Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,008件の評価
1,077件のレビュー

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

AS

2021年4月12日

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

MB

2020年7月25日

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 26 - 50 / 1,063 レビュー

by Gabriella P

2017年12月13日

This was a great and informative course. I still find a bit of fault in the fact that all assignments are peer-reviewed. It's hard to learn fully that way. While I appreciate that peer reviewing is incredibly important, especially when it comes to art, it would be nice to have instructor input as well. That being said, I understand that the instructors have a great load with their in-college classes.

by Mariana B B

2020年7月26日

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

by Shomaila K

2020年6月5日

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

by Jillian C

2018年7月29日

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

by Daria D

2020年9月18日

The course materials were excellent. It was a challenging and an interesting course.

Why do I remove a star?

The assessment is based almost entirely on peer review. For me it was an opportunity to see other peoples' work. I tried to give the helpful and detailed reviews. I didn't receive the same in return: the reviews I got where one sentence long (one of them was "good job").

I think that the course should include a feedback from the reviewed on the review, and this should be part of the final score. Something along the lines of: "was this review helpful?"

by Regine A

2020年11月18日

I got to develop my skills when it comes to typography. I've been struggling to choose a typeface to use in my design but with the help of this course, I somewhat learn to be creative by experimenting with letters. It was a short time but it indeed prepared me to widen my skills in this area of graphic designing.

by Irina V

2021年11月22日

The content of the course is informative and easy to understand. The assignments are interesting and can be used for a portfolio. But the assessment system by fellow students is too dependent on the moral qualities of the assessor and, in most cases, is not objective.

by Chloe S

2021年1月8日

This is a nice intro, but it is very historically based, and as I'm more of a `maker`, I felt that I would have rather made more, instead of learning about the past of multiple typefaces. I felt a bit unprepared for the last assignment, which required much more composition practice than what had been taught during the class. The last week could use some more studies of the process to create a typographic poster (the same way Fundamentals of Graphic design focused on the iterative process to build a poster, showing all parameters that could be played with). I find that showing the process is more instructive than showing the final piece and studying it. A good course still, but it could be improved !

by Markus R

2016年4月21日

Very interesting topic, but even for an introductory course not nearly enough to justify a full 4 week course for € 71!

The first course, Fundamentals of Graphic Design, had more content, more (optional) assignments, and covered Typography, too.

by Rania M S M

2017年10月27日

i think some point in the course need more explanation , too much information in little time

i wish that the instructor give his feed back about all the assignments , this will be very helpful and useful , but the course is good and useful

by shubhangi g

2020年8月5日

The overall course was nice and helpful. I just feel like the last assignment should have more parts. Like the course should at least one example video on how to design the poster, before giving an assignment on designing a poster.

by Digby D

2017年12月13日

The first two weeks' material serve as an unexpectedly good sleep aid. The last two offer a very bare-bones explanation of basic typographic principles. Fine for the absolute beginner.

by Megan W

2021年4月30日

Instructions for the assignments weren't great. I made mistakes that I would have caught it I'd had some clarification...and I know I'm not the only one.

by Ramzi O

2020年9月8日

Generic, I feel like a lot of this is found on youtube and can be learnt online. its getting a bit old and needs revision for post 2020 market and ideas

by Dax C

2020年6月15日

The course itself is great, however, the comments were not helpful, wrong and downright disrespectful, coursera should pay attention to this problem.

by Pajera D

2020年5月27日

If you are beginer, this is suit to you. But if you have experience in graphic design field, this is too easy.

by Carlise T

2016年3月31日

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.

by Isabelle P

2022年4月7日

The content is interesting, but the peer reviews are a deal-breaker. Some students don't read the instructions themselves, and grade you based on their interpretation of the instructions.

by Eugenia R

2022年3月17日

S​uper basic. I know is an introductory course but even so, I would not recommend it to anyone.

by Fatteen B

2021年12月31日

too much basic

by Liana B

2021年8月27日

As a beginner in typography, I am very happy I took this course. The videos are, alas, short, but the information in them is very concentrated. Also I really liked the speaker of the course, his way of telling the history of typography was very interesting.

Other than that, I found the assignments very logically structured: we are supposed to focus on one font and through its understanding we learn things and then get to make our typography poster in the end.

I loved this course much more than the "fundamentals course'. Glad I took it.

by Max A M

2021年1月3日

A really nice course, now I know how to format my text properly. I learned the basics of legibility, how to left-justify my text correctly, secrets to make even a small text legible, how to set correct tracking and leading, line breaks. In addition to that, the course provides reference books for those who want to learn the subject more deeply. As a side note, I would also recommend the instructor to reference some documentary movies about typography like Linotype and Helvetica so students would love the subject even more.

by SUVASISH M

2021年11月24日

LOOK ! LEARNING SOFTWARE ONLY IS NOT LEARNING GRAPHIC DESIGN. GRAPHIC DESIGN IS CONVEYING SOME MESSAGE TO THE VIEWER WITH HELP OF PROPER USE OF SHAPES, COLOURS, TYPOGRAPHY, CONTRAST AND IMAGES. THIS COURSE TEACHES YOU THE DETAILS OF TYPOGRAPHY AS WELL AS THE FUNDAMENTALS. A GREAT COURSE !!! I WOULD RECOMMEND YOU TO GO FOR THE FULL GRAPHIC DESIGN SPECIALISATION OF CAL ARTS. IT WILL BE A TRULY GREAT STARTING POINT FOR YOU IF YOU ARE SERIOUS TO BE A PROFESSIONAL GRAPHIC DESIGNER.

by Lyndsaye R R

2021年2月22日

I really enjoyed how there was so much history incorporated into our understanding of the processes of typography and the typefaces themselves. I felt like I was hanging on everything the instructor said - the information and how it was presented was so valuable. Even if typesetting isn't a facet of design you're interested in, it definitely helps you better understand type and how to incorporate it into design.

by Amanda W

2016年4月16日

Great introductory course, that really helped me to understand typography a LOT better. I now get what my friends are on about when they get all excited about typefaces! I really like the way that the course develops your knowledge, and gets you to practice and upgrade your skills as you go. Although it was only 4 weeks, I feel SO much more confident in my knowledge and understanding.