Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
21,967件の評価
4,412件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3751 - 3775 / 4,288 レビュー

by Steven M

Feb 12, 2016

Very basic material, but a good introduction and a necessary step to ensure a baseline of knowledge for future courses in the data science specialization. I would only take this course if you are interested in the specialization otherwise save your money and google the info you need.

by Noah M

Feb 11, 2016

Insufficient available project available for review and thus unable to pass course due to technicality. This is a major problem. The course should still be passable even in the absence of sufficient other projects to review, which is a problem that no student has any control over.

by Dane S

Sep 08, 2017

I was a little put off by having to grade my peers and it felt like the final task required a few bits of information that hadn't been previously covered. I felt some more examples could be useful in getting people adjusted to GIT. Not a bad first course but not what I expected.

by Luis C

Apr 29, 2016

The materials are good, but it felt like this class should have a been a 1-week introductory lesson to Data Science. It is definitely now a 4-week class, maybe a a 2-week one if you take very easy. You end up with a basic setup for the next class. That I found very useful.

by Sharon F

Feb 15, 2016

Very light & not really consistent with the heavy workload of subsequent courses. Felt it could have been much much stronger explaining GitHub- which shows up as a problem in latter courses strongly suggesting that toolbox does not effectively cover GitHub for newbies

by E. G F

Jan 27, 2018

One thing to note, I am using a work computer, so our IT support had to add the software required. This was inconvenient for them because I had to put in several support requests as I progressed through the course even though I installed as much as I was allowed to.

by Pedro V Q d C

Sep 27, 2016

I think the course was too superficial and didn't cover enough topics to be a standalone course. It could be part of a greater course. My feeling is that this wasn't worth $30 dollars, and that such a small course was put together just to charge for one more module.

by Ryan W

Aug 21, 2018

As an intro, this course is probably pretty good. I, however, already had experience with R (although the refresher was useful). However, if you've taking a data science or machine learning course recently, I'd give this one a pass and head on to the next course.

by Shady E

Nov 12, 2016

Thank you for the fantastic effort. Here's some constructive feedback on the course.

It's a very basic course, could have included more material. Also, the audio quality is not that great. To make it better, I'd Include more walkthroughs for Git and GitHub.

by Diego L

Mar 08, 2017

Too little substance, though I do expect the rest of the series to be good as I take this as a setup course and my expectations for those are high. Having said that, perhaps it would be wise to charge less for this initial course or even offer it for free.

by James M

Dec 01, 2016

Really tough to review this class outside of the context of the other elements of the data scientist specialization. What was presented was straight-forward and quite well done. After I know how well prepared we are for next classes, I will re-evaluate.

by Ced W

Apr 20, 2016

This is a course to get you set up with all of the tools that you will need to go forward. No hard homework, but you will be ready to work. The intros into various aspects of the curriculum also serve to prepare you mentally for the coming weeks.

by Vasilis S

Feb 18, 2016

Useful steps for starting the specialisation, but should this really be a course that people are paying for? Come on guys. By the way, some R programming concepts could be introduced here and de-clutter the congested/crammed R programming course.

by Sunny S

Apr 04, 2017

This course is a good start to give an overview on the toolbox you should be aware of to specialize in Data science or analysis. You don't need 4 weeks to complete to complete it! At best you could complete within a week or 2 days. Best of luck!

by Nicolas B P

Oct 04, 2018

Not sure if we will come back to Git, but i thought that in this section it was covered way too superficially. Maybe the idea was that we should get to it ourselves, but i guess my expectation was different. Other than that, the course was ok.

by Oscar C M

Jan 17, 2017

Some video explanations are not so clear, so will be great to highlight some concepts, theory and methods or technical (with some reading), also will be great exhibit the latest news about toolbox(that is the current topic) or data scientists

by Rosina P

Aug 12, 2017

This course stays on the surface and doesn't delve too deep, probably in order to not scare off people who are new to the subject. From what I've seen in the second course, the material becomes a lot more difficult, which I was glad to see.

by Francois B

May 29, 2016

Would have like to jump straight to the material. Although I understand some may need it, the command line course was pretty basic. This course on it's own doesn't give much. One can get started with Programming with R w/o missing too much.

by Richard B

May 26, 2017

Fairly basic course covering the fundamentals, I would suggest to most people to complete this course concurrently with the R programming course or to complete it all in one go, as I personally completed it within a couple of hours or so.

by Tejaswini C

Oct 31, 2017

While this is a good introduction to Data Science and the tools available, it might feel a little too elementary if you have had prior exposure to the subject. The final peer review project could have been a little bit more challenging.

by Robert A

Feb 18, 2016

I have mixed feelings. It was WAY too easy for me, but my wife did it too and it was about right in difficulty for her. But either way, I felt like it just taught you to install stuff rather than actually teaching meaningful material.

by Doug H

Feb 11, 2016

Too easy if you already know anything about github or Rstudio, although I do understand the need for an introductory course. The "Experimental Design" video was the only really useful part and contained quite entertaining examples.

by Joseph Z

Feb 22, 2016

This is a very basic course. If you are already a software engineer you could zoom through this entire course in an evening. If you are not a software engineer and don't know what things like github are, this class could be useful.

by Randy c

Jun 05, 2018

Beginning course in Data Science spent too much time on tools and not enough time on concepts, possible solutions and application. Seems like I spent a lot of time in the weeds of application installation and repositories. humm

by Luis E B P

Feb 07, 2018

I believe that in some of the assingments the student is asked to do a few things that werent taught in the course. And also during one of the quizzes the platform wasn't working propperly, and I had to answere it many times.