Chevron Left
定量的手法 に戻る

アムステルダム大学(University of Amsterdam) による 定量的手法 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,074件の評価

コースについて

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

人気のレビュー

LG

2018年1月4日

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

GM

2020年11月15日

Excellent course! Well narrated, even entertaining, VERY well structured, with supporting material, and a great mix of theory and examples or discussions. Perhaps the best MOOC I've ever encountered.

フィルター:

定量的手法: 676 - 700 / 726 レビュー

by Jennifer P

2016年5月7日

Good pacing, good explanations, reasonable expectations.

by Li-Cheng T

2016年8月17日

it's really good for a student in planning department.

by Toshan M

2018年11月19日

Good introduction to statistics and social science.

by Chris C

2020年8月24日

Very interesting but could have been more rigorous

by Iñaki R

2021年9月13日

Very good course, although it is very theoretical

by Gabriella L E

2020年11月14日

It is a pleasure and great to learn this course.

by Fabian G

2015年12月2日

Interesting and concise. Straight to the point.

by Bertik B

2015年12月10日

Great content and delivered in a clear way.

by Mahalakshmi V

2020年9月11日

good and easy understandable subject

by Juan S B M

2017年1月12日

very good course, well structured!!

by Madiha G

2020年8月13日

Good one for beginners

by PUSPARGHYA S

2020年8月29日

THIS HELPS A LOT.

by Ree R

2020年7月7日

Excellent course.

by MYAT T W

2019年10月3日

effective for me

by Arpana L

2022年5月29日

It's awesome

by Ali K

2022年2月1日

g​ood course

by Jamer N C A

2015年10月29日

Excelente!

by BHAWNA S D

2021年11月25日

b​hawna

by Sumanth J

2022年4月12日

good

by MUSA T S

2017年1月24日

good

by Nitika J

2020年8月10日

.

by Flavia F

2020年6月6日

The course is very interesting and the material discussed is all essential knowledge for doing research in the field of social sciences. I also really appreciate the extra material that the teachers offered, the interesting interviews in particular, which presents the student with the perspective of scientists conducting research in the field.

However, the amount of work required for completing the course is significantly above that mentioned in the course description, or at least in one takes the final assignments seriously.

Another problem I had was with understanding the questions of several final assignments and of the final exam. I have a master in cognitive science, one in analytic philosophy, and I am at the final stage of my PhD in philosophy. I have studied my masters in English, and I am writing my PhD thesis in English. Yet, many questions really puzzled me, including the questions regarding the philosophical content of the course.

Given the difficulties I encountered, I wonder whether this course would be really suitable to undergraduates.

Despite that, I am happy to have completed the course and I recognize that I learned a lot during the course. Despite the final assignments requiring more work than I had planned, I had a lot of fun doing them. Furthermore, I really appreciate the teachers' effort (and I believe quite some was needed) to design this course and to offer students more than it was required to provide them with some basic knowledge.

by Julia D C

2021年5月16日

I really enjoyed the course content and its organisation. It’s clearly a really well-made online course. Carefully put together.

Videos and explanations are easy to understand, even with the hardest subjects. The interviews were a nice “breather” between topics. And the assignments varied on difficulty, but all of them were, in my opinion, valuable and helpful in the learning process. I enjoyed the studying process so much I recommended a couple of friends whilst I was doing it.

But I have to say how frustrating and disappointing the grading system was. The peer evaluation is a nice tool and it helps students with their critical analysis, but the completion of the course shouldn’t depend on it.

I personally needed the course certificate for a university application and therefore, worked day and night to complete it during my first month. Also because I couldn’t really afford to pay the second month.

I finished it a few days in advance, but couldn’t receive the certificate in time because there was no grading on my assignments. The final grade needed was received a couple of hours after my credit card was charged for the next month. In the end, I missed the deadline and was charged for an extra month I absolutely didn’t need - as I have already completed all my activities in the previous month.

I’m sad to say that even with such good content, in the end, my experience was negative due to the unfairness of its system.

by Dori H

2020年9月19日

The course content is great. The lectures and materials are good as well. However, the peer review assignment is more than terrible. The idea of collaborative learning is awesome, but pursing which requires certain checking and supporting mechanisms. There is no quality control of the review system. Plagiarism is prevalent!!! I don't understand how people just copy-n-past the same thing and submit as their own work? This happens every week, and people copied the exact same works. I was shocked reading several identical submissions in a row. Such actions of ACADEMIC DISHONESTY should NOT BE TOLERATED. Another huge problem, relating to peer-review, is the discussion forum. There is almost no discussion about the course content. I thought the purpose of forum is to clarify confusion through discussions. But it turns out to be a place to post one's work requesting for review. It's okay for sure, but this should not be the main function of the forum. Thus, overall, unfortunately, I feel that the disfunction of the discussion forum and the lack of countering mechanism against plagiarism tarnished this wonderful course.

by Bryan J

2021年3月25日

Some of the information provided as fact in this course was questionable. One comment that particularly stood out in a video was that "depressions tend to often go away on their own". As a social worker, that is entirely untrue. Also the assignment layout for Week 6 was not reviewed properly and had a slew of incorrect information leading my completion of this class to be delayed by an incorrect statement that an assignment was optional.

However, I did appreciate that consistent examples within each week to help understand that material better rather than several different examples and trying to figure out how they match up. The visuals were helpful as well.