Chevron Left
Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases に戻る

ペンシルベニア州立大学(The Pennsylvania State University) による Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,398件の評価

コースについて

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

人気のレビュー

DA

2022年1月24日

Considero que es un excelente curso para introducirse al área de la epidemiología, ya sea para profesionales del área de la salud o personas que quieran tener un conocimiento general del tema.

DB

2016年4月22日

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

フィルター:

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases: 276 - 300 / 344 レビュー

by Rosa A

2020年7月7日

Great Course!

by Mehran K

2020年6月26日

Comprehensive

by Kolby N

2017年8月27日

Great Course

by Daniel K

2016年5月17日

great course

by Malshi O G

2019年10月11日

Really good

by deuzuita b d m

2016年3月6日

it is good

by Peter O

2022年4月12日

i love it

by Sara K

2017年4月28日

Loved it!

by Lucas S f

2016年2月3日

very well

by 李晓雨

2015年9月1日

very good

by hossam g

2015年8月30日

excellent

by Ricardo G R

2015年8月14日

Amazing!

by eleonor

2016年6月10日

great!

by 邵红霞

2017年11月21日

great

by ABHRAJIT D

2020年9月19日

good

by Mona A A

2020年6月3日

GOOD

by Alfred L J

2020年3月20日

good

by kiat

2016年4月21日

Nice

by Josephine P

2016年10月26日

G

by Kuong S

2015年10月7日

R

by Alejandro P

2015年8月17日

I liked the course, with its many different speakers and approaches.

The one thing I missed the most was seeing the models in action. Even if the course isn't aimed at scientists or programmers, there are free online simulations where one can adjust model constants to see the effects interactively without any knowledge required.

See NetLogo at http://ccl.northwestern.edu/netlogo/, for which there are forest fire, disease spread in networks, cellular automatas and many other interactive simulations. Insight providing questions may involve finding the value of a parameter such as the epidemic can't spread, for instance.

For more formula oriented optional exercises, I would recommend something similar to Differential Equations in Action from Udacity. It's a relatively easy course implementing the SIR model, physics and ABS. An exercise could be "modify the simulation to consider X% germs get resistant after each antibiotic treatment" (either in NetLogo, or Python).

by Dave W

2020年8月1日

Ideally I would have liked a bit more maths, having obtained a textbook by the lead academic in this course, but nevertheless I have learned good background information regarding the subject. Having the virus at present allows this information to be put into practice. However I do believe, that the course could be 'tidied' up. The transcripts of the lectures have been used for a few years. They have some errors and it would be more professional if they had been corrected by now. Some of the links are dysfunctional. These should be checked and adjusted accordingly.

by Ed B

2020年3月22日

This course was a good introduction to Epidemics. I feel that I have a good grasp of the complex nature of this field of study, and the different factors that can play a part in epidemiological outcomes. I would have liked have been exposed to more of the modelling methods in the field, but SIR model was a good introduction and allowed me to look further into agent and individual based models and I have a good enough understanding of the jargon to follow scientific papers on the modelling of infectious diseases.

by Nicole K D

2020年7月25日

Year of COVID19. This course helped explain how disease, pathogens, treatments, cultural attitudes, and global collaboration work. Spurred more of an interest in this field of study. Professors articulated the information well, but I did have to follow the transcripts from time to time; though those were incorrect a few times too. A great course, I look forward to an update, considering they talked about the "Ebola epidemic" from 2014 in the Q&A at the end.

by Dr C J W

2020年7月17日

The material is a few years old now, and it will presumably get revamped in the light of Covid-19 - once the academics have more time on their hands - but I still found it useful. Many of the links to reading material on the web were now broken.

The course is not very taxing, and you will pass the quizzes quite quickly just by watching the lectures. However, it doesn't take up too much of your day, and you learn basic vocabulary and concepts.