Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas に戻る

カーティス音楽学校(Curtis Institute of Music) による Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
507件の評価
121 レビュー

コースについて

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

人気のレビュー

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

フィルター:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas: 1 - 25 / 120 レビュー

By Cary L C C

May 06, 2019

Absolutely fabulous teaching about music.

By elizabeth c

Feb 07, 2019

Phenomenal!

By Harry Y

Jan 26, 2019

Jonathan Biss communicates, so profoundly, the essence of the musical experience. He does it with consummate authority, both as an exceptional pianist and as a lover of Beethoven's music. So many MOOC courses end up sagging. This one never sags; it soars to and through its finale.

By Joe A

Jan 06, 2019

The lecturer lives and breaths Beethoven. Highly recommended.

By Adrienne F

Aug 26, 2018

This course presents a totally interesting view of the Beethoven Sonatas, zeroing in on a few of them since an exhaustive view would take so many more hours to present. Jonathan Biss is a wonderful pianist and lecturer and the course is fascinating. It has helped me tremendously in both my enjoyment of the importance and variety of the sonatas and in re-evaluating my own performances. Thank you so much for this insight, Jonathan Biss - it is invaluable.

By Luciano A d C

Aug 22, 2018

Oh Prof Biss, you're such a great pianist ! Really gifted ! Congratulations!

I'll search some of your recordings.

Very good course. Thanks for the opportunity !

From below the Equator,

Luciano

By Graeme H

Apr 10, 2018

Outstanding course. Not sure why I haven't (allegedly) finished this since there was nothing due or not finished - however, no great consequence.

By Hsiang L L W

Mar 13, 2018

This is a fabulous course with insight to Beethoven's sonatas. I've been playing piano for 27 years, and I am learning so much from this course! It was a very enjoyable learning experience. I would recommend this course to everyone.

By Phillip C

Mar 09, 2018

The lectures given by Jonathan Biss are nothing short of excellent and inspirational. I am certainly wanting to continue my music education.

By Priscilla C

Feb 11, 2018

This course and the other two with Johnathan Biss have greatly expanded my appreciation and understanding of Beethoven's sonatas

By Nenad R

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent lectures by excellent professor

By Joy S

Dec 18, 2017

I signed up for this because I took a longer class on classical music and loved Beethoven week. This course did not disappoint: instructor's knowledge is comprehensive and his ability to just sit down and play any bit of Beethoven at whim is impressive. Truly enjoyed by me.

By Johhn W

Oct 06, 2017

The music and the pianist are as good as it gets. The structure of the course, however, is weak in that each of the sonatas focused on are really not easily taken apart and analyzed. Even if they were what would be the value of that? O suggest that Biss stress, what he actually does to a minor degree, the sonatas of other masters and show how Beethoven is the master and give plenty of comparison selections.

By Daniel H

Aug 29, 2017

Jonathan Biss discusses these cornerstones of the piano repertoire with such incredible depth of knowledge, vast understanding of the historical context, incredible insight into the compositional process, and, most importantly, an unending passion and heartfelt love for this music. I not only feel like I learned more than I ever could have discovered on my own, I feel a deeper love for these sonatas than I did before, and feel incredibly inspired by Jonathan's own passion for Beethoven and his piano music. Anyone even remotely interested in piano music, or Beethoven, or classical music, or really any music, MUST take this course.

By Warren S

Aug 29, 2017

Jonathan Biss presented a brilliant and in-depth understanding of Beethoven's Sonatas. I appreciated his extraordinary artistry as a concert pianist.

I have been working on many of these pieces for the last three years and found the course truly assisted in my own ability to play the Sonatas capturing Beethoven's insights into the technical, philosophical and spiritual dimensions of these Sonatas. I am ready and waiting for is next course offering!

Warren Stone

By Steven P

Aug 12, 2017

Just fantastic. Love the info and love the playing!

By Amparo R S

Aug 10, 2017

Interesantes tópicos y buen análisis.

By Emma M B

Aug 08, 2017

La música de Beethoven me gusta mucho y más la manera que fue impartida por Jonathan Biss. Felicidades a Coursera y al Prof. Biss. gracias.

By Jesus I

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course by Prof. Biss

Looking forward to getting more sonatas in these lectures, especially Opus 110 and 111

I also recommend lectures by Andras Schiff on all of Beethoven sonatas (found on youtube)

By Emily F

Jul 05, 2017

Excellent course that is accessible and easy to understand. A wonderful combination of music history and listening.

By Abhijit B

Jul 01, 2017

It is a beautiful course for the fans of classical music and specially for the fans of Beethoven! Prof. Jonathan is really passionate about the music of Beethoven which is evident from his style of analyzing his sonatas. Although sometimes the course becomes too technical we enjoy it once we listen to the music and understand the nuances of the composition. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and will join next course too.

By Sebastián A P

Jun 05, 2017

Mindblowing, exquisite explanations and a broad look on Beethoven's work. Simply magnificent.

By Maria E H

May 08, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online! Whether you are a musician or not, this course will improve your appreciation of classical music!

By Tom M

May 04, 2017

Learned so much. Mr. Biss is an excellent teacher.

By Marco M

Apr 19, 2017

Insightful travel throughout Beethoven's music writing style, and more generally on musical structure of piano sonatas before and after Beethoven's contribution.