Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Typography の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
5,017件の評価
1,081件のレビュー

コースについて

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

人気のレビュー

AS

2021年4月12日

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG

2020年8月3日

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

フィルター:

Introduction to Typography: 151 - 175 / 1,067 レビュー

by Juan F Z R

2020年4月5日

Como estudiante de arquitectura, este curso me ha ayudado bastante para la diagramación de láminas y el correcto uso de la tipografía. Gracias Coursera y CalArts por este maravilloso curso.

by Junxu L

2017年1月14日

Great Course. It is well-organized and instructive. I highly recommend the lectures, however, the assignments are not very challenging. Also, it is kind of theoretical instead of practical.

by Gustavo S d S

2020年7月20日

Great course on typography, we learn about spacing, form, scale, historical context of typefaces, differences between font and typeface, building posters and challenging assignments. 5/5 !

by Ellie R

2018年9月17日

Highly useful information to beginners in typography with very well made videos. Balanced exercises push students to implement the knowledge they acquired mixed with their own creativity.

by Solange C

2021年6月8日

Learning about the story behind the typefaces was astonishing. This course made me learn some history and think outside the box to make a representation of the typeface on Adobe InDesign

by Pratik R K

2020年6月24日

Fabulous course! Learnt a lot in this course about various typefaces, history of the typeface, and how to use it effectively and efficiently and in a very appealing way. Thank you a lot!

by Maria E S

2021年3月8日

I enjoyed this course so much. It's incredible how the design can totally change with the type you use, and this course helps you notice that. Thank you! Great, friendly instructor too.

by Ahmed H K

2020年8月29日

To some designer typography may be their bread and butter. But to some it is their kryptonite. And I fall into that later group. Hopefully I will have better chance with Typography now.

by Russel Q

2019年6月23日

The discerning use of Type has always escaped me. This class helped me see Type blocks as objects in addition to understanding the characteristics of type. Good class by Anther Kiley.

by SecB_310_Dhanshri P

2021年4月17日

It's a very helpful course for the learners and a kickstart to the Graphic Designing aspirant.

This course helped me for making my basics more clear in Graphic Designing ...Loved it !

by Alim B

2020年12月17日

This is some really professional grade knowledge. I did not know that this course could have such a great impact on my ideology of design. This changed everything I think about design.

by Susan H

2019年5月24日

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

by Rolando R

2021年4月8日

Muy recomendable, principalmente por los conceptos y herramientas.

Las prácticas dan la oportunidad de comparar tu trabajo con el de otros compañeros, lo mejor desde mi punto de vista.

by Rosa P M V

2017年8月26日

I didn't have any idea about all concepts related to Typography. I learned so much that now I see the world in a different way. Now I understand the relation between words and things.

by Jemma H

2020年4月14日

I really enjoyed this course as a photographer who studied design I did not go into detail in my degree as to the specifics of typography. I found it beneficial to fill in some gaps.

by Shreya S

2018年4月8日

This course helped me understand the basics of typography as well as propelled to experiment with layouts, the composition and collaborate with peers. It was fun learning experience.

by resta a

2021年2月9日

There are some things that I don't understand about typography with this course, making me understand the basics of typography, the history of a letter and the inventors of letters.

by Tsvetelina M

2020年4月14日

Typography has always been hard for me. This course makes it way easier to understand typography and how to use it to convey the correct message. I will have so much fun designing..

by Manon P

2019年10月10日

Loved it! I've learned so much about typefaces, typography in general. We use it and see it everyday but we don't really know what's behind it, so this course was very interesting!

by Julie J

2021年8月15日

G​reat course for an introduction to typography. I found the content really interesting and enjoyed completing all the assignments. I felt like I learned a lot from this course.

by Christina

2021年5月10日

It was an excellent course! I could really describe it as the Bible of Typography. I will certainly check the videos again in order to refresh my knowledge.

Thank you very much! 😃

by Yana B

2021年4月9日

Thank you very much for this course, to everyone who worked on it! I learned a lot about the history of fonts, learned how to edit text correctly, and use the correct terminology.

by Nuha f

2020年6月15日

I loved this course. It came with good quality content and easy to follow guidelines. A systematic and practical approach for learning typography and getting a basic idea about it

by ROY L

2021年10月12日

The course was really helpful to understand the importance of typefaces, its proper uses and history when creating brand/s and not just recklessly whipping out from font manager.