Chevron Left
Using Python to Access Web Data に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Using Python to Access Web Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
38,306件の評価
6,910件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
ハイライト
High quality content
(256件のレビュー)
Practical assignments
(217件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

SM
2020年6月18日

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
2016年12月2日

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

フィルター:

Using Python to Access Web Data: 101 - 125 / 6,767 レビュー

by Jason J

2017年12月5日

Dr. Chuck Severance is an excellent teacher. Between his book and the video lectures, I feel 100% comfortable with the material. Granted, this is still a broad overview and we didn't dive too deep (this is a good thing) into REGEX, XML, JSON, along with different libraries (urllib, beautiful soup, etc) but I'm no longer intimidated by the terms and have a great understanding of at least what they are and why there are used. This class is a great foundation upon which one can build with further study. I'm looking forward to finishing the database course and then continuing on the next Python Data Science track offered by UMich.

by Shannon R

2017年10月20日

I absolutely loooooooove Charles. His teaching style is so clean and concise, this is clearly his divine purpose in life. The order in which the information is presented is perfect, I feel like I am finally able to make sense of how my computer actually works and does stuff on a daily basis. His passion for this material definitely translates in every lecture, which makes me excited for each new topic. I love the visualizations he includes or draws because it really gives me a grasp of how a program is working as we progress through each component of the program. I wish he taught the data science course too. Thank you Charles!

by Belikov D

2020年10月26日

Howdy all. I'm not engineer, not programmer. I'm a beginner of programming, so i have small experience of passing courses. But i think, this course needs more assignments in programming to consolidate every theory in our minds, assignments with different levels of difficulty, including assignments with less amount of prompts.

But i think course is useful, don't miss it.

P.S. maybe for some beginners this course very hard, but i think that it isn't easy mostly for many people, when you learning something new in your life. Learning how to find needed information in internet is great useful experience too ;)

by Sayak C

2020年8月12日

The last week may turn out to be a bit harder than the rest and people might find it a bit more difficult than the previous courses but the devil is in the details. The are a lot of minute details that demand your attention and require to be learnt, because if you somehow miss these details or overlook the little important things, it'll become far harder to finish the assignments and weekly quizzes. As for me the simple sequence of parameters in an url was the difference between the wrong answer and the right. You'll learn a lot of stuff that requires detailed attention, every part will be requiring a lot of focus.

by Do H L

2016年1月5日

Dr. Chuck is an exceptionally-inspiring teacher. He explains complex concepts like XML, JSON, HTTP, API, RegEx in such an eloquent and down-to-earth fashion that despite having the videos at x2.0 speed, I can grasp everything he tries to deliver. Amazing! This course, and many other Dr. Chuck's courses, are really how online courses should be. Excellent instructor, fair share of hands-on programming assignments.

However, I just hope that there are many more programming assignments, maybe many optional challenging, extensive programming assignments or even projects would be an ultimate Coursera experience.

by Dinesh L

2020年10月29日

Interesting course. A few comments. 1: The example codes are helpful. However, I am not sure if I would be able to write a program from scratch using a customer specification. 2. The Twitter example is interesting and complicated. 3. How was the twURL code created? Is this something we will learn in this course? Many thanks to Dr. Chuck for sharing interview videos and great explanation of the material. The video of the lectures are good but I had to view them multiple times to really understand what is going on. Some of the explanations went too fast for me. The text of the video lectures are helpful.

by Sidra F A

2018年5月31日

There are times in this course when you would want to go and hug Dr Chuck for making it so simple and easy to understand few of the most complex concepts in language and specially for people having no prior knowledge of the subject. One gets this feeling quite often "keep going, you can do this, its easy".

Also, this will be my first ever course on coursera that I'll complete and not just leave in the middle because this is how an online course should be - doesn't waste time, has condense information in every minute of the video lectures and stays true to topics without going under/overboard.

by Jenkins P S J

2020年5月22日

The course content is excellent. The way of teaching of the great Dr Chuck is very engaging. This is the third course I have taken under him and surely, he is one of the best teachers I ever had. He breaks down the contents into nice little pieces and presses one those areas which are important. The assignments are a bit challenging compared to the previous two courses and encompasses everything that are thought in the course. The bonus contents are awesome and love watching them after doing the assignments. Overall, as a great learning experience with Dr Chuck as it always will be.

by Maksym S

2015年11月16日

I'm not exactly new to python, but my typical use-cases looked more like hacking rather then conscious programming.

Said all this, I've found the first block - introduction to Python, to be very basic and slow paced, but starting from the Web it is all good stuff only.

It deserves to become one of the coursera classics. Great combination of pedagogical talent, humor an knowledge of the subject. It also tremendously helps that the course is backed by the book so it is always possible to look back for that "Introduction to Python" part, that I've skipped ;)

by beliefs22

2016年1月1日

I've taken a number of courses on Python through Coursera and this was the first course that I was able to follow through to completion, and I believe that is a combination of Dr. Chucks teaching style, and the activities he uses to convey the information. It was amazing to learn about things like using APIs and mixing python with Databases in a way I could understand at my level of programming knowledge, and it enabled me to start thinking about my own projects in a completely new way.

I'm really looking forward to completing the capstone project.

by Michael R

2016年6月6日

This course has been a Godsend to me. I was so confused about so many things and all the other resources I could find out there just assumed that I knew things about which I was, in fact, clueless. I got the book and watched a lot of the lectures twice but in the end I really feel like I got it. The assignments were manageable and doable after the course lectures and I have gone back and done a number of them over again to solidify things in my mind. I feel like the web is my friend now, not a source of cheap tricks and booby traps. Thanks!

by Joe W

2017年6月15日

While I'm an experienced programmer I'm relatively new to Python and had never done anything with either XML or JSON before this course. Yet here I am understanding it all and successfully doing genuinely useful things with them in Python.

There can't be that many courses that can get a beginner useful in just six sets of lessons. Novice programmers should take this at the recommended pace and do not move on until you have 100% on all assessment items. Experienced programmers should be able to complete this in a couple of days. I did. :)

by Jarosław G

2018年10月14日

I am totally new to programming. I have experience working in a technical environment

and have a lot to do with IT in my daily job, but I wanted to learn something new. I made

different attempts to learn to programm, but all of them failed. Now, I have been doing the whole module

of Python for Everybody (5 courses) and I am enjoying it a lot. Lectures by Dr Chuck are really insporational, well prepared and

easy to understand to a person who does not have any experience with programming.

I am becoming more and more involved into python:).

by Juan O L

2016年1月20日

I think this course is a really good overview of how to use Python to retrieve web data using the two most common data interchange formats: XML and JSON. Not only that, but you also get a brief yet good introduction to what XML and JSON are, as well as the basics of network communication and regular expressions. I was hoping the assignments would be a bit more challenging, but the free textbook provides additional exercises to practice with. As always, Dr. Chuck's style helps makes this course (and his other ones) a great one.

by Juan D

2016年7月8日

I learnt Python with the introductory course "Programming for Everybody". Then, I completed this course and it added a whole lot of tools to my knowledge. It is amazing how much you can accomplish in such a short course. The assignments are very well oriented, so by basically modifying the code you wrote for this class you can already do a lot. It also gives you a very good basic knowledge about web programming, so you can now understand and interpret many things and concepts you are seeing all the time. I recommend it a lot.

by AKANKSHYA N

2020年7月21日

This course is like the cheery on the top. It makes you use the web data , you will learn about retrieving the html, xml pages and you can even search for any particular element and also can add up any element from the source page. The best part is in the last week of this course, where it teaches about how you can use APIs of googlemaps, twitter . At the end you will be able to write a program of 30 lines to just take input of any location(even some parts of it) and it will give you back complete info about it. Loving it:)

by Sarfuddin A T

2020年8月8日

Dr. Chuck is an expert and an efficient teacher of the course. However for me his lectures were sometimes pretty fast when I had difficulty following him and its very normal in a online course. I faced difficulty mainly in the week 4 and week 5 specially webpage parsing using xmlTree where I took longer time then normal. However Teaching staff from the course patiently provided suggestion for correctly solving the problems.

Thanks are due to both University of Michigan and Courera for arranging Dr. Chucks courses.

by Derek O

2017年10月16日

Great course all around, truly feel like I learned a lot! Really appreciate how Dr. Chuck takes concepts and topics that could easily get mixed up or "over-thought" (my bad habit haha) and orders them in a way that flows well and makes sense to the relative rookie like myself. Thanks so much for making someone who used to think he'd never be able to code feel like "Hey I can do this stuff!" It will make a huge difference in my career and my personal confidence. Please keep making great courses! =) - Kind regards, Derek

by Mohd A N

2020年7月18日

This is the 3rd course of the Python specialisation that I've completed from Coursera and taught by Dr. Charles Severance. This one was far-most the most teaching centred of all the three, and now I feel I've a good command on python to write my own back to intermediate programme. I even built an Instagram video downloader with the knowledge I gathered from this course.And as always, Dr. Chuck is a really interesting instructor, plus his website is the perfect place you could simulate your learnings.Happy learning!

by Anand B S

2016年10月17日

The Teacher made me thirsty of more work. Especially in the last chapter, I was looking for more challenging work. The way the assignment was designed and the topics were taught made me think, the assignment for the last week was quite easier and I was expecting something more challenging. This proves the beauty of this class. I wish I have a trainer like this always with me, at least as long as I cannot go out and look for work myself.

Thanks a million to Dr. Charles Severance. This is a very positive experience.

by Jonpaul W

2016年3月2日

Good initial overview to the topic. Most code is actually provided to the student, preventing deeper learning via trial & error. However, it is a tradeoff of making the course accessible to a large number of students versus being too challenging and preventing newcomers from enjoying the subject. Dr. Severance is excellent -- entertaining and clearly very knowledgable. For any novice programmers looking to understand how Python can be used to access the web and scrape its data, this is the best place to start.

by Leonard M

2018年9月13日

This is the 3rd course of the "Python for Everybody" specialisation in Coursera.While the first 2 courses were too easy, I found that things started to get more interesting with this one. We learn about Webservices, XML and JSON manipulation and web scraping with Python. The level is still easy but the teacher is engaging and the code examples are well done. With some imagination, one can easily reuse this knowledge and go to the next level.This is a good course to learn the basis of web services with Python.

by Vitalii U

2018年5月27日

Excellent course as the previous Python for Everybody courses I have taken before. It gave good understanding on how programming languages interact with web services. On top of this it gives good introduction to API. Examples and assignments really help not only to get theory, but ho to use the knowledge in practice. In addition this helps better to remember the materials of the course. Great initiative and really good introduction to programming which could help to take more advanced courses in data science.

by Joseph G

2017年5月9日

This is a very good course. My goal from this course was to get knowledge about using python to extract data from websites and apis. I come with a business intelligence background and I found this course very useful and is definitely going to add value in my career. The professor was great and it was a pleasure to watch his videos and hear his knowledge. I will recommend this course to anyone who is interested in making use of a beautiful language (-Python) to extract data from the internet. FIVE STAR

by Edward F

2017年5月31日

I took the Python Specialization, which included this course, so I'm going to provide the same review for each of the component courses.

I think this is an excellent course for beginning programmers. Python is a great language for someone starting out - easy to learn - with a lot of power available for more advanced projects (e.g., machine learning).

But, most of all, you have to love Dr. Serverance. I can't think of a more entertaining and enjoyable person to teach programming. Thanks, Dr. Chuck.