Chevron Left
Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,199件の評価
325件のレビュー

コースについて

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

人気のレビュー

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

フィルター:

Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments: 126 - 150 / 318 レビュー

by José A A I

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful!!!

by Gaber M

Mar 25, 2018

I believe this course is one of the most important classes that I have been enrolled in. the reasons which are motivated me to do that are mainly related to the main purpose of the class. "How to think" is a class that i very vital for all the people who are working in any fields of our life. No one can do without the using of the arguments in our life, professors, engineers, lawyers, religious people, lay people, politicians, public leaders and students are in need to be a ware of this class.

I think we can classify this class under the science of the "tools science". By "tools science" I mean, the science which provided us with the ways to understand an end or a purpose. For example, to understand the science of philosophy, I need the tools which help me to understand it, so tools science help us to understand the philosophy, read the history, know our religion, ....etc.

In addition to the importance of the class, I believe professor Walter Armstrong is a remarkable scholar in this field of study. His way of delivering the information, making the knowledge very easy to be understood, giving the idea in a simple way and creating a joyful environment for the class qualifies him to be on of of the best professor to attend this class with him.

In conclusion, I, very, recommend this class to everyone is interested to make his way of speaking and contacting with people sound and true within a simple way.

by Sonia I L G

Dec 13, 2016

Extremely fun and useful. I loved it.

by Esen D

Sep 30, 2016

This course's been a fantastic journey in informal logic and critical thinking. The lectures are very interesting and Walter Sinnott-Armstrong is a fantastic teacher. Thank you very much for this course

by Noelle p

Jan 15, 2017

Brilliant course! I learned so much about how to evaluate arguments and pick them apart to understand the reasoning process behind them. I have been looking for a course just like this for ages and I am so glad I finally found it! Highly recommended.

by katrina h à c

Oct 06, 2017

entertaining and informative!

by Abdullah E

Sep 22, 2017

This course is very helpful. It starts from zero basics and highly simplified. Also, it's almost comprehensive.

by YL Z

Jun 28, 2018

This is an interesting , easy-to-understand and useful course to understand arguments, and to put thinking into a rational perspective.

by haileemiller

Aug 31, 2016

A wonderful lesson that many of us should take a look and learn it! It's a lesson to understanding why.

by esraa a

Jul 31, 2017

I'm very happy, excited and Thanks to all

by Jean N

Jan 01, 2017

An experience fascinating!!!

by Debbie T

Sep 03, 2016

Excellent = rating based on completion of week 1

by Sania N A

Jun 20, 2017

The professor is really fun and he thought the course clearly

by VINAYAK K

May 11, 2017

While I did previously realize the importance of presumptions in arguments, the course explained the importance of suppressed premises well. This course was really useful.

by Sunil K S

Jul 19, 2017

Excellent course

by 刘子仟

Dec 21, 2016

A great logic course for beginers.

by Maxiaoyan

Jul 31, 2017

my favorite course, very inspiring and clearly

by 王鑫

Aug 18, 2017

really good and the professors are humorous.

by Carlos A R F

Jan 09, 2018

It's an excellent course. If you finish this course, you could validate and analize arguments. The teacher is funny and his explanations are pretty good.

by HARSH P

Apr 10, 2018

This course was awesome. It is short and sweet , and you learn a lot about arguments and how to evaluate them.

by Dayton H

Jan 15, 2017

I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone who would like to better understand arguments. Not only is it helpful in general, but especially helpful in the workplace. Being able to form a logical, sound and validating argument is important when leading and working towards a greater good.

by Gustavo A G A

Jun 28, 2017

Excepcional curso que lleva a cabo lo que para muchos es imposible enseñar: el vínculo entre la Lógica como disciplina, y su aplicación en la vida diaria. Un gran maestro que logra desarrollar y hacer comprender ideas tan complejas a un público no especializado. Altamente recomendable.

by Omar T V

May 04, 2017

really great, congratulations

by Daniel B L d S

Dec 24, 2017

This is course is very good in fact. It goes smoothly from the very basic principles up to the intermediary mechanisms of argumentation. The only thing I can suggest that may make it even better is to reduce the length of some classes.

by James G

Sep 27, 2016

Much harder than I anticipated and some of the concepts were difficult for me to grasp. However, I think it just takes practice! Interesting and in depth look at how arguments are formed and work. Thanks!