Chevron Left
Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases に戻る

ペンシルベニア州立大学(The Pennsylvania State University) による Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,397件の評価

コースについて

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

人気のレビュー

DA

2022年1月24日

Considero que es un excelente curso para introducirse al área de la epidemiología, ya sea para profesionales del área de la salud o personas que quieran tener un conocimiento general del tema.

DB

2016年4月22日

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

フィルター:

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases: 301 - 325 / 343 レビュー

by Patrick R

2016年6月15日

Really nice introduction course. I am however a bit disappointed it did not went deeper in how the models of diseases spreading are built, and that the course overall does not go into much detail. A bit more technical detail (maths, biology etc.) would make this nice course a awesome course.

by Ivan B

2017年2月10日

Interesting course, I am a geo-information specialist and I took this Course to gain some understanding on epidemics so as to be of influence in mapping and modelling their spatial patterns. I have loved every bit of it especially the last part- Zombies!! I needed to hear more.

by Amy S

2020年12月7日

Definitely could be updated now given our current pandemic situation. Everything they teach about is very relevant right now! The animations are very cute and helpful actually. I just found some of the quizzes very difficult and I have a master's in parasitology!

by Devina R

2016年6月10日

I felt that this course was more information driven and just getting to know facts and facts and more facts . though this course is designed for anybody to do I feel a student would do better if they had past experience and knowledge about a few common diseases.

by Jorja V

2015年11月14日

It is a great course, really interesting, really easy to complete though some of the topics are a bit challenging. Overall a great achievement to finish this course. (Although I didn't receive a certificate but at least I finished the course)

by David D

2020年4月27日

Great course! However I feel it is too basic. It would be great if you could create a more advanced version of it in which you include a bit more of the biological explanations of the phenomena you discuss along the course.

by Lorna M

2015年10月19日

Nice course. I sometimes wished the lectures had more in depth coverage of the material instead of so many "big picture" statements. But overall, the course was a nice overview of diseases. Thank you to the instructors!

by Mariana a

2015年10月25日

Fantastic Course! great content and compelling presenters. It really opens your eyes to infectious diseases and all perspectives it braces, science, social aspects, biology, ecology. I recommend for bio/science folks.

by Viktor D

2017年4月12日

Very good, connected also to relatively recent outbreaks. Maybe some miniquiz/few question after each block would be nice to sum it up and help with preparing for quiz after whole week.

by Claire L M

2020年5月3日

Very interesting course that gives good basic knowledge on infectious diseases and epidemiology. Really enjoyed it and very relevant in the current context of COVID-19

Thank you!

by Amr O

2021年1月12日

There were some racial expression in vaccination module towards Muslims, so I hope from the instructors to leave the religions and focus on the scientific concept

by rydham g

2020年4月30日

The concepts are taught very well but felt that it was a bit superficial. They should go a bit deeper into each topic. Overall the course is very good

by Erik B

2017年1月31日

Pro: All topics seem to be covered, full overview of this field.

Con: Please, please, get rid of the childish drawings and get som serious artwork.

by Ester

2020年8月14日

Really enjoyed this course, the lecturers and content. It is ever so slightly dated, and some phrasing could be changed, but overall very good!

by Nithyassree M

2020年8月1日

This is an extremely informative, easy to understand course that I will recommend to anyone that is interested in learning about epidemiology.

by Dr. K L

2020年8月13日

It was an informative course where we can learn from basics to modern infections that are damaging the host.overall a very great course

by Ediri M

2017年4月9日

Really interesting course if you want to be more informed about the dynamics of global disease transmission and emergency responses

by Chris J

2017年12月21日

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

by RITUPARNA P

2021年6月28日

Doing this course in 2021 felt like living everything being taught. Very enlightening, well explained.

by Dwayne P

2017年10月11日

Thank you for all the effort the team put in to make this course. It is an amazing course, learnt so.

by JOHN Q

2015年9月9日

Nice course and extremely we'll presented. Cood ideas and the presenters also did a great job.

by Wojciech W

2019年2月2日

Very interesting course with many wonderful information presented in funny and engaging way.

by Mark

2017年2月12日

Very thorough and comprehensive course--all lessons are in easily-understandable English

by Christof S

2020年4月9日

the course and lecturers are very good, the means of interaction is limited though.