Chevron Left
Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
760件の評価
205件のレビュー

コースについて

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

人気のレビュー

GS

Jun 21, 2020

This course was very didactic and easy to understand. I liked the way that the different theories about each subject were presented, allowing me to build my own opinion and perspective on each matter.

SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

フィルター:

Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases: 176 - 199 / 199 レビュー

by Hunter S

Sep 25, 2017

YES

by Natalie E

Feb 06, 2017

G

by Timothy K

Mar 07, 2020

I think overall this a great course for those looking for a refresher of the foundations of the constitution and bill of rights or those looking for a comprehensive introduction. Personally, I took this course so I could reinforce things I have studied before. As for the pros, I really liked how the course went through each amendment and contextualized it through case examples. There were some cases that I had not previously heard about. For instance, the cases that prompted the exclusionary rule of the fourth amendment. Moreover, the professor did an excellent job at presenting both sides of constitutional arguments which conflict Supreme Court justices. For the most part, the professor was very straight-forward in his explanations although there were times where he seemed to go off on a tangent. In particular, Week 4's lecture on campaign finance didn't really go into detail about the issue but rather just seemed to ramble. So that brings me to my cons. I thought the professor's demeanor was a bit too contrived so I think it would have been great if maybe he had another person (perhaps a student?) who he was interacting with to make it more of a natural presentation. In addition, one of the major downsides were the supplementary tasks or lack thereof. Most of the course was passive learning in which you are just watching lecture after lecture. I would have given the course a 5-star rating had there been sequential discussions with content-related prompts. I have seen these in other courses and I find them a great way to reinforce concepts and see how other people perceived the content. While there were quizzes, I didn't find the quizzes useful in retaining key concepts. They were overly specific more about facts than concept comprehension. It would have been better if questions were posed as hypothetical situations and the quiz-taker had to decide which amendments or clauses this relates to. I think this might be a better way to gauge whether students comprehended the concepts rather than the specific content. Overall, however, it was a course that was both a comprehensive and concise overview of the constitution as it relates to the Supreme Court. I definitely feel like my knowledge on this has been expanded. I now see the 14th amendment as one of the most significant and contentious amendments. I thank the professor for taking his time to make this course as I think it can help both people new to US politics and people with preexisting knowledge of US politics. The last lecture on health care was particularly insightful! I didn't even think how it interstate commerce could be invoked to justify the individual mandate. Good stuff.

by Panda

Jun 07, 2020

Solid effort at explaining key historical developments surrounding the Constitution's history, and in applying the Constitutional provisions and amendments to key Supreme Court cases throughout history. Would have liked a little more in-depth analysis of specific key cases, or perhaps discussion to interpret the case briefs prior to the lectures, or visa versa. Some of professor's summaries of the cases are extremely brief on relevant details like procedural history, or other issues presented to the courts.

by William R H

Oct 12, 2019

Good course. Even though I would have liked to see more up to date material, this course taught me some things about our Constitution that I wasn't aware of. I enjoyed answering some of the discussion questions but was extremely disappointed that I did not receive any responses when I posed a question to the professor. But again, overall, it was interesting and set up appropriately to learn. Thank you.

by Kevin A C

Aug 15, 2016

The course is well done, and informative however I would disagree with the instructors assertion that originalists and living law philosophers have no real argument it's just a misunderstanding. It sounds like doublethink from 1984 the book by George Orwell. To argue that we are changing the application of something without changing its meaning! Other than not he's pretty good.

by Melanie R

May 01, 2017

It was really easy to listen and read each course. But I felt that some information was inaccurate. In order to get a passing on a test ,I had to pick the answer I know you wanted me to. But that answer was incorrect. My boyfriend said it was propaganda. ...but I rated it 4 stars ,because of ease of information.

by Miura R

Jul 11, 2018

The videos can seem kind of awkward, so I followed along with the transcript at the bottom. Overall, very helpful! I used this course to prepare for a Constitutional Law class that I begin this fall!

by Nichole S

Jul 04, 2016

Could have more analytical and interactive elements. I'm not a fan of quiz based assessment. Otherwise, the information is presented well.

by Abdihamid H

Jun 19, 2018

very interesting and benefiting course. Don't miss out this course

by Joseph H

Jan 07, 2017

Pretty informative for the amount of time required.

by alex s

Jun 21, 2017

Would also like more discussions and a paper due.

by Brian T

Feb 24, 2020

Excellent overview and review of fundamentals.

by Nona

Jul 26, 2017

Great course, but could be more challenging.

by samantha m

Apr 18, 2019

lots of information and easy to comprehend!

by universalbri@gmail.com

Apr 20, 2020

Thank you, sir, for presenting this class!

by Josephine W

Jun 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Thank you.

by Elizabeth R

Jul 24, 2020

Solid refresher on the Constitution.

by Ben N

Jun 25, 2020

Kermit's mullet in week 4 is nice.

by Luis M M E

May 03, 2020

Muy bueno

by Law B

Aug 07, 2019

Unfortunately, I was pretty dissapointed by the estremism liberalilstic views of the assigned teacher, no wonder he does not practice Law

by Ericka B

Mar 31, 2018

A broad overview with a bit of political ambivalence

by Christopher E W

Jan 05, 2020

Not as much depth or detail on the SC cases.

by Paul B

May 24, 2020

Very politically biased. A true example of what is wrong with education on all levels in this country.