Chevron Left
Introduction to Systems Biology に戻る

マウントサイナイ医科大学(Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) による Introduction to Systems Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
380件の評価
78件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce the student to contemporary Systems Biology focused on mammalian cells, their constituents and their functions. Biology is moving from molecular to modular. As our knowledge of our genome and gene expression deepens and we develop lists of molecules (proteins, lipids, ions) involved in cellular processes, we need to understand how these molecules interact with each other to form modules that act as discrete functional systems. These systems underlie core subcellular processes such as signal transduction, transcription, motility and electrical excitability. In turn these processes come together to exhibit cellular behaviors such as secretion, proliferation and action potentials. What are the properties of such subcellular and cellular systems? What are the mechanisms by which emergent behaviors of systems arise? What types of experiments inform systems-level thinking? Why do we need computation and simulations to understand these systems? The course will develop multiple lines of reasoning to answer the questions listed above. Two major reasoning threads are: the design, execution and interpretation of multivariable experiments that produce large data sets; quantitative reasoning, models and simulations. Examples will be discussed to demonstrate “how” cell- level functions arise and “why” mechanistic knowledge allows us to predict cellular behaviors leading to disease states and drug responses....

人気のレビュー

SV

Feb 07, 2016

Very useful course in order to learn the basics in systems biology. You only need some training in biology to understand the concepts but the course is easy to follow and very complete.

BR

Aug 08, 2019

Great foundational material and insights from Prof. Iyengar that supports the 'disruptive' trends underway at the intersection of Computational Biology and Medicine.

フィルター:

Introduction to Systems Biology: 26 - 50 / 77 レビュー

by JOHN Q

Jul 18, 2017

fascinating, difficult, and interesting course. Thanks so much!

by Mac D G

Jan 15, 2018

that corse was really beneficial and useful for me. Thanks a lot

by KOUMENE T G I

Mar 02, 2016

Very very very interesting!!! First step in a new field.

by Areej F

Jan 26, 2018

This course was very engaging and extremely insightful.

by 刘文昊

Feb 06, 2016

A good step to learn this area.

by Mrinal V

Dec 29, 2015

3rd week and I am loving it! :D

by Aakash S

Feb 23, 2019

Dr. Iyengar was a cool guy.

by Aditya A D

Jun 10, 2020

Good course content!

by changhao l

May 18, 2016

It's very helpful!

by KEERAN S

Jun 11, 2019

NICE EXPERIENCE

by Saad R U

Apr 28, 2019

excellent

by farzaneh d d

Jul 29, 2016

very good

by MOHAMMED A B

Mar 30, 2016

Excellent

by Mahiban L N

Jun 06, 2020

Good

by Jinwoo J

Aug 19, 2017

NICE

by saroj p

Mar 28, 2016

nice

by Adrián P F

Nov 18, 2018

This sort of course will be kind of useful for sort of improving your knowledge on a sort of concepts related to some kind of areas related to sort of Systems Biology. :) That´s just an innocent joke you will catch if you complete the course. Well, the course could be very useful if you are not especially familiar with Systems Biology, as it was my case. You won't learn how to develop a model from "zero" nor how to use Matlab, but it is a comprehensive compendium of theoretical concepts supported by several well-chosen published examples. It is not easy, but it is not extremely difficult (I completed the entire course in 5 days). Thanks to Dr Ravi Iyengar for the talks and his team for the course. However, the speech should have been more dynamic and fluent sometimes, and with less "sort of" repetitions.

by Miguel Á D C

Apr 06, 2020

The course is excellent at giving an introduction to systems biology as it offers the theorical bases to understand the topic. Although at first the classes and information can appear overwheling, with the time is easy to follow the specific terminology and explanation thanks to this. In some cases I think, however, that some equations or concepts should be explained more detailed, before the explanation with examples.

by Mohamad K K

Feb 13, 2016

It's a great overview, but somehow i didn't feel like it stuck even though i did put in effort to read the articles assigned starting halfway through the course.

Maybe it's because there's so much material that will be covered in a hands on part in the 3rd and 4th parts of this specialization... Would definitely recommend it to everyone interested in biotechnology and systems biology.

by Mia T

Sep 10, 2017

The course has great content, truly a powerful introduction to many aspects and concepts of systems biology. Don't let the 'Introduction' part of the title fool you though; you will only be able to complete, enjoy and learn from this course if you have a strong knowledge base of human biology/physiology. For me it might have been a bit too tough. The instructor was wonderful!

by Kanuri B N

Sep 24, 2017

Indeed the course has provided me an introduction to different basic aspects of Systems Biology such as different experimental technologies and computational models. Being a pharmacologist, I was quite fascinated to go through materials dealing with its application to areas of medicine, pharmacology and therapeutics.

by Luis A M G

Jun 20, 2019

Although this course is a introduction to systems biology, knowledges about calculus are highly recommendable to understand the topics. The content of the course is really good, but the exams can be difficult for beginners as me.

by Rosalia A S M

Jun 12, 2017

It was a very good course. The classes are well prepared and explained. I didn't give it five stars just because the quality of the audio wasn't very good sometimes and it's hard to listen unless you use headphones.

by Ewa B

Feb 07, 2016

Great course! The only change i would ask for: after the test, could you let us see the correct response to the questions we got wrong? Thanks!

by R d S S

Jul 15, 2019

O curso é muito complicado para quem não conhecimento em modelos estáticos específicos.

Mas é muito interessante e muito abrangente.