Chevron Left
Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases に戻る

ペンシルベニア州立大学(The Pennsylvania State University) による Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,384件の評価
345件のレビュー

コースについて

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

人気のレビュー

DB

2016年4月22日

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

2016年4月11日

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

フィルター:

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases: 26 - 50 / 340 レビュー

by abi

2021年4月8日

An extremely engaging, helpful and exciting course which I looked forward to continuing each week, thanks to how brilliantly it was put together and how the topics were taught (in depth without being too confusing!). The end of topic tests weren't too heavy and allowed me to reflect back on all the information and put it to use. It gave me a lot of insight into what work is currently going on behind the scenes during the COVID pandemic, too.

by Kathy P

2020年5月13日

I found this course to be incredibly interesting and informative. The group of various instructors made the subject matter easy enough to understand yet complex enough to get across the information. Having taken this in the midst of the COVID-19 outbreak helps me better understand all that is going on in our world right now in regard to the pandemic, and how incredibly complex it is to deal with an infectious disease outbreak.

by Teresa R

2019年11月17日

I became more knowledgeable of infectious diseases and I have been inspired to carry on researching the dynamics of zoonotic diseases and exploring the case studies of infections and natural history. Really enjoyed videos such as the Zombie Ants, Pathogen-Microbiome Interactions, Types of Immunity, Immunity Evasion and the theory behind the immunity response to infection and pathogen activity.

by Lazara M

2019年9月23日

This was definitely a wonderful, yet challenging course. I am in the military, and work in Preventive Medicine. I thought I was very strong in this field, as far as education is concerned, and I was far from it. Overall this course has brightened up the information I do have, and has better prepared me for future enrollment into graduate school.

by Mellenie S

2017年1月17日

Excellent course. I really love the way it opened my eyes to the workings of disease and how it could be controlled globally. I am a certified medical laboratory professional so I have some kind of medical background. But this course has been pleasantly exhilarating. It added so much to my current knowledge. I absolutely recommend this.

by 贾米兰

2017年10月14日

I appreciate every fabulous lectures presented by all the faculty,as your vivid description and delicate arrangement of this course do help me a lot on understanding the dynamics of epidemiology. For a medical student like me, surely this class is not just academically but also practically useful in my further studying in the future.

by alysha g

2015年11月30日

The course provides an excellent fundamental base for the study of disease and epidemics, Also, the various approaches from social aspects to microbiology, really gives a wide range of perspective, which ultimately stirs up ideas and implications that make one feel capable of entering any discussion surrounding the topic.

by Nicole M

2015年10月11日

This was one of my first online courses and I think the lecturers did an excellent job of conveying the material especially through this medium. They were also quick to respond to any questions that I had about lectures. I loved the material they presented as well. Great Course. I would definitely recommend it.

by Sharik V V Z

2019年7月11日

Es un curso sumamente enriquecedor, posee componentes de vital importancia para el entendimiento de la dinámica de las enfermedades. Como estudiante de microbiología próxima a graduarse sinceramente encontré este curso como una manera muy óptima y entretenida de refrescar mis conocimientos. Muchas gracias.

by Art M

2020年12月27日

I took this course in Dec 2020 with the ability to compare how what we knew, learned and efforts to predict and control COVID-19 fit nicely with the modules of the course. Living through this pandemic to-date and getting the insights of diseases dynamics from this course - very helpful and on target.

by Przemysław M J

2015年8月25日

Great course! Concise form and presentations are very inspiring. The variety of covered topics is definitely impressive. Even I have strong experience in Public Health, I personally find this course as extremely useful and helping in clarifying some concepts of epidemiology and infectious diseases.

by Daniela V D

2016年11月9日

I loved it! there are no words to describe how much this course has complemented my college education and how has change the idea i had about infectious diseases. Now i wish to continue the study of the Neglected tropical diseases and apply that knowledge in my country and community. Thanks a lot.

by Zaki A

2019年12月11日

Insightful course explaining many different aspects of epidemiology, which I would have never thought were associated with the subject. Also tied in some history and an interesting fact about ants towards the end - both of which i found really interesting. Also, nice work on The Last of Us :)

by PRIYANKA M R

2020年7月10日

I'm very happy to have been learnt many important aspects of epidemics. I think it's really important to understand the dynamics of infectious diseases at this present age of many health related crisis. I'm very grateful to Coursera for giving me such a good platform to enhance my knowledge.

by GAURI C

2020年5月14日

The course was well defined and structured. I learned a lot of things about the epidemics which were prevalent or about the diseases which can occur in the future. The study is crucial to the current COVID 19 situation and certainly answers a lot of intriguing questions about it.

by Yoel C I

2016年8月12日

Great course! I would like to thank the teachers for their awesome work in this course, it´s been a pleasure choosing Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases, so much that I will do my best to translate the course for the spanish speakers. Again, please continue teaching!

by enrico

2016年4月28日

One of the best course I've follow this year. The topic is really interesting, the lessons were simple to be followed and in the final lessons professors zere able to stimulate student's curiosity about the view of infection control in the future. Congratulations. Enrico Leott

by Carlos B P

2015年12月13日

Curso muy completo en el que con una carga de trabajo normal aprendes mucho sobre las Epidemias (desde su evolución en el pasado a la actualidad, como combatirlas e incluso el futuro de esta disciplina).

Si te gusta el tema de las enfermedad infecciosas lo recomiendo mucho.

by Olga l G c

2020年7月27日

Fue un curso muy completo, donde se tomaron desde los conceptos mas básicos hasta información muy precisa e interesante, fue una gran herramienta en estos tiempos de pandemia; logre aclarar muchas dudas en cuanto a la temática, como una gran herramienta de aprendizaje.

by ABBA B

2018年10月23日

Ce cours m'a permis d'avoir une connaissance large sur la pathologie infectieuse ainsi que les mesures sanitaires à entreprendre c'est-à-dire l'utilisation des médicaments au moment où le besoin y est afin de bien les gérer sans être perturber les flores bactériennes.

by Zhang X

2016年10月28日

This is really an informative and inspiring course. It is a masterpiece of multidisciplinary work. Very precious video records worth spreading. Help us to think more about infectious diseases in the context of mathematics models and modern society. Thank you so much!

by Dyllon L

2016年3月7日

Very thorough and interactive. I appreciate the expertise from multiple backgrounds, which has allowed me, as someone inexperienced in epidemiology, to have a general understanding of the topic. Thank-you and I look forward to seeing more content from you!

by Ankush N

2020年7月7日

A very informative course, which will provide you the details about the epidemics, different diseases, its prevention, vaccination, control measures etc.

Also deals with some part of plant diseases like Irish potato famine, its eradication, elimination.

by Cássio G d O

2020年8月31日

This course shows how complexity is dynamics, and I´m not ironic at all. I loved the interaction with differents subjects, in this course you will see since translation problem throught how a virus interact with a human cell and everything conect

by Ameya T

2017年5月26日

Very innovative teaching methods with very interesting graphics. You don't see such a welcoming teaching method in India. I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Being a future scientist, I hope the diseases we hear of today are completely eradicated.