Chevron Left
The Science of Gastronomy に戻る

香港科技大学(The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) による The Science of Gastronomy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
288件の評価
66件のレビュー

コースについて

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

人気のレビュー

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

TM

Apr 06, 2019

If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy chemistry, this course is ideal. It taught me many techniques in the kitchen and why the food changes during the cooking process.

フィルター:

The Science of Gastronomy: 26 - 50 / 64 レビュー

by Lina M

Jun 06, 2018

I enjoyed it very much!

by krishnapriya h

Jun 02, 2018

very knowledgable,i will surely recommend this

by Laura G

Sep 04, 2016

briliant!!

by Camilla S

Oct 28, 2017

v

e

r

y

n

i

c

e

by Miguel S

Oct 22, 2016

fun and the same time educational!

by Jaime O Z

Apr 24, 2018

100% Recomendado. Didáctico, interesante, se va a los fundamentos de la gastronomía y permite saber mucho más de todo lo que es la ciencia involucrada en el proceso. Muy interesante.

by yuli

Dec 18, 2016

so glad i pass the course exam,thanks to all teachers。

by Marianna Y

Apr 26, 2018

Great course!

by Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very good way to explain science, you get the idea, its fun to learn and is easy to ap

by PALASHA S

Jun 29, 2016

Love it!

by Rodrigo D

Feb 01, 2017

Very interesting, the scientific approach to cooking and eating.

by sunil k

May 17, 2017

very nice

by Tina A

Sep 23, 2017

nice course with a lot of information. Good structured, good explanations...

by Faiza b k

Apr 28, 2018

It’s amazing n knowledgeable

by Natalia A

Sep 12, 2018

Great experience!!!

by Allan I A F

Nov 12, 2018

<3 Wonderfull, it's changing my life.

by Anzala A M

May 14, 2019

really help me to find all the material that I need. especially in my country, where there are no formal education about gastronomy. strongly recommended for those who want to learn the principle and philosophy behind foods and cooking science, not practice skills.

by Jose A M G

Aug 04, 2019

Great course. I've learnt a lot!

by Eliseu F B

Aug 28, 2019

Amazing!

by Fatema B

Oct 24, 2019

This was one of the most interesting subjects I have done so far.

The tutorials helped and taught me in abundance; they were very well explained and were focused on making one understand the science behind everything food related.

by Ivan H N

Oct 29, 2019

Excelent Course !!!

by Lillian L

Jan 15, 2018

Great course. I learned a lot about food preparation and why we cook foods certain ways. The demonstrations were great and interesting. The instructors were very engaging and seemed excited about what they were teaching. The assignments were great in helping me to understand different things I learned in the lectures. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in food preparation.

by Jaime R G

Nov 18, 2019

Es un curso en el que se da un conocimiento general sobre la ciencia detrás de la cocina. Muy recomendable si quieres aprender sobre este tema, de verdad.

by Priscila R M B

Nov 07, 2017

Excellent course and professor. Very well explained and illustrated. I recommend.

by Julianty

Sep 20, 2017

Most interesting topic. Just what I have been looking for. A great subject, definitely recommended for everyone, not only those who loves food, but also to really everyone because eating is part of our daily life and this module really helps us to better understand what we consume, how it comes about and whether it is good or bad for us etc etc.