it would have been a little easier.

The Instructor is great and let me go ahead and tell you that he is one of the best, but some concepts in this course were pretty difficult for me to understand. You have to work a bit to get hold of it.

by Dumidu H

2017年6月21日

A well thought out course which goes above and beyond just teaching you how to code python. You get to hear from some of the pioneers, shapers, and creators of network related technologies on how they were able to do the things they have done and how what they did changed the course of the technology. Pretty cool.

Tip: Avoid using an IDE if you want remember what you learn better. The chances of something blowing up in your face is more but because of it you will remember better.

by Joel T

2015年11月14日

This course is well-developed and well-delivered. If one is a complete novice, start at the beginning of this specialty on one's own schedule (on demand at the speed of light) and at an affordable price ($0) and be confident of significant advances in one's knowledge of internet function, in general, and Python, in particular. It is a brave new world. I often feel like Wylie Coyote staring through my toes. Suddenly realizing things have changed. This course fixes that feeling.

by Jeremy M

2021年1月26日

Interesting topic. There is a wealth of things to learn with respect to using Python to Access the Web. The materials presented here just scratch the surface. I enjoy the video lectures and book. The assignments in this course are interesting, but wonder a little from the presented materials. I am taking away 1 star due to a bug I encountered with the autograder in the final assignment and for the aforementioned discontinuities. Overall, a fun class and I learned a lot.

by Levi M

2016年6月5日

I really enjoyed this course and found that I am feeling more confident with my skills from the previous two. However, as a point of improvement I would suggest making the final module a bit more challenging. Perhaps this was intentional but, although the final module introduces JSON well, I don't feel as though my skills improved while doing it. (Then again, the counter argument could be that it is good practice and repetition before moving on to anything too much harder...)

by Yinglu W

2020年3月24日

This course is well structured. I really like how it introduces the high-level knowledge in the first 3 weeks and becomes more hands-on in the later of the class. My only complaint is some of the materials are out-dated. For example, lots of the tasks can be handled by urllib3 but urllib and urllib2 are heavily along the course. urllib3 is not just a simply upgrade from urllib2, it has a lot more functions. And the "bonus materials" section is bit lame to be honest.

by Santhosh C

2020年4月16日

I am an Electrical Engineer with some experience in coding using MATLAB. I have completed the two courses in this specialization before this one. A lot a material is covered and Dr Chuck has explained the important parts. Spending time on reading more material using the course syllabus as a guide would be very useful. Assignments in the middle of the course required plenty of time and effort, otherwise assignments are easy once you understand what is being asked.

by Johanna G

2020年2月10日

This course was a good as the first two. Charles Severance is really a great instructor. As a total beginner in programming, this course was a bit harder for me than the first two ones, but through a lot of reading and tasks, you can easily follow the course. I rate this course with 4 stars because I would have liked to have a few more examples to explain and deepen the new content. But, to sum up - I can really recommend this course and want to say thank you!

by Paul J M

2016年3月3日

This course covers a lot of ground at a pretty fast pace. It's not going to teach every aspect of the subjects covered--it couldn't possibly do so in the time--but it teaches enough to allow students to ask the right questions later.

I would like to see more searching practical exercises to cement the learning. The existing assignments follow quite closely the worked examples which means those coding along with Dr chuck aren't going to have too much more to do.

by Tushar s

2018年6月20日

This course is like, even if you are beginner you are brought to the advanced level learning materials easily. You wouldn't know that with such basic knowledge you can understand this course very well. You are honed with the skills with the excellent technologies and you will learn how to use it.Dr.Chuck and his team have done really a great job teaching stuff. They are absolutely great. His team is working hard to teach people stuff and correct their doubts.