Chevron Left
Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,548件の評価

コースについて

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

人気のレビュー

BP

2019年11月28日

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC

2017年6月7日

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

フィルター:

Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark: 401 - 425 / 506 レビュー

by Rudolf Z

2017年10月29日

Good course. Lectures intoduce main concepts of spark very well. Also good explained how spark works under the hood.

by Jose R

2018年2月8日

Creo que es un curso muy educativo y muy práctico con retos que permiten conocer las herramientas en profundidad

by Andrejs A

2020年1月8日

Specially the last lectures where useful. but there is quite some gap between the lectures and practical task.

by Léo Z

2017年5月7日

Good course. Could be more comprehensive about analysis. Content is all video and Lecture notes would be nice.

by ANKIT S

2018年10月25日

Very good and knowledgeable course. It basically explains about spark core, dataframe, dataset and spark sql.

by Łukasz G

2017年4月25日

Good introduction to Spark. One thing that I didn't like was use of simple Ints and Strings instead of types.

by CarloNicolini

2020年4月7日

Learned a lot of new things, but I would have focused on more but shorter and more variegate assignments.

by Ting T W

2020年5月9日

Nice course, get a fundamental knowledge of spark, scala. Homework is good with a decent level.

by Patrik I

2020年1月13日

The videos had focus issues every now and again. It was still possible to see everything shown

by Jose P A A

2017年6月29日

Good stuff, well presented, but the instructor takes no risks to explain more complex details.

by aknin k

2019年12月25日

Bien mais j'aurais aimé avoir plus d'exercices pour s'entrainer sur les dataframes / datasets

by Chuishi

2018年1月8日

Very good course! Contents are very useful. The lectures are intuitive, thorough and clear.

by Sjoerd T

2017年4月8日

Took a bit long before the course actually started, but when it did, it was a great course!

by Sridhar K

2018年9月7日

Really i get a wonderful experience and it gives the platform to increase my knowledge.

by Federico A G C

2018年6月30日

The instructor is great as well as the material. The exercises are a little off topic

by Khalid S

2018年3月25日

The course didn't flow as smoothly as I would have liked but I still recommend it.

by Piotr G

2017年7月5日

Great content, however some materials are not clear and videos had a few problems.

by Aaron

2019年12月10日

A good course to know about how spark works but not how to use it, I like this!

by Иван М

2017年4月8日

Nice course, could use little fixes. Sometimes practice goes ahead of theory

by Kristoffer V

2019年7月3日

Sometimes the labs included techniques not fully covered by the lectures.

by Faisal A

2020年6月29日

Assignments could be made a little better. The lecture content is great.

by Anuj M

2020年6月21日

Great course, trainer is simply amazing with the delivery and teachings

by Deepak D

2018年11月23日

Not specify & given instruction regarding how to submit the solution

by Pedro M

2017年4月29日

Very interesting course about Spark, it covers a lot of key concepts!

by Vahid S

2020年6月27日

I think programming assignments could be better but still OK.