Chevron Left
Astro 101: Black Holes に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Astro 101: Black Holes の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
178件の評価
55件のレビュー

コースについて

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

人気のレビュー

PD

Feb 16, 2019

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot. The graphics and illustrations were fun and informative, and I also enjoyed the food scenes - helped stick it in my memory. Thanks much!

TB

Aug 07, 2019

I enjoyed the course. It covered all the areas necessary to understand black holes and the physics behind these mysterious phenomena. It was enjoyable and entertaining as well.

フィルター:

Astro 101: Black Holes: 1 - 25 / 56 レビュー

by Sarvesh B

May 28, 2019

Excellent course, gives a lot of knowledge and understanding about space, could have included a little more math

by Remus-Andrei P

Dec 10, 2018

Suitable for people aged 18 to 24 who want to learn about black holes (at an introductory level).

Suitable for first year University students who took courses in Mathematics, Physics or Astronomy.

Suitable for amateur astronomers who want to gain knowledge about black holes and the life cycles of stars.

The lectures are enthusiastic and the course format is easy to follow.

by John R

Nov 30, 2018

Excellent course providing a great high level overview of the current science of black hole physics.

by Hussain Y

Dec 25, 2018

=

by Akshay S

Dec 30, 2018

A great course and want to make some more of these courses for other areas or fields

by Scotty P

Jan 15, 2019

I loved this course, and I grew to absolutely adore the instructors. It's readily apparent that they had fun putting it all together. And the production staff! How fun were the animations, graphics, live shots and edits? All the way fun! Thanks everyone! The only problem with this course? Astro 105, 201, 314 and higher level specialities aren't yet available. More U of A Astrophysics courses, please. You guys rock.

by Pamela D

Feb 16, 2019

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot. The graphics and illustrations were fun and informative, and I also enjoyed the food scenes - helped stick it in my memory. Thanks much!

by ABHIJEET N

Feb 18, 2019

This is the best course for Astrophysics lovers and it clears all my basic doubts.

by Krishna

Mar 20, 2019

I never felt bored while studying this course. 4 Professors are teaching in their amazing styles. Great course for beginners.

by Stephen T

Mar 28, 2019

Super fun and interesting! This course made me a lot more interested in the universe outside our own atmosphere, and now I want to buy a telescope...

by Thiago d S V

Jan 27, 2019

very best course that I have seen

by Hermann S

Jan 27, 2019

Thank you for this course. Had a great time and learned lots of new and interesting stuff. cheers ^_^ (too much food references, though :D)

by Juan V

Feb 10, 2019

Un excelente curso. Un curso muy actualizado con recientes descubrimientos, pero que explica muy bien los principios físicos involucrados con la formación y desarrollo de los agujeros negros. Una excelente combinación de exposiciones de 4 excelentes profesores que exponen muy bien los principios. Un curso que trasmite lo que conocemos pero también lo que desconocemos de los agujeros negros, explica muy bien como los científicos desarrollan teorías y las pruebas por medio de la observación rigurosa. Felicitaciones.

by Ian T

Feb 01, 2019

very good high level introduction

by Denise H

Apr 13, 2019

Watching this course was a lot of fun. I was able to repeat things I already knew and learned even more new things. Because the way things are explained I was able to keep up until the end even if I didn't understand every single detail yet. This course is a really great way of learning about Black Holes.

by Hatish G

Apr 09, 2019

Very good content and helpful in understanding the concepts of black hole without any confusion.

by Aroosha W

Apr 11, 2019

I am so grateful to learn this course from the Alberta university.

and Thankyou professors. :) Keep it up

by Niyathi Y

Mar 03, 2019

I am 14 years old. This course is the bestttt!! I love how the teachers discuss the fundamentals and the basic concepts of the course before they dive into the topic. Right now I am totally loving this course. I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in astronomy and astrophysics. You don’t even need to have a lot of pre requisite knowledge for this. You can directly start it. The professors are really good at explaining the concept. This. Course. Is. Amazing.

by Syed M A R

Mar 15, 2019

I gained a lot of insights about the behavior of the black-holes in a very organized manner. I am thankful to all the instructors.

by Marek W

Jan 06, 2019

Very simple course, but in not mathematical words explain, how to born, live and died Black Holes.

by CRAN

Sep 08, 2018

Excellent cours. Clair, pédagogique. Les modules sont très bien structurés, en couvrant toute la matière des trous noirs. Félicitations à l'équipe de l'université d'Alberta. J'espère que cette équipe puisse présenter un autre projet !

by Antonia T B

Oct 10, 2018

One of the best courses on Coursera about Astronomy. Super exciting! Great lectures, amazing science about the mysterious and fascinating black holes and not too impossible quizzes (unlike other Astronomy courses here in Coursera that have impossible quizzes). A fascinating journey into the most fearful spots of the Universe. Thanks a lot. Many greetings from Spain / Antonia

by AMARESH K

Oct 27, 2018

At the outset I sincerely thank Dr Sharon Morsink, Dr Jeanette Gladstone, Curtis Brown, Dr Ross Lockwood and Mr Stephen Lane for their excellent lectures and videos. All of you have guided me wonderfully to understand and pass the course on Black Holes. I am a retired Senior Manager in a Bank and am presently staying in the city of Visakhapatnam, India. Though my line of job is different, I have been very curious and highly interested to learn about the space, stars and Astronomy which is a very vast subject.

All your lectures are highly useful. I am planning to go through all the 10 modules of the course again and again to be thorough and not to have any doubt. I wonder if I can have access to the material even after receiving the Certificate. Due to some technical problem in my Laptap, I could not download any of your video lessons but I could only copy the printed lessons. Hence I am requesting to have access to any of your video lessons of this course.

I will be thankful if you can inform whether the Certificate will be sent by Airmail or to my email and if so how much time it may take.

I thank all my teachers and experts once again.

With regards,

AMARESH K

by Michael B

Oct 27, 2018

Great course! Does a good job explaining the current state of our understanding of the most complicated objects in the universe, as well as the challenges and cutting edge technology of modern scientific observations. I've always wanted to learn about black holes and this was a great opportunity to get up to date knowledge from the top experts in the field, presented in an interactive and easily understand way for non-scientists

by Robert C C

Nov 01, 2018

G