Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,218件の評価
4,235件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 4026 - 4050 / 4,103 レビュー

by Diego V B P

Mar 11, 2019

"You passed this course! Your grade is 100.00%."

I feel like I have not learned much.

Even though I have taken 100%, as you can see above, the course tackles very little programming. And the final project, it asks to do some activities, but when looking at the forum, I saw that what was talked about, had a level of knowledge that the course had not taught. But worst of all, was receiving financial help from 1/9 courses. Would not it be for the whole course? They are complementary. What will I do with 1 certified course, which as you can see my complaint above, I have not learned anything?

by Charlie Z

Apr 08, 2019

Do not take this course if you want to get a job in industry. Python now dominates industry and R is basically obsolete. I will be switching to a course in Python.

by Lia L

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

by Ivan Y

Oct 26, 2017

The course contains almost no valuable information. It is not required to spend 4 weeks for it.

by Deleted A

Jun 12, 2017

The first week has one assignment: a five question quiz that reviews the syllabus, course/program design and purpose. As someone with multiple degrees and a PhD significant other - both of us work, and are successful, in data analysis and research. My career is centered around Business Intelligence. I was hoping to engage a program that would help me develop R programming skills and build my skill set. After watching all the videos twice, taking notes, completing almost five hours of online research into the topics that I encountered during my first attempt at the quiz, having my significant other review the topics & questions with me, I still failed to pass the quiz after ten attempts. Hence, a syllabus quiz is my roadblock to moving forward in the program. This is not pride, I am not imagining myself to be a genius who is insulted by this failure. Frankly, no one is stupid enough to have not been able to comprehend a syllabus and course desi

by AUNG K

Dec 02, 2016

Not worth 29$ considering you could take away very little from this course.

by Alexandru B

Feb 01, 2016

Very short and just a basic overview on how to install a few tools that most of them I already had installed. All this course content could be packed into an introductory lesson instead of having to pay for it. I abandoned the specialisation because of this, I know it's a big business but at least you need to offer some value for the money

by Luke S

Jun 04, 2016

Way too basic for the price - almost no content - this is just setup - I resent paying for setup instructions.

by Isaac A G

Apr 23, 2016

It has almost no content and isn't actually useful. I've heard later classes in the series are way tougher, so the ramp up isn't at all good.

by Valentin D

Jan 19, 2016

Completely useless. Just a number of boring videos of what you may possibly learn in Data Science Specialization.

by Kishan S

May 06, 2018

It was useless for me; as i have used R studio previously

by Dimosthenis S

May 13, 2016

This course was a loss of time and money. Except from week 3 material, the rest can be found on the internet and should be required by everyone who wants to take that specialization. This course doesn't worth it, it's just to take extra money from anyone who wants to learn about Data Science.

by Amlan D

May 22, 2016

This should not be a course in itself

by Gary N A

May 09, 2017

Poorly organized. Poorly communicated. No reliable source of assistance with technical problems.

by Parth G

Jan 11, 2016

It's a course which is designed to preview the other courses. It could easily be eliminated

by Warren

Feb 09, 2016

Not Free

by Francisco S

Mar 28, 2016

Not worth the price. Extremely basic stuff spread very thin over too much time just to be able to charge for it.

by Abdelrahman A

May 16, 2017

Very bad course so far. Very little detail and Assignments are very hard to solve. Worst $500 dollars spent in my life, and the course isn't worth even $10!

I'm an online instructor myself and the quality of the course isn't worth its price!

by Justine H

Apr 05, 2016

Not useful at all if it's audited.

by unteachable

May 17, 2016

By far to expansive for what you get. Anyway, thanks for the hint about swirl.

by alazarek

May 12, 2016

Quizzes were based off of extremely high level overview videos not covering anything specifically or deep diving into anything. When applying the git commands covered, numerous errors arose. Overwhelmingly academic course with very little hands on. This is not for anyone actually looking to work in this field, but for someone looking to be able to talk about this field.

by Andrew C

Sep 21, 2016

$38 is a lot to pay for tutorials about how to install software. This course takes only 20 minutes to complete. It is also obsessed with command line interfaces. There's a reason that they were left behind in the 80s. It does cover GUI software like Rstudio, which is ignored for the rest of the course. How about something on the desktop Github version? https://desktop.github.com/ So much easier to use.

by pavani

Oct 17, 2016

very bad

by Pietro B

Jan 26, 2017

I have no idea why you called it course, since there was nothing inside.

by Anirban C

Jun 03, 2017

Worthless course. There should have been no need for this course and the fact that they charge money for this is disappointing. This module could have been easily merged with the next module (R- Programming). Just a few pages with instructions on how to install the required softwares and repositories would have sufficed.