Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data に戻る

カリフォルニア大学サンディエゴ校 による Introduction to Big Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
10,510件の評価

コースについて

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

人気のレビュー

DK

2021年8月11日

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

HM

2019年9月8日

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

フィルター:

Introduction to Big Data: 2351 - 2375 / 2,406 レビュー

by Matthew W

2018年9月30日

Would have been fine as a 1 week introduction to the material but as a stand alone course was insufficient.

by Alejandro R

2016年9月1日

Most of the course is providing useless statistics, i didn't enjoy it and it's a really basic course.

by Sergei P

2019年7月29日

A very basic and still confusing set of slides. It's much more productive to google Hadoop wiki.

by John B

2020年8月14日

Some very basic information, minimal hands-on work, and very picky tests/quizzes

by AINA N B Z

2020年12月10日

content boring. slide not attractive enough to attract beginner to learn.

by Pavitra

2020年9月8日

I want to enroll this course ....and I'm unable to do it

by Brendan P

2016年11月22日

Quite poor. Just a lot of talk and nothing practical.

by Jaivardhan D

2020年7月9日

Nothing Practical just talking and lots of talking

by Mehedi H P

2020年7月3日

The last quiz i think that should not given

by MH N

2017年3月16日

In my opinion, a very basic course...

by Damon A

2017年7月1日

This course was really basic.

by Jennifer S

2018年2月19日

too broad of explanations

by Maurvin S

2020年6月28日

theory-oriented course

by Petar S

2016年9月19日

Too philosophical.

by Khaled

2016年11月30日

very boring

by Richard C W

2019年7月22日

The initial presentation is a bit bloated, naming all the ways big data can be useful could have been 5 minutes. The default configuration of oracle VB and cloudera quickstart did not work for me at all (windows 7 64bit, 32g of ram), I had so many issues that I spent much more time trying to get that to work than I did everything else in this class. Finally, the course at no point mentioned any of the potential social/legal issues of using dig data, just what the value of tracking information. I have done a few certificates from either EDX or Coursera, and this was the worst one.

by Travis U

2020年7月22日

These UCSD "big data" course series is not great. I am pretty sure the "instructors" are reading straight from a public wiki. The dropping of acronyms and buzz words indicates the instructors are not familiar with the core content nor able to actually instruct. Glossing over actual execution and installation of sample virtual machines is abhorrent and completely ruins what minimal value a student may have learned. There are many free YouTube videos on Hadoop that are more informative than this course series.

by Jason R

2017年10月20日

I found this course mostly vague and the videos highly redundant and unorganized into a useful building of knowledge. This quizzes were hard but not because the material is difficult, but only because it quizzed you on subjective things the lecturer said instead of objective big data knowledge. Only useful thing I took away from this courses was a general view of the Zoo and the cloudera install. I think this course can be combined with the second course int he specialization and then cleaned up.

by POOJA Y

2019年9月23日

this course is really all about theory. Initially i liked the course but then i realised instructor is just reading a book instead of explaining the topics practically. I wont reccommend this course if you want to learn it practially. I suggest dont buy course in first glance, first go with the audit mode and see if you really liked the content or not.

by RUPINDER P

2017年8月23日

Unable to download and install cloudera vm instructions. Even after putting the request in discussion forum and flagging the assignment with details to issue. There is no assistance. Wasted so much time and unable to complete the course . Can't move forward to next step. There should be a message center to connect with instructors.

by Florian H

2021年4月15日

The Hadoop assignment is a disaster. Cloudera VM didn't work and there was no help in the forum. I needed to workaround the last assignment so that I finally can move on after two days trying. I hope the next courses in this specialization will be better.

Please update this course or delete it completly

by Juan A H M

2020年5月13日

The course do not have technical support when practicing with HADOOP or installing the Virtual Machine. This is supposed to be for Marketing Managers too who are not engineers or Informatic experts in this issue. We pay for having support not for reading slices from 10 years ago!!!!!

by Cesar S

2020年11月28日

Most of the information is useless, there spent two weeks talking about how you should manage your data that is something you can find anywhere in the internet. The only useful thing are the videos about Hadoop in the last week.

by Nick G

2020年3月10日

No peers are available to grade assignments. My credit card was dinged because no one grade my assignment within the 7 days, so the course was incomplete. To top it off, most of the labs don't work, and run on an obsolete VPS.

by Robin B

2016年9月24日

Very disappointing. Poorly written quizes and presentations. The level of the course is far too basic to be of value, but is required for the specialization. Why not offer an option to test out of basic introduction courses?