Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,144件の評価
4,217件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3976 - 4000 / 4,087 レビュー

by Rami A

Mar 29, 2016

Really poor quality of the material.

by Matt G

Feb 06, 2016

Very little information for the cost. I was done with the whole course in a few hours. The review in the next course covered most of the same things. It certainly wasn't worth the price.

by Abhishek K

Mar 28, 2018

Very basic

by Nicholas B

Mar 17, 2016

Barely any depth

by Fan Q

Feb 28, 2016

Useless

by Scott T

Jan 06, 2016

Didn't provide much info beyond the basics of git. Could have skipped this one.

by EDDY L

May 08, 2016

B

by Agustin G

Jun 20, 2016

It's an extremely basic introduction... which doesn't help in much for the next session (R Programming)

by Brian B

Apr 11, 2016

Extremely Git centric

by Matthew W

Apr 02, 2016

Extremely remedial. Not worth the time or cost on it's own, unfortunately it's required for the specialization.

by Sem O

May 11, 2016

The course is well structured and provides a good introduction, however, I expected a bit more from a course that costs 20 pounds than just a few clips on how to install and set-up software/create a github account etc. This information is available for free online on the websites of the respective software.

I understand that such an introduction is needed for the course, but then do not offer it as a separate 20 pound module. Instead include it for free with any other 'specialization' you can buy.

by 潇湘夜雨动清愁

May 07, 2016

the speech is too fast to be catch up with and doesn't have much useful contents

by Patrick B

Jun 30, 2016

Not sure this should be a course that is charged ....

on to the next one now.

by Adam D

Jun 12, 2017

If you can install R & RStudio and sign up for Github, then you're 80% finished with this course before you start.

by Neil J

Jun 17, 2016

Extraordinarily basic. Entire thing can be done in about two hours.

by Doug E

Jul 28, 2016

Very basic

by Chloe B

Aug 29, 2016

The course is fine, however its more an introduction than a course. The course in itself doesn't teach much, should have been the first week of subsequent courses. I went through all 4 weeks in 1 week, the whole course is mostly about downloading different tools and signing up for accounts.

What I didn't like is that the teachers seem to be really concerned about their reputation and workload. Its repeated several times that you shouldn't email the teachers with questions and that online questions should be of a certain standard, its understandable but its a bit patronizing. I think teachers should be available for questions, even if its only through the forum (which they are) Its understandable that there are a lot of students so direct emails might overwhelm but that's just part of the job, we pay for the course, we should also get support when its not working for us.

Overall I wouldn't advise taking this course if you aren't taking it as part of the specialization.

by OMEED R

Dec 30, 2016

I mean, it's replicated in the next classes, and it has silly questions in the practice quizzes. It's not worth it. Just kill this.

by Hugo R

Sep 29, 2017

Isn't very usefull, I'm impatient to start the R programming courses.

by Andrew W

Apr 20, 2017

Very, very, very basic intro. The entire 4 weeks could have (and should have) been condensed into 1 week.

by Lyn S

Aug 10, 2017

Not bad, but certainly not good. I cannot believe there is a style of teaching where you never get to see the best way to do something. I can slog thru the programming, but I doubt it's the best way to do something, but I never get to see how something should have been done.

by Karan B

Oct 09, 2017

Very average do not feel I learnt much. Still not sure if it's over or not since i've submitted a peer review assignment and cannot go any further.

by Lang Y

Oct 25, 2017

Too little content. Can finish the entire course in a few hours. Could be compressed into the first week of a course

by Brendan L

Mar 28, 2017

Very basic course, I was able to complete the 4 weeks on content in a weekend. I would recommend skipping this module and moving directly to the R Programming course.

by Tarik G

Apr 28, 2018

I can see that the lecturer's intention was giving an overview by mentioning all different topics, however, it just got me confused. I wish it was more into a solo topic. It would be great if it was given only git/github lectures, so we, the students, can be more comfortable when it comes to uploading files in the following courses. I see in the discussion forums that github is a problem for most of the students in the forums.